We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID DO NOT STAY”
Review of Grains Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grains Bar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Oldham B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AVOID DO NOT STAY”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is like the set if a" Big Fat Gypsy Wedding " Rubbish and scrap metal everywhere. There were hideous plastic flowers everywhere.The Booking was messed up, the room was very scruffy and the bathroom was not clean, there was a all pervading smell of stale urine. The extractor did not work and the bedroom windows were locked shut hence the stale stink. Fire alarms were not working and Fire Doors were propped open, there was a chair blocking the Fire Exit The Breakfast took over 45 minutes to appear and was disgusting, sausage from Aldi or Lidl,, a tiny slice of tomato half a mushroom with horrid hash browns and a sea of slimy beans , Oh yes and it was almost cold.. Certainly not worth £78 . Take my advice avoid like the plague,

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
20
32
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Arrangements were made for a small family reunion and my uncle booked to stay the night, on arrival a young lady greeted us and we explained we were meeting a relative who hadn't yet arrived, we were made very welcome, having wondered off to look at the lovely views, returning we found my mother with a mug of coffee chatting to Pat like they had known each other for years.
We had our reunion in the lounge/bar area upstairs which was very comfortable, the evening meal was a lovely home cooked meal, cottage pie, homemade chips with gravy, green beans and for pudding apple pie with cream or icecream.
Can't comment on the rooms as we were unable to stay the night and was disappointed to have to leave, the staff were really nice and looked after us brilliantly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benidormgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here recently which was a last minute arrangement due to work commitment.
On arrival i was greeted by a young lady who was extremely professional in her job,yet made me feel like i was family.
The room was spotless with amazing views over the moors,and very competitively priced.
The food there was very good also,well presented and good value for money.
The staff that work there are some of the nicest people i have ever met,nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
If your looking for somewhere in the area with a home from home feel,then you will definitely not be disappointed.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The worst, dirtiest B&B in the north west. Staff could not care less. Owner is rude and arrogant. Bedrooms are dirty. TV reception in the "old wing", if it exists at all, is appalling. Mattresses old and uncomfortable. Curtains so thin you get no sleep or privacy, Carpets ancient and stained. You dont always get your own towels in your room, there is sometimes a heap of them in the shared bathrooms in the old wing, so you don't know who has used them or not. They are appalling towels anyway. Damp in some bedroom walls. One communal shower in the old wingi s avocado and truly disgusting - get the picture ?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The outside of the Grains Bar Hotel is very pleasant and inside it features numerous bars and lounge areas. I stayed in the old farm house half of the property which features slopping floors and low ceilings. As I'm just over 6 foot this meant regular incidents involving lamp shades and wall mounted TV stands.

The room itself was comfortable and featured a shared bathroom - I had the luxury of having this to myself as the hotel was quiet. In the entrance there is a notice up regarding a price rise meaning that a non-en suite bed only night will weigh in at £28 and unfortunately the travel lodge just down the road probably provides more comfort at the same or cheaper price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NetEng-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently had my wedding reception here and it was fantastic. The owner, Pat, was great at arranging and making my big day woderful. My partner and I went to her 3 weeks before our wedding which was quite short notice but on the day you would have thought we had been planning it for ages. All the guests had a wonderful 3 course meal and a fantastic party at the night in the bar/function room, with an excellent buffet which guests have since commented on. Pat put on all the finishing touches to the day and I would highly recommend this as a venue for your wedding or as simply somewhere to stay for a few days. The rooms were superb, clean and cosy. The cost of the wedding package i.e meal, buffett etc was superb and we would have paid a lot more elsewere for less. The staff are all friendly and nothing was too much trouble, which I found refreshing as some hotel staff are quite rigid and plastic, whereas it was like one big family at the Grains.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_H528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I spoke on the telephone at 11am that morning to a lady called Pat asking for availability. I was then in Cornwall. I accepted the booking and explained that I would arrive around 8.30pm that evening. We eventually arrived at 9.45pm to be greeted in a cold manner by the said same lady. There was no smile and she promptly made it clear that she had been waiting since 8.30pm. The atmosphere was immediately frosty and after driving 350 miles it wasnt good. We were shown to our room number 3. It was the furthest away from a three star than you could imagine. The bed linen was obviously old and not matching, it had bobbles all over it. The carpet was a disgrace with stains all over it. The toilet seat was so twisted that you had to practically face the wall to use it.
The shower was filthy. The decor was in poor taste. Both my wife and myself had the most uneasy night at this hotel and though it looks great from outside all was not what it seemed. Not in a million years would I stay there again and neither would I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millienewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oldham hotels
0.5 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
253 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Oldham
498 reviews
4.2 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grains Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grains Bar Hotel

Property: Grains Bar Hotel
Address: Rippondon Road, Oldham OL1 4SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grains Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Grains Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grains Bar Farm Hotel
Grains Bar Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing