We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for friends”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #8 of 295 Restaurants in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Recently Under new management and family run. We aim to restore the great name this pub once had. *£5.45 Lunchtime meals served Tue - Fri 12:00-15:00*Extensive Chargrill Menu*Great wines and real Ale*Senior Citizens menu 1 Course £5.45 2 Course £7.95 3 Course £9.95*Homemade Food
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Six of us had a meal here after arriving a little late in the evening. They looked after us well and very welcoming. The food was brillant and good value. After a hard day, the food was very welcome and enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith_Wilson919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisajt66, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment it is really appreciated
& hope to see you again soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's very rare to go to a new pub and immediately feel so at home and welcome. Loved the outdoor area with special sharing menu but utterly tempted by the main menu and were not disappointed. We've tried a lot of steaks with Greater Manchester and ... after reflection ... possibly the best we've had.

Thanks to the owner for asking for comments and for receiving the compliment so well and advising of the local butcher the produce came from.

We will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oldham_girl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisajt66, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment it is really appreciated
& hope to see you again soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from this restaurant,having had their beef sunday lunch,because we had visited this place afew weeks ago and had fish and chips which was quite good we thought we would give it
another go'talk about chalk and cheese the beef medallion which they served me was horrendous it was all fat and grizzle you would not give this to a dog.i left most of it and complained to the waitress she said she would tell the chef of my complaint.she came back a few mins later and simply said the chef said he was sorry and that was that if he had come over to my table in person and said he was very sorry i would not have been so angry how on earth this place gets good reviews is beyond me

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank keith6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsArmsGrainsBar, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are extremely sorry about your experience with us, however, I remember your particular predicament vividly. We in the kitchen were informed of your dislike of our steak Sunday lunch after you had finished eating it. We were very shocked due to the emptiness of your plate, where there was only a small piece of fat and another small piece of steak left, nothing else. When asked what would you like us to do, you replied by asking for us to deduct money from your bill. We would have been more that willing to give you a complementary lunch if you would have informed us of your dissatisfaction before you ate all of your food.

From our feedback from the Sunday meals served, you may have been the unlucky one to receive a slightly fattier peiece of rump steak. We were also informed that you enjoyed your started of our homemade soup and your wife thoroughly enjoyed her meal too (steak included).

We try out upmost best to make sure every peiece of food that leaves our kitchen is to a high standard and we are extremly sorry about your unpleasant experience, however, no matter how much effort a chef makes rump steak will never be lean.

Yours faithfully,

The Kings Arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good choice of traditional pub food cooked to restaurant standards.
Quick efficient service and a welcoming friendly atmosphere.
A big improvement on the Kings Arms of a few years ago. The new team really do make the effort to welcome guests and the choice of food is good without being over the top. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IanLoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisajt66, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment it is really appreciated
& hope to see you again soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to try this place after reading all the good reviews on here. We are glad we did as we have nothing bad to say about the place. Nicely decorated with staff in uniforms looking very smart, food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely reccomend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WOWPlaycentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisajt66, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment it is really appreciated
& hope to see you again soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing