We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best upgrade ever, go executive, go large!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having just spent one night at the Smokies Park I feel refreshed and revitalised. I was upgraded to one of the executive suites, and BOY! What a room! I should say rooms, as I had a bedroom, huge lounge and luxury bathroom with jacuzzi spa bath and seperate shower. The fixtures and fittings were of good high quality, large flat screen TV and fantastic views overlooking parkland. The menu in the restaurant was broad and interesting.Food was good, tasty and fairly reasonable in price, and service was polite and attentive. All in all a good stay. Many thanks to Stef on reception for making check-in and out a pleasure and for the best upgrade ever!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for one of the executive suites, you'll be amazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyTheLandyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you liked your executive room. Housekeeping take great pride in all our rooms and all are of a high standard. Our executive rooms are larger and fitted out with our best fixtures and fittings.

I was also pleased that your enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and found it good value, tasty with friendly service.

I shall pass on your kind comments to the head chef and Stef on reception.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Attended an all day wedding/evening reception, had an excellent time. Good clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent food. The rooms were nice and clean, everything we needed, good nights sleep, excellent breakfast, with great service. The wedding itself was done to perfection, great food, friendly and efficient staff, and a superb night of food, wine, dance and all in all excellent value for money. Thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Wedding Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that your enjoyed the wedding and stay with us. The team here take great pride in looking after all our guests, whether they are staying for one night, a week, attending a wedding or dining with us in our eat...@smokies restaurant.

I shall pass on your comments to the team and hope we see you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Third time we have stayed in this hotel. The staff are friendly and when we had a problem with our room the night manager responded immediately and not only moved us but upgraded our room as well. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of food on offer. Our first choice hotel in this area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sel_Yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is so nice to hear that as a regular, you enjoy your time with us and find the team friendly and helpful.

We believe that breakfast is a really important start to the day, which is why we have recently invested in improving the restaurant and breakfast to make sure we deliver the best that our guests deserve.

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for one night while working in Ashton which is only a few minutes away. The hotel has a decent sized car park and the rooms are traditional but with mod cons like flat screen free view and free wi fi. You have to press the red button on the shower to get the hot water . The pillows were a bit firm but I did have a solid nights sleep . Had a burger in the bar for dinner which was very tasty . The breakfast was also very good and kept me going all day. I would stay here again it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brownted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that liked your room, evening meal and breakfast.

Sorry to hear that you found your pillow a little hard. We do change them on a regular basis and would always be happy to find a different one for a guest , as we appreciate that we all have a slightly different preference when it comes to our pillow to help us get a good nights sleep.

I do hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day mid week stay at this excellent hotel. Our room was huge, modern and clean, with a great seating area. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the restaurant is great, but we also had a continental in our room at 5.15am which was no problem at all for them. They have a great bar too. I would highly recommend this hotel to business and leisure travellers in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrsDigger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take a great deal of pride in looking after our guests and am touched when guests go to the trouble of letting us know. I will pass on your feedback to all the team and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently attended a wedding here and stayed overnight,the hotel was clean,bright and well maintained and the food served at the wedding was excellent ,it was well presented very tasty and served by very friendly staff.
The room we had was huge with a lovely comfortable king size bed ,a nice bathroom tea& coffee,and free bottled water.
Although we didn't have breakfast friends who did said it was good value.
We paid £50 for the night and it has to be the best value hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JMS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Wedding Guest

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding you attended.

We have a great team here at Smokies who really care and I will take great pride in feeding back your kind words.

I do hope we see you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My son had his wedding reception here on Jan 19th and the family have nothing but praise for the whole experience. Natalie and Vikki proved their vast experience at organising weddings by offering invaluable guidance on timings and budgets despite the date changing 3 times, the final date gave them just 5 weeks notice. The food was piping hot, tasty and beautifully served by willing and helpful staff. Vikki MC'd the whole afternoon so that it flowed easily and the rest of her team were friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The residential bar stayed open till early hours and the batman, who was also the night manager was fun and friendly, despite the fact that we were a large and diverse group.
Half of the 200 guests stayed overnight and each person praised the standard of their room. The breakfast was as tasty as the previous evening.
Check the following morning was chaotic with so many people greeting each other, paying their bills, rushing back to their room for forgotten items etc but the receptionist remained calm and smiley.
Many thanks to all the staff for their attention and help to make an important occasion a memorable and perfect day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Holidasyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Smokies Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Bride & Groom

Firsty,thank you for choosing Smokies Park Hotel as your wedding venue and am so pleased to hear that we were able to make your big day special. It was so nice to hear that Natalie(wedding planner) and Vicky(operations manager) worked together to give you that extra special day.

I was also pleased to hear that the night manager looked after you and your guests, as I know how important it is to continue the party after the formal proceedings.

I hope you come back soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Smokies Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldham
5.5 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oldham (Broadway) Hotel
2 mi away
247Hotel
247Hotel
#9 of 11 in Oldham
402 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Smokies Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Smokies Park

Address: Hotel Smokies Park Ashton Road, Oldham OL8 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Smokies Park 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manchester on the A627, between Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne, with Manchester City Centre and Manchester Airport only a short drive away. Each of the delightfully furnished and spacious en-suite bedrooms are complete with 32" Flatscreen Freeview TVs, direct dial telephone and Free Wi-fi, hairdryer, garment press and tea and coffee making facilities, Free Parking and all the facilities you would expect from a modern, comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Smokies Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oldham
Best Western Smokies Park
Oldham Best Western
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park Oldham, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing