We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the White heart on friday and saturday the 23rd and 24th of March. The room we had was The John Newton Room. It was lovely, every thing was spotless and clean. All the staff that we came into contact with fell over backwards to make our stay more enjoyable.
We were at a wedding reception and that was brilliant and could not be faulted. All the negative remarks given about the white hart, i cannot understand. The food is excellent, so i would say give it a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottydog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just celebrated our daughters wedding on the 23rd march 2012 what a venue this is from the start of the planning 12 months before until the minute we left the day after the wedding everything was catered for. After booking the venue we also wanted 5 rooms and came on trip advisor to have a look at the comments which were not very good, so we were a little apprehensive well i don't know what some people expect but i can say our rooms were lovely. Yes they are expensive but they are worth it The staff did everything that was asked of them and the food was beautiful we had a Christmas dinner for our wedding breakfast and bacon and sausage muffins at the reception, they are to die for SO WELL DONE WHITE HART 11 OUT OF 10

Room Tip: The family room is huge and has a superking bed if you like loads of space
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSAN053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I am somewhat surprised by the negative reviews of the food at the White Hart - can't comment on the hotel as have never stayed - but we eat at the restaurant regularly and have never been let down. The meals we have had have always been exceptionally well cooked, the service in the restaurant is outstanding - the same staff have been there years and are knowledgeable, courteous and helpful, and we frequently take friends and family for meals there and they too have always complimented us on a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JaneandNye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We held our wedding ceremony, reception and evening do all at The White Hart on Sat 5th Dec 2011 and we have to say it was brilliant! They accommodated our every needs/requests. Nothing was too much trouble and the 5 couse meal was delicious! We also asked for bacon/sausage butties for later in the evening & they were just as delicious and went down a treat and the sausages are especially yummy! All the staff were exceptionally profressional and obviously all have good training! Some of our guests stayed over, including ourselves and everyone said how lovely the rooms were. The bridal suite is exceptionally nice and I would only have one comment to make about the room is that it was rather chilly, as only 1 radiator to heat a large room but then again there was a gale blowing outside and obvioulsy blowing through the windows! Apart from that it was all exceptional and our personal experience of the place was excellent and we wouldnt hesitate to recommend to anyone who is looking for a wedding venue! Thanks to all staff at The White Hart. Tony & Adele (Mort)

Room Tip: Rooms can be a bit chilly if staying over in the winter months so maybe best to check heating first...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The White hart lydgate is a fabulous place to hold a wedding reception, my wedding reception was there on 14th august. The staff were amazing, from start to finish - nothing. Was too much trouble- everyone felt relaxed and cared for. The wedding breakfast was beautiful - all requirements catered for- everyone felt that the meal flowed well - perfectly timed.
The White hart made mine and my husbands wedding all we could wish for and more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My Daughter recently had her Wedding Reception at The White Hart. We could not have wished for a better venue.
The guests were looked after well on arrival with canapes and drinks being served. The food served to 100 guests was piping hot and we were not waiting long in between courses. Everyone complimented the meal and people with dietary problems were catered for excellently.
The speeches were a little long (our fault) and when the Evening Guests arrived they were accompanied into the bar area and looked after well.
The room looked beautiful and the staff were very attentive.
All in all - a fantastic venue with excellent staff helping to make my Daughter's day very very special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

we were there one night stay for a wedding, as a venue it was lovely, nice gardens for pictures and tables and benches, lovely meal, but we paid £126 for one night in a double room which was a total rip off, room had shabby old pine furniture, just nothing to it all, premiere inn would have been far better! very dissapointed : (

Room Tip: ask for ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tippyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oldham hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
318 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
59 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
260 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Saddleworth, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: $182 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and refurbished in all areas, this traditional Coaching Inn offers a Brasserie with log fires, a bar full of cask ales and an enviable wine list. Or try the Cocktail Bar and Dining Room for the chef's tasting menu. The AA rates the rooms as Gold Standard 4 star in the 2017 Guide and the kitchen is recommended in the Good Food Guide 2017 (Joint 3rd best Restaurant in Greater Manchester) Michelin Dining Out in pubs guide 2017 - Inspectors Pick Michelin Hotel and Restaurant Guide 2017 with two separate listing for the Brasserie and Dining Room The AA Restaurant Guide 2017 two rossettes We hope you enjoy our hospitality. Charles Brierley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing