We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms and helpfull friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

booked in on wednesday night as we whent to see robbie williams at the ethiad stadium . got there about 3pm and the reasturant was closed but a lovely helpfull pregnant girl on reception saughted some food out for us from the kitchen .
rooms are nice and spaciouse we stopped in the adam de la layed room nice and bright with a really comfy bed a good sized bathroom . food next morning was lovely & tasty i would defently stop here again if in the area

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastlefordElliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 256 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely location but the rest was disappointing. We booked the room last year - well in advance of when we needed to stay. We paid £145 - the family room rate, to be given the smallest room in the hotel with a camp bed for our daughter to use. Because of the position of the camp bed we could not use the wardrobe (the bathroom also needed a good lick of paint). We complained and got £20 deducted from our bill - which was hardly compensation! The room was tiny and 3 of us struggled to get ready for a wedding that we were going to because space was so restricted.

As we were part of a larger (wedding) party we got told at breakfast that we could only have a full English breakfast and not the full range of options on the menu. The reason for this was that larger parties are "too much for the kitchen to manage". We were not allowed cereal and we could have fruit juice or tea/coffee - not both. The breakfast was lukewarm and I am still waiting for the extra toast I had ordered.

All in all it was a lot of money just to stay in a nice location. Really not happy and sadly disappointed, we were really looking forward to our stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April and were looking forward to a relaxing stay in lovely surroundings. The breakfast and indeed lunch were very good.But we were so disappointed by the state of our room. The walls were scuffed and the area around the window was badly marked and dirty. The bathroom appeared clean but the shower ,whilst a comfortable size had black mould on the tiles.
We had expected a room in a better state as the price wasn`t that cheap!!
I was so disappointed and emailed the hotel to tell them so.But alas-they weren`t really interested and didn`t even acknowledge my email.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch. Top notch. £22.50 for 3 courses on set menu. Choice of 4 starters and mains including roast beef. All 4 of us really enjoyed it and really good value for such well cooked and presented dishes. The drinks were a bit price though - £12 for two bottles of sparkling water, one pint of (fantastic) bitter and half a lager shandy. Don't let it put you off though. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The White Hart is well respected for its food but it should add another accolade to its list: potk pies.

I devoured one on the evening on the Whit Friday brass band contest ... What joy. Scrumptious and home made. Filled to the brim with quality tasty pork and a crunchy pie crust: true pie heaven.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank SilverSurferOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to watch the brass band competition which is a traditional event in this area. Was expecting something special from photos of the rooms etc. however we were very disappointed with the state of the room for the price we paid. The walls were badly marked and the paint was peeling off the skirting boards. The carpet was shabby to say the least. Something had also been sprayed on the ceiling. There was no chair in the room so nowhere to sit other than the bed. The bathroom was ok with a nice deep bath but again a little shabby around the edges. Our room was called the "Edmund" room or room 12. We were asked if we wanted to order a morning paper which we did but this wasn't delivered to the room it was left on the bar for you to collect, very strange! Breakfast was nice and freshly cooked but portions were a little stingy with a full flat mushroom on the first morning and 1 cut in half the second. We had a meal in the brasserie which was nice but very expensive. Wine started at £18 a bottle at least and on the brass band night we had to drink this from plastic glasses, even indoors, which was totally unacceptable. I think this hotel is living off its past accolades and is not deserving of its 4 star status any more. I have stayed in Premier inns which have been in much better condition for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeywaneyHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a good stay here ,the staff were very friendly the bed was huge as was the bath a really good wallow,which is unusual as a lot of baths are cramped.
An excellent freshly prepared breakfast with good choice .The only quibble that the T.V. was very small and dated and biscuits with the tea tray would have been nice.We were also given the John Radcliffe room and did sleep well but could not say it that the room was good value compared to similar priced stays we have had elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are a sport fan check out the size of the t.v in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.6 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
63 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
265 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
541 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Saddleworth, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: $204 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and refurbished in all areas, this traditional Coaching Inn offers a Brasserie with log fires, a bar full of cask ales and an enviable wine list. Or try the Cocktail Bar and Dining Room for the chef's tasting menu. The AA rates the rooms as Gold Standard 4 star in the 2017 Guide and the kitchen is recommended in the Good Food Guide 2017 (Joint 3rd best Restaurant in Greater Manchester) Michelin Dining Out in pubs guide 2017 - Inspectors Pick Michelin Hotel and Restaurant Guide 2017 with two separate listing for the Brasserie and Dining Room The AA Restaurant Guide 2017 two rossettes We hope you enjoy our hospitality. Charles Brierley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing