We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I were taken to the restaurant for lunch by friends. We were quite satisfied with the quality of the food served by friendly attentive staff. The ambiance was quiet and comfortable and we were not rushed nor ignored. The prices were average for the area.
We would go again.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at a family wedding. Rooms ok, although very, very dated (80's), bed comfy, but room quite dirty in "hidden" areas such as behind the tv...you may ask why I was looking behind the tv, well, this was because the remote control didn't work, so channels had to be changed manually.
Nice space for the wedding breakfast, well thought out.
The problem was the service...staff seamed more intent on gathering at the bar to chat rather than attend to guests. Breakfast the next morning we noticed chips under some tables, so cleaning obviously isn't a high priority.
I stay in hotels for business a lot in the uk, and this is very, very overpriced for what you get.
Newspapers are not delivered to the rooms, you need to collect from reception, which isn't connected to the rooms, so if its raining you need to get wet to get your papers....no relaxing lie in with the papers on a Sunday morning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank grenada2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very pleasant one night stay. Nice welcome and comfortable room. The site has been under development since Tudor times, with Victorian and more recent additions, so a walk around the well kept grounds is a must. Seemingly caters mainly for older people; although the site is large there isn't much to keep children interested. The menu is a little unexciting, reminiscent of the 70s, but the food I had was fresh and tasty,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when attending a masquerade ball the staff on arriving were professional and friendly, our bar snack was fresh and tasty. When we saw our room we were pleasantly surprised it was on a small courtyard with lovely flowering pots and tables and chairs. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, only downside no view from window. The ball was set in the gold room which was large with comfortable chairs and the buffet of chicken burgers and salads was also tasty, the piece De la resistance however was the table full of amazing deserts mm mm would go back again just for that .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceybithell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an old favourite as a relaxed place to eat. At lunchtime it heaves, probably because it is very good value, so it is wise to book a table. Admittedly a lot of the lunchtime diners are older rather than younger, which must be due to the sensible menu and prices. Yes the good service is in a bar area, and yes it doesn't appear to be spotless because it is in an old barn setting, but I always look forward to eating there again, and would be happy to suggest it as a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. The services provided for the wedding were 5* and we were impressed.

However, as guests as the hotel we were very unimpressed. The rooms were dirty, dark and old fashioned. It felt like a seedy American motel. We woke up the next day and had no hot water at all and we had cold showers as we had to leave early. Reception did tell us a boiler had gone out and nocked £10 off the room.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special at all.

For the price, we certainly expected a lot more as the rooms are not cheap. I'd never choose to stay here again unless it was for an event here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had our wedding reception here at the Gold Suite 1st September 2012, the hotel and grounds are lovely, the management and staff are fantastic they made our wedding perfect everything was thought of, the wedding breakfast was 5* our guests said the meal was exquisite and one of the best they have had,

I would 100% recommend this hotel and I would get married here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,635 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,009 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Stockport
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
160 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing