We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Grains Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grains Bar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Oldham B&B and Inns
Nelson, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Smashing friendly welcome. Rooms very clean and very warm and comfortable. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Cracking breakfast, fantastic location for a walk on the tops. Eclectic decor. Stayed for a family wedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_hogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
23
33
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The owner, Pat was extremely welcoming and showed us where everything was. We were attending a wedding at a different venue and she arranged transport to and fro for us. The en-suite room was very well appointed, spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff were extremely well presented and could not do enough for us. A very relaxing stay. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsG8p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nites for a family funeral and they staff couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible , fantastic breabreakfast and clean qnd warm rooms , would definitely stay there again , thanks from all the irish Quigley family who stayed with u from the 24 to the 26 of October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great two nights staying at the Grains Bar Hotel, the room was clean and comfy, we had a family room with bunk beds for the kids - perfect. The room was clean and comfy and the breakfast tasty - all the usual stuff but what set the place apart was the staff, they made you feel very welcome and would go out of the way to ensure you had a pleasant stay.

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in this area and need somewhere to stop over!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grains Bar hotel with our family for our Parents Diamond Wedding celebrations. We had a lovely time, were well looked after with great, friendly service and a lovely meal. Fantastic place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Trying to achieve 10 out of 10 is so hard , but this venue is well on its way. The Staff are just outstanding, just friendly, very accomodating and so helpfull. We had a Diamond Wedding Aniversary there and everything went perfectly. A sit down meal
In the afternoon. Sat in a snug bar prior to the meal. The food was hot and greatly presented, very tasty.
The staff helped with a cake etc catering for you and old. After the meal there was an upstairs bar which accomodated us all - around 30 people. The bar staff were so helpfull that evening and contributed to such a sussesfull evening and stay.
Thanks so much to "Pat" and her crew of staff, awsome job and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here after the Saddleworth Brass Bands last friday night. The staff were most welcoming, the room had a fantastic view over the moors and best of all we had a peaceful nights sleep! Breakfast in the morning was full english again with the same freindly service. This is a great place to stay if walking in the surrounding hills yet is only about 15 mins out of Oldham. Have already booked for next year's band contest!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
1.6 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
256 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
514 reviews
2.7 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
317 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
4.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grains Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grains Bar Hotel

Property: Grains Bar Hotel
Address: Oldham Road, Oldham OL1 4SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grains Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grains Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grains Bar Farm Hotel
Grains Bar Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing