We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eat...@Smokies

Eat...@Smokies
Ranked #31 of 277 Restaurants in Oldham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: eat at smokies is our new restaurant at Smokies Park Hotel. We are committed to delivering fantastic food, exceptional service in a fresh new environment. The new menu has a variety of grilled favourites, American and European dishes. Our head chef prides himself on sourcing home grown ingredients from local suppliers at every opportunity. Our beef is British, our burgers are homemade and all dishes are prepared and cooked by our team of chef’s.As well as our new main menu, we carefully select daily specials to keep offering a strong and varied option to our regular guests, making a visit to eat special every time.Our menu demonstrates great value for money, whether you are popping out for a bite to eat or enjoying a special celebration. Why not eat at smokies
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and hubby had a lovely meal on a Friday night, the waitress was very helpful and friendly, we made ourselves members and got discounted drinks, looking forward to our next visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank flossyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Eat...@Smokies, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear eat...@smokies reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal and are now benefiting from joining our "Benefits for Friends" scheme, which is free.

I shall pass on your kind words to the team and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
eat...@smokies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    47
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weekend visit with Bike group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

EXCELLENT STAFF- Bar doesn't have Guiness on tap BUT the barmaid offerred to go the main bar to pout our pints -HOW GOOD IS THAT
Everyone polite and worked hard - good choice of food
worth eating in - Recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Eat...@Smokies, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Bike Group

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am so pleased to hear how well you were looked after and that you enjoyed your meal. finding a good choice from our main menu and daily specials.

I do hope we see you again soon

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
eat...@smokies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic meal with stunning customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

First time here, carvery meal was top notch. Vegetables were fresh, cooked beautifully and the meat was wonderful and moist. The staff were friendly and helpful, and amazingly charged all the meal half price due to a mix up with yorkshire puds. This will definitely become one of our new haunts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Eat...@Smokies, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear eat...@smokies guest

Thank you for your review of our Sunday carvery. Our chef's take great pride in their work and will be very touched by your review. We truly believe in cooking everything from fresh and am so pleased that you appreciated this.

I shall pass on your kind comments to the team in the kitchen and front of house.

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
eat...@smokies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent standard of food for a hotel restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stay and eat here regularly. Normally on a business trip I look outwith the hotel for a decent restaurant but here the food is so good I tend to eat in. There are always "specials" and these tend to be the best choice. The chef is consistantly of a high quality and not afraid to be a little adventurous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRASER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Eat...@Smokies, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear eat...@smokies guest

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. It is extra special to hear from a senior Trip advisor reviewer who is well travelled. I have worked in hotels for many years and understand your apprehensions about many hotel restaurants. With this in mind, I wanted Smokies to stand out and deliver to all hotel and local guests a restaurant of notability.

We have worked very hard to mix a main menu of popular dishes at great value and daily specials, freshly prepared, giving our chefs the opportunity to showcase their individual talents.

I do hope we see you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
eat@smokies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabinillas, Costa Del Sol, Spain
2 reviews
“Good Food in the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pleasant environment but possibly longer opening hours as we arrived late and had to eat in the bar area in the first night

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank juss1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SmokiesOldham, General Manager at Eat...@Smokies, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear eat..@smokies guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am pleased that you liked our restaurant and am also sorry that due to our present closing time, you had to eat in the bar on your first night staying in the hotel. I shall review the opening hours, as the last thing we want is to be turning guests away. Historically there is very little demand after 9.30pm but would welcome the need to have to close later.

The hotel bar does have a good choice and we recently launched a new menu that can be enjoyed by hotel guest and the general public from 10am to 10pm.

Hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Brent Hutchins
General Manager
eat@smokies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat...@Smokies also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Eat...@Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing