We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team Christmas Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midway

The Midway
Ranked #4 of 542 Restaurants in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockport, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Team Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Everything was fantastic at the Midway.

Atmosphere was superb, the service was perfect and the food outstanding.

I can't actually remember the last time I had a steak cooked so perfectly and the rhubarb crumble was the best I’ve ever had.

Thanks for making my team Christmas lunch so perfect - We will definitely be coming back in 2013 as a team and as a family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlemsajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    269
    74
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Family Gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Started going to the Midway a few years ago. As we now live fifty miles away, when we visited Mum and Dad, we wanted to take them out for a meal. We were recommended by a friend, and on our first visit, were so impressed with the food and service, it became a must visit. Even though we lost Mum three years ago, we still take Dad and have been joined by other family members. The Service and food have never faultered after around seven years, and every time we visit we have a really memorable time. We would recommend this restaurant to anybody, and believe me, we are very fussy when it comes to eating out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gina BG - Work's Christmas meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Enjoyed our experience at the Midway. Organising the meal was made quick and easy and amendments were easily made. We recieved a quick and polite service and were made to feel very welcome. My colleagues and I left very happy and would return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“C.T.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a venue to eat, drink,or both, this is up there with the best, and the number of people that visit the Midway, tells it's own story.
The service was excellent, as was the food, and the timing of the three courses, considering it was for twelve people on what
was another very busy day in the restaurant and the bar. All the staff were pleasant, polite, and attentive. Whilst many establishments are struggling in these times, the Midway is one of a few that is bucking the trend. Well done to Paul and his
staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sam - BG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The food was lovely and fresh. We have a large table booking for 21 people and everybody was servied at the same time and exactly what was ordered. The staff are very frinedly and overall a very smooth run night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samantha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Midway also viewed

Marple, Stockport
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing