We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Again - Fantastic”
Review of Damson - CLOSED

Damson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once Again - Fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We always consider Damson as a treat for a special occasion but actually we go for any reason we can think of! The service is excellent and the staff are well informed. As for the food, every course is exceptional and even the set menu offers great variety and creativity. Excellent value for a high end product.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    107
    48
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We attended Damson after receiving a gift voucher off our family.
We found the food to be of a high quality and well presented, and the staff were really helpful and friendly to us. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJDTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good ambience and outstanding quality”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I went last Saturday and decided to try the 'tasting' menu. A little pricey at £46 / head (but we were celebrating) and we started off slightly intimidated at the prospect of 6 courses. Thankfully they were very sensibly sized so that we could enjoy the taste and still make it to the end at which point we felt very pleasantly content.

The Cheese Cake with liquorice ice cream was a personal favourite ! Well worth a visit if you have a special occasion coming up. The normal menu is also very good. Again a little towards the pricey side - but you get what you pay for and here you will get a very nice meal where you will be able to tell the difference. Well worth a visit !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFamilyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Meal”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've been to Damson a number of times as my mum lives close by and it never fails to impress! Last Saturday was not an exception.
My mum, husband and I went for a little celebration meal and were in time for the Early Evening menu. Mum had the Onion Risotto as a starter, loved every mouthful and wished she could have had it as a main too. Hubby had the Ham Hock and Terrine starter and the Colt fish main. Although everyone loved their food, nothing could compare to my dessert, the Dark Chocolate Shortbread with coffee granita and caramel ice cream, this was absolutely mouthwatering and my husband kept trying to steal some off my plate, the flavours went together perfectly.
As usual, the service was excellent both welcoming and attentive.
We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Food & Excellent Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of 15+ work friends visited The Damson for a colleagues 'leaving dinner' on a Friday evening late August. The service was EXCELLENT and so was the food and wine. Everyone in our group enjoyed this evening throughout. There was not a single grumble! The atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed, very welcoming, perfect for all occassions.

Will definitely return and will definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colincjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damson also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing