We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I visited The Bower at the end of November 2012 for afternoon tea. I will definately be visiting again as it was lovely, the quality, choice and quantity meant that it was definately value for money. Great way to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBayley, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank You for taking the time to leave positive feedback about our afternoon tea.

Since your last visit, we have carried out further refurbishments and re-branded to become The Victoria Hotel. Our lounge now also houses a coffee and cocktail bar in which we hope you can relax and enjoy your experience, as much as you did with your afternoon tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Lynette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    148
    60
    28
    27
See reviews for
123
140
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We paid for the all inclusive Christmas party including 3 course meal, unlimited drinks and entertainment. We all had a really good night! Drinks were excellent they served all the expensive brands, food was average but that's to be expected at these large events. DJ was good everyone was up dancing. The staff were friendly and helpful especially Corey who continually checked that everyone was ok and enjoying themselves. Excellent value for money I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went to the midday Christmas lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are so friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble for them. They made us feel very welcome and special. One male member of staff waited with our 91 year old lady, whilst we went and got the car and brought it round to the door. Food was excellent, one tiny niggle is that food was a bit cold. Also,the builders park in the disabled spot and give a bit of cheek if you ask them to move!!!! but that's not the Hotel's fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth Walker W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Fantastic Christmas party night this weekend. We had travelled from Worsley for a works do and we were looked after by the staff from start to finish. The evening began with drinks on arrival then we were showed to the Party room that was laid out beautifully.
The meal was amazing and the service excellent. The DJ was great and catered for all ages and took requests.
After the meal it was a great atmosphere and everyone really had a great time. We will be looking out for party nights and returning in 2013!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

our party of nine attended an all inclusive christmas party night on 8th December. We all had a great evening. The food was delicious, and the service was excellant. A great night had by all.
They were very generous with the food and drink and was definately value for money. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepsis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was part of same group as Debra K. Thought food was good and plenty of it.Similarly alcohol. Often - on these " all inclusive" parties you can tell that the spirits aren't quite what they say they are; not here though. All proper stuff, as was the wine, all of which flowed liberally. Also, thought staff very attentive and friendly.Can therefore reiterate Debra's comments and wholeheartedly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had booked a private pamper party in the George Elliot suite it is incredibly classy. Staff catered to our every need. We had a meal in the restaurant and had a amazing time the food was delicious and was well presented. We had previously visited the hotel before the refurb and was amazed to see the difference AMAZING!! Then went up to the room we had a comfy nights sleep. In the morning we went down for breakfast I had full in English I was very tasty the service was very good! Definitely one to recommend for a polite,comfy and value for money stay. Great big thank you to Mandy!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatHotelSniffer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.5 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#10 of 12 in Oldham
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Oldham
Travelodge Oldham
#8 of 12 in Oldham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,624 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: Hollinwood Avenue | Chadderton, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 miles away from both Manchester City Centre and the beautiful surroundings of the Yorkshire Countryside, The Victoria Hotel in Chadderton is your home away from home. Along with the scenic setting, multifaceted outlets and extensive investment plans in order to bring back the 1800 Victorian style neglected by previous owners, our aim is to become not only a hotel everyone returns to, but a local landmark as well. We offer 67 bedrooms including 28 club rooms, an exquisite function room that perfectly blends Victorian and modern styles, a relaxing restaurant and lounge bar, a stunning terrace and landscaped garden perfect for saying "I do", and a large parking with space for 110 cars. All of this enables us to serve your each and every need, whether you are coming for an idyllic weekend with your loved one, a family reunion, or hosting an event for up to 200 people. Moreover, we are located just off the M60 motorway, a link road to many Manchester attractions including Manchester Airport, The Trafford Centre, Media City, Old Trafford Football Ground and many more. The Victoria Hotel also acts as a Training Academy for focused and ambitious young individuals seeking an apprenticeship in various areas of Hospitality and Catering Industry. The apprentices are trained on site to an elite standard as we aim to help improve the service in the local community, as well as support the local economy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower Hotel Oldham
The Victoria Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing