We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New Year bash”
Review of Deanwater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deanwater Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The New Year bash”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent a second New Year's Eve at the Deanwater with my sister and husband. This hotel is only six miles form home but the event is excellent and the offer of a double room with a bag breakfast for £50 per couple makes it easier than trying to get a taxi home. The rooms are very comfortable, modern and well equipped for a longer stay than we were bothered about. We asked for a ground floor room to provide easier access for my sister and this was reserved without problem.
The dinner dance was of equally high standard on both our experiences which is why we went back. Its never easy to provide a quality meal for 120 people at one sitting, but the chefs and waiting staff managed it very well and with a very pleasant and helpful service. The disco went on till 2.00 with a good selection of music for all tastes from Scottish tunes at midnight to sixties memorabilia and a bit of rave for the younger couples. All in all a good New Year's Eve experience.
We also used the hotel for lunches during the year and the meals and service are comparable with the many hotels and pubs that provide lunchtime fayre.

Room Tip: There are limited access facilities for disabled guests since the rooms are built over a sloping sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
32
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Impressive hotel from outside, easy to find, staff very helpful and courteous, we had Xmas lunch, superior food, each course served at well timed intervals, two bars, the tudor bar, one could order bar meals, we had strips of steak on a muffin, salad garnish with chips, which tasted beautiful. We had low floor double room which was warm and cosy, bath, shower, host tray, iron, ironing board, extra pillows and large Tv. Breakfast usual serve yourself cereals etc, cooked breakfast brought to the table. Altogether a very pleasant experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMichael_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

we have stayed in this hotel on many occasions. the hotel is very cosy and has a certain english charm. also it is situated in the little town of wilmslow which is perfect if you want to have a quiet break but also take advantage of the numerous things that manchester has to offer (20 mins drive). the staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. the food here is amazing and the menu has alot of variety.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I attended a 60th birthday lunch with high hopes for what looks like a nice establishment on the surface. Despite being one of the first groups to arrive for lunch we waited around an hour for our first course and subsequently around 15-20mins for each subsequent visit from the waitress. The food was average, with a reasonable selection, however the waitress thought it was most amusing to tell is that the dessert that two of our party ordered wasn't fit to be served and instead provided us with a fruit cocktail that a 5 year old could have prepared.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cec0c932ce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here with some colleagues for work purposes and I was pleasantly surprised. It's not part of a chain and is family owned and it shows - the little things that make the difference, nothing is a bother and the staff are always willing to help and whilst some of the staff are young they are attentive, good and always willing to talk. It is definitely unique and that's good, it's an old building and I mean old 15 hundreds or something and then bits have been added on over the few hundred years or I guess with a relatively modern accommodation section. The setting are fantastic very peaceful and quiet. It's not got all the mod cons of some of the larger chains but as a venue for a do it looks great and seems to be busy with weddings etc and as a stop over can't fault it.. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MStendec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Deanwater Hotel whilst in the area for a friend's wedding. I guess they are able to keep busy as they host a lot of weddings (well, three that I know of over Friday/Saturday this weekend - and I'm sure that's not unusual!) and are reasonably close to Manchester Airport, but the room rates are a little high considering what's on offer.

The motel-style room was comfortable enough, if a little basic, and the décor very dated, but there is no way to dim the lights (only to choose which of several wall mounted lights to have on), it's not possible to deadlock the front door, water "glasses" in the room are plastic, and it's not really of the standard I'd expect for a £95-130 a night hotel. Added to that, the checkout time of 10.30 is a little early and the tone of the notices reminding you of this do not give the impression that it's worth asking for a late checkout...

Next time, I'll pay a little more and stay with one of the larger chains...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed here while attending a friends wedding; the wedding itself was very well organised and efficiently run, making it an enjoyable day for all. The room was comfortable, well appointed with a huge bathroom, spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,518 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
4.4 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
492 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deanwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deanwater Hotel

Property: Deanwater Hotel
Address: Wilmslow Road | Woodford, Stockport SK7 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deanwater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Deanwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deanwater Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing