We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Ladd

Black Ladd
Ranked #5 of 277 Restaurants in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you like a large meal then this is the place for you. Pâté to start, delicious enough for two, lovely home cooked food, fresh and generous portions nothing to complain about . The staff here were brilliant and very efficient, great all round. .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    160
    50
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Another old pub restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Average throughout, food and decor. Not special in anyway. Probably would not return. Menu was acceptable, and space was not too uncomfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We used to go the the Black Ladd back in the late 1960s when we first got married, then it was taken over and the food wasn't as good. We stopped going and hadn't been for many years but it was recommended to us recently and we have now been several times in the last few months with friends or on our own. We love the roaring fire in the bar and sometimes it's hard to drag ourselves away to go into the dining room! The menu is extensive and with a large selection of home cooked food - rag puddings, pies etc, all delicious and reasonably priced. My husband loves their beer battered haddock and chips (proper chips!) and mushy peas and I've had it too. The batter is really light and the fish is so tasty and a massive portion. I didn't have a starter and thought if I was still hungry I could have a sweet but I was absolutely stuffed.
Well done to the chef, the friendly waiting on staff and the owners. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a day off work and took the wife out for lunch. Been a long time since I had visited The Black Ladd but it was certainly a lovely lunch.

Staff were friendly and welcoming though the place was very cold to start with. I imagine it takes some warming up!

I had the lamb which was lovely the mash was a little rustic but ok, veg was cooked al dente, which I don't mind.

Would come back here again. Nice drive to it and surrounded by lovely views of the area.

Worth a trip.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmytreatingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were met with a big roaring open fire just the thing on a cold wintry lunchtime.we ordered two sirloin steaks.WOW 10oz steaks arrived with mushrooms toms onion rings big chunky chips we opted for salad it was huge.Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ladd also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Black Ladd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing