We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal out”
Review of Olivers

Olivers
Ranked #19 of 551 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Contemporary Restaurant with a thirty-five year heritage.Our philosophy is straight forward: a concise menu and wine list, carefully chosen dishes and wines which allow us to consistently deliver quality and individualism which you will not find on the high street. The brasserie style conveys the relaxed and informal approach you would expect from a neighbourhood restaurant, matched with the high standards from our experienced kitchen and restaurant team.
Poynton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely meal out”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having been for lunch for the first time a couple of months ago my wife recommended to her mother that we had her birthday meal here. There were 11 of us in total on Sunday lunchtime, ranging from age 7 to 80+, and we were all pleased with our choices. Being such a large party, they had asked that we choose in advance, but this was no problem for us, and we all had choices we were happy with. The staff were attentive, and friendly, food was of a high quality, and all 11 meals were served at the same time, no small feat. They left sufficient time between courses so that we didn't feel that we were having to wait too long, and by the same token, we weren't rushed. OK, not the cheapest, but certainly not over expensive for this quality. We'll definitely be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCudleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    40
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab food and excellent service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A group of us visited this restaurant for my Dad's 80th birthday (9 in total). Excellent choice for Sunday lunch. The quality and presentation of the food was superb and the attention to detail from the staff was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.

Sunday lunch was very good value and the wines reasonable. I haven't visited this restaurant for a number of years so was delighted to see it had changed inside quite considerable. It is now slightly larger and the decor quite minimalistic and contemporary.

Would definitely recommend this, and will revisit hopefully again soon

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have driven past Olivers for so long and never been in.On a lovely sunny summer day (yes there was one!) we decided to call in for lunch. We were lucky to get the last table. Wonderful food, delightful service, how could we have missed this great place. It was so good we returned 4 weeks later for another delicious lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great food, great service. A bit pricey but you can opt for the fixed menu which is really good value. Will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleverclogscomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We ate at Olivers last friday, excellent food, excellent service, James really looked after us with regards to wine choice, we will be back very soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olivers also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Marple, Stockport
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Olivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing