We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Pub serving excellent food”
Review of The Three Crowns

The Three Crowns
Ranked #43 of 280 Restaurants in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 18Th century inn with a range of menu options from snacks to fine dining.
Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub serving excellent food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have visited The Three Crowns a number of times in recent months, which says it all!!. The staff are all very poilite, Ray the owner is always on hand to meet and greet, the food is excellent, there is plenty of choice and very good value, they also serve a very good selection of Beers and Wine, we would have no hesitation reccomending The Three Crowns, you will not be disapointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKECHRISManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    52
    21
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolute Waste of an Evening”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited the three crowns for my birthday celebration on Sat 28th of July. It was a special evening to me as it was also the last time my family would be together for the next 5 months. My husband and I were regular visitors to the three crowns so I was happy to go there for this occasion, with out two adult children
BIG MISTAKE, Our table was booked for 830pm and we were a little early, we were meeted and greeted on arrival as usual and our order was taken, Had a drink whilst waiting and the time went on and on and on eventually we received our starter at 1030 tried to stay positive didn't want to ruin the moment, but then another half hour went by with no main course, so I asked to see the manager/owner, and guess what, he had gone into hiding no where to be seen, we left immediately first of all offering to pay for the starter but then we were treated with so much hostility and rudeness by the staff, so we left without paying for the starter at all! When we crossed over to the car park we looked upstairs at the living quarters of the owner and he was hiding behind the curtain peeping at us as we left, He looked like he was having a Basil Faulty moment at Faulty Towers.Never will I set foot in this joke of an establishment again and thanks for ruining our night, it was so late and we were so hungry all we could do was order a Chinese takeaway CHEERS

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank yvonneferg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food & Good Value,Friendly Staff.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked in for 13 last Sunday for a Family get Together,we all had 3 courses and wasnt disapointed,all food piping hot and very tasty,this is a great restaurant &i use it regulary the staff are all friendly and the prices are good,i would reccomend the Three Crowns to anybody who likes home cooked grub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Browny230867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Called in on a Saturday afternoon. Very quiet but waited absolutley ages to be served after placing order.

Meat pie was dry and a little tasteless, OH had meatballs but taste overpowered by tomatoe sauce.

Neither dish was very hot.

Probably wont be rushing back when lots of good pubs in the area serving food, shame used to be so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sxi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“another great meal”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

went on sunday for my daughters 20th b,day and there were 9 in the party,we all had the 3 course meal for £10,and it is more than worth the money we paid,and because it was a b,day treat they had a balloon on the table with her name and age,we ordered the birthday cake which was very big and very nice and she got a free drink,everybody pleased with all the courses not one grumble from the teenagers in the party,i would recommend the three crowns to anyone .i had the garlic mushrooms which come in a big pot with slice of bread,and the lamb with mint sauce,didnt have room for the dessert but because it was included in the price had it anyway and so glad i did it was yummy,in all with the meal cake and about 3 drinks each it came to around £165 but was worth alot more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Crowns also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Three Crowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing