We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveler rating
324
253
100
27
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
253
100
27
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomcrompton suitewestern hotelsduty managerashton under lynegood sizewedding plannerslight problemcar parkbar foodbar stafflovely hoteltwo night staysaturday nightshort stayhotel baretihad stadium
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 732 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

I stayed for two days in this older hotel . The room's are very clean with vert attentive service. There is an attached restaurant which is very good, a good place for a short stay. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Decided on this location as it was in the middle of visits the following day.

On arrival looked to be in good fair with Christmas lights around the car park.

A very warm welcome at reception and everything you needed to know was explained in a polite manner.

Room was very spacious with all the mod cons and although close to the main road the room was quite, regarding the room I was impressed that the shower curtain had been weighted and trimmed back so not causing a possible slip or trip hazard as with other hotels, and I did pass my thoughts on to the front desk for house keeping.

The bar area was well set out and the food was plentiful and a well stocked bar

All in all yes I will be back

Room Tip: Any all have decent double glazing
Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017

we had 2 rooms booked here and had never stayed there before, are stay was really good but made amazing/fantastic by Amy on reception and Shane the duty manger. i have stayed all over the world and have never been treated so well they could not do enough for us, Superb !!! rated as a 3 star hotel but they definitely have 5 star staff. i will definitely be telling everyone about are stay and treatment by the staff, especially Amy.

Room Tip: 402 large and very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterosborne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017

The hotel is not that well signposted so is easy to miss particularly driving on Ashton Road from Oldham with the hotel set back from the road down towards the bottom of a steep hill known locally as Bardsley Brew.
The hotel is clean and modern, staff were universally friendly and the room we were in (205) was well appointed and larger than the norm in chain hotels and sported a superking bed.
Breakfast was a Best Western standard buffet with a range of cereals, fruit and all the elements of a full English including decent quality bacon. Coffee in large vacuum jugs could have been hotter and the buffet suffered, as in all the Best Westerns I have stayed in, with the bread in the baskets for toasting passable when toasted but akin to cardboard if eaten as bread and butter. The commercial toaster, incidentally, is excellent - as long as guests don't fiddle with the settings.
With those few reservations it is a good breakfast with reasonable choice and, as it is a buffet, enough for the largest appetites. There are also extra items that can be ordered such as poached or boiled eggs.
Hotels gain a useful income from weddings and parties at weekends and there was at least one filling the bar on the night we stayed but to be fair even with the evening reception in full swing, we heard no noise in our room or in reception, but receptions and parties create an added problem for guests. We returned from a meal with friends just after 10pm and parking was a problem with every space taken, not aided by some inconsiderate parking by people ignoring the white lines of parking spaces. We drove around a couple of times and were even considering asking for a refund and checking out when a car left and a space became available.
I accept hotels have to make money and, hopefully, income from wedding receptions, helps reduce room rates, but it would help if some spaces were reserved for residents only. Your car registration is logged at reception which seems a pointless exercise when many of the spaces are taken by unregistered wedding guests. There is plenty of parking at the hotel but parties and receptions put a real strain on spaces available for residents.

Room Tip: 205 and numbers around there are away from the function rooms
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend on a Friday and Saturday night
Good size room bathroom a little tired but good value for money. Comfortable beds, good free parking. CLose to the countryside where we enjoyed a walk and also handy for a theatre visit to HOME in Manchester and the Christmas markets. Would use again when we are next in the area

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews