We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The March Hare

The March Hare
Reserve with OpenTable
The March Hare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 547 Restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The March Hare in Cheadle Hulme is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the fourth time I've eaten here - the other three times, the food was pretty near perfect, but this time it just wasn't as good. The steak was overcooked and a bit dry, and came with frozen chips instead of the home cut variety. (OK, there is a menu option to upgrade the chips, but I didn't notice, and on my previous visits, this wasn't necessary.) Not a change for the better. Service was a little slow too, and it's not like the place was busy.

When I last ate here over a year ago, it was excellent, but now it's just average.

On a more positive side, the building - an old watermill - is interesting, and they serve Thwaites Wainwright beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    118
    61
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Early Evening Meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Used to be good food and well presented but it has now gone back to about a year ago when the service and menu were poor. Service very slow even though there were only a few tables of diners. Waitress kept forgetting things and the food was very Average, however on the plus side it is quite reasonable. Wine ordered at £14 a bottle was terrible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Please sort out the service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We love the March Hare. Tucked away and a breath of fresh air in a part of the world that only serves Robinsons, but please please please sort out your service on food. Having to wait over an hour for a meal is taking the biscuit especially with this sort of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Such a shame - could do so much better...”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The March Hare is my nearest pub/restaurant. Having been several times my general feeling is that it is such a waste of what should be a very good place to eat.

It is severely let down by the food which is basic pub grub to say the least. It just doesn't compete with other establishments. Despite the March Hare being 400m away from my house my partner and I often head to another well known pub on Cheadle Hulme high street (Station Road) to eat as the food is so much better.

It's an OK place to grab a pint or a coffee if you are local, but I'd recommend elsewhere for food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seems To Be Under New Management - Not For The Better”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Unfortunately the beer selection since my last review has all but gone, now there's only one guest ale on at any time and that's normally run out.

The friendly jolly (Australian?) chap who seemed to be the manager has been replaced by rather faceless under-skilled bar staff, the food is also really rather expensive for the location and quality.

Downhill fast unfortunately, we'll still nip in for a drink but that's it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The March Hare also viewed

Sandbach, Cheshire
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to The March Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing