We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant for miles around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant for miles around”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Five ladies had a lovely evening. On a cold evening a warm welcome both from staff and the added luxury of lovely open fires. The food was excellent especially the home made meat pudding. Excellent variety of food and vegetarians are well catered for. We managed to enjoy delicious puddings after starters and mains and ended with lovely coffees. We go back again and again - never disappointed. The staff are excellent and will always go that extra mile for you.
The atmosphere is that of a lovely welcoming restaurant, spotlessly clean and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    33
    33
    10
    15
See reviews for
65
76
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The White Hart Inn is situated in a lovely area, very quaint. We had chosen to eat in the brasserie as it was advertised as having roaring log fires and a homely feel, on arriving to the brasserie, it couldn't be further from what was described, the tables/chairs/carpets were very dated and were similar to a 1980's mahogany dining suite and it didn't match the modern decor, the room was very cold and it in no way homely. The food on the other hand was lovely and it is easy to see why they have the Michelin recommendation in the Good Pub Guide. The service was mediocre, staff not very attentive and was left waiting a while in between courses and empty glasses were overlooked throughout the meal. I would eat at the White Hart again but I would try the restaurant next time (the menu is the same). Overall the food and surroundings are excellent, its just the decor and fixtures and fittings that should be updated to fit atmosphere of the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We picked The White Hart Inn based on the Michelin recommendation and we were not disappointed. The White Hart Inn sits at the top of a hill, overlooking the moors. The room was lovely and very clean. Shame that it was on the first floor over the outside seats were other guests were drinking and smoking, but I guess that is unavoidable when staying in a pub. There is free wireless across the house.

The food was superb - we had dinner in the brasserie and everything was cooked to the point. The personnel was very attentive and service was quick, despite two other functions being on in the Restaurant.

Breakfast again was of outstanding quality, the sausage locally sources and the smoked haddock delicious!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherinaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The room was a big disappointment - very cold, stained and peeling lino in the bathroom, extensive mould on the bathroom ceiling, headboard a seperate item just leaning on the wall, cheap pine furniture, no soundproofing between ours and the next room, to boil the kettle you have to kneel on the floor under the dressing table as the cable is too short. Maybe ok for £70 a night but certainly not for £130!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theory900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Arrived and were definately impressed with our room, quite funky with its painted, quirky furniture! Spotless bathroom. The disappoinment was breakfast. Served in the very dull and dingy restaurant, no music, no help-yourself cereal/juice spread, no ambience....... in fact breakfast spoiled the trip for us. With just a little thought and effort it could have been a great break but unfortunately we wouldn't stay again - or if we did, certailny would give breakfast a miss!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CromerMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I had stayed here before many years ago and thought a trip back to tie in with visiting people locally would be a good idea. Bar/Restaurant still has a good menu with prices expected or a good foodie pub. Public areas and bedrooms are tired and in need of an update. Service reasonable but agree with the earlier review that it is slow.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalestech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Set high on a hill, on a lightly traveled road this is one of the nicest places I have stayed while on a business trip. Night sounds include cows moving around and the odd owl call. Yet it is minutes from Manchester. I got a room on the third floor and though it was a bit of maze to reach by stairs, it was spotless, well appointed and charming. There is not a lot of room to hang clothes, and you won't find a large screen TV, but the wireless is free, and the staff is cheerful. There is both an excellent high end restaurant and a cozy pub that serves roughly the same food. Sausages are made on premises and the included breakfast is freshly prepared to your specifications. It is set across from an old church and has great views.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Finding it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
4.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Property: The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Saddleworth, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and refurbished in all areas, this traditional Coaching Inn offers a Brasserie with log fires, a bar full of cask ales and an enviable wine list. Or try the Cocktail Bar and Dining Room for the chef's tasting menu. The AA rates the rooms as Gold Standard 4 star in the 2017 Guide and the kitchen is recommended in the Good Food Guide 2017 (Joint 3rd best Restaurant in Greater Manchester) Michelin Dining Out in pubs guide 2017 - Inspectors Pick Michelin Hotel and Restaurant Guide 2017 with two separate listing for the Brasserie and Dining Room The AA Restaurant Guide 2017 two rossettes We hope you enjoy our hospitality. Charles Brierley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing