We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor but average curry”
Review of Indish

Indish
Ranked #14 of 283 Restaurants in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $65
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice decor but average curry”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited this restaurant with friends mid week and it was far from busy, ordered my favourite lamb jalfrezi and to be honest it was disappointing to say the least, far too much curry powder used for my liking. The standards of cooking seem to have slipped in the 12 months since our previous visit, think it will be some time before we return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiloRubix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    122
    48
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ruby murry”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

on our quest for the best curry, this week took us to the indish , a lot of revamping has gone on since our last visit and it looks very contemporary, the service food and atmostphere was excellent, will be on our list of favourites,,

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We ate here today after hearing really good reviews. The decor looked like a tacky strip club in a social club building. The service was good but the food very very average. The chicken jalfrezi dish I ordered was almost ten pounds with not much chicken to be seen. Plus the weird added extra of peas and carrots in the unauthentic sauce. My partner had a madras which wasn't much better. The naan was too doughy, rice was fine but really that's not hard to get right. Over priced and overrated in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emm3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, but they lied about entertainment!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Me and my wife had a meal Friday night at the Indish and although the food was very nice, when we rang to book they said that they had a bellydancer! When we asked the waiter they said they had no entertainment tonight. Although it could have been a mistake we did ring a week before to book and we also rang on the night to confirm, and they said yes both times. The guy on the phone was extremely miserable!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracejosh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff / food and place are absolutely fantastic. I have eaten in many many indian restaurants and this quite easily ranks up there with the best

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indish also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
 
Ashton-under-Lyne, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Indish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing