We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not the best”

Pizza Express - Prestwich
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Prestwich
Price range: $43 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food and service ok but always very noisy. Seems to specialise in family parties with lots of noisy kids.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elkay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    16
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited this branch of Pizza Express for a midweek evening for dinner with my partner. Having visited many Pizza Express branches around the country, you are pretty confident in knowing what to expect: Friendly staff, good food and value for money.

This branch was no different in that respect, however exceeded in other areas. The restaurant was clearly busy and perhaps a little shorts staffed. That said, this did not affect the level of service received and is testament to the motivation and professionalism of the staff working that evening.

In total we enjoyed three courses and coffee, which were cooked well. The restaurant itself, despite being very busy was presented well and had very relaxed, intimate, and professional atmosphere. I couldn't really ask for any more. Thank you to Aaron, Marcel and Helen who served us that evening, your efforts were nothing short of excellent!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“mmmm? not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've been to Pizza Express all over the UK for the past 20 years. This one is not the best. It doesn't have the groovy feel of other Pizza Expresses. This is in part to do with the layout and acoustics. It doesn't look as much like a stylish Pizza Express, if you compare with York or Manchester or even sleepy old Lytham. The service is impersonal, the food is always 'OK'. It is not the best, the salads are always really awful in particular . The service is OK, the food is OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JarvisMrMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bobbins.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Right. Let's get one thing clear. I like Pizza Express. However. The Prestwich branch has what can only be described as 'issues'. We have been several times, and the service is always awful. You WILL wait an age before your food arrives. When your food finally comes, there's a better than average chance that it will be wrong. On the last two occasions we have visited, ours was. Amusingly, the pollo pesto arrived sans pollo. How we laughed. To be fair, when we pointed this out, they did ask if we actually wanted the pollo, and brought some in a dish for us to add ourselves. On another occasion, the American Hot pizza came minus the 'hot' element. Once again, the attentive staff leapt into action by bringing a dish of chillies over for us to add ourselves. But, best of all, on one visit, the manager agreed that the service was sooo bad, that they just didn't bother to charge us. We didn't complain, the manager just said it wasn't fair to charge us. Saved us about £50. Cheers. We only go here for the comedy value these days, and to be fair, even that's got pretty thin. Like a Romana pizza. Will go to the Bury branch, or Saporito's next door in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReverendBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just been today lunchtime a group of 12 kids were off school due to elections so a few of us thought it would be a nice treat how wrong walked in and the waiter looked like we had commit a crime I think he was counting on a dead Thursday afternoon the waitress needs customer service skills as she did not have a smile on her face we started think we should never have bothered spending our money here a smile to the kids would not have gone a miss in these tough time it's all about repeat buissness but we will never come here shame we only live 10 mins away so management you need to address this before you will be another recession casualty so if you're in the mood for rude bad service this is the right place to spend your hard earned cash.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Digwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express - Prestwich also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express - Prestwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing