We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great leisure facilities, nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
england
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great leisure facilities, nice breakfast”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with family. Great swimming pool, gym and squash courts. Decent size family room. Note that some of the doubles are refurbished so it is worth requesting one at check in.

Stayed here quite a few times and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4workandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    531
    373
    147
    108
See reviews for
328
633
59
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham U.K
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

First room I was given wasn't made up - in fact it looked as if it had been vandalised ! so a great start. Staff resolved the matter in minutes. Comfortable room , pleasant bar and very handy for the motorway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansardtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Just got back from our stay at the Village hotel for the Bank Holiday weekend and was most disappointed! Had been eagerly looking forward to it for weeks, having spent out a little more to stay somewhere nicer than a Premier Inn, etc. We checked in at reception, which is quite impressive-very modern and classy, just like the photo's on the website. Got our key to our standard dbl and that's where it all went wrong!! We opened the door to our room and thought we had been transported to a tacky BB about 30 years out of date!! The decor of the room was shocking, we were missing a sofa and it definately did not look like the pictures shown online!! I quickly headed down to Reception and told them what I thought-no way was I staying somewhere which I wouldn't pay £40 p/n let alone £90!! I was aware (from speaking with housecleaning) that there was a new block and asked to be moved. Luckily there was a superior room free and I had to pay an upgrade charge!! We hot-footed it to our new room. some distance away and down two lifts and felt like a mile away. The new room was ok, still nothing like what we had seen and not what I would class as Superior. The bathroom was very basic, take your own toiletries as you only get one hand soap, one loo roll and one shower gel. We didn't even get a hand-towel.
It's a shame, the restaurant and breakfast were great, but the hotel falls down on the bedrooms. If you're going for a treat, stay at a Premier one down the road!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The entrance was promising, with mighty stairs leading up to the Hotel and a trendy, friendly reception. The bar looked great and also the restaurant looked like potentially great steak house. As I walked down the corridor to my room on the first floor, it dawned on me the "funky" modern style to the hotel I was greeted with would be staying on the ground floor. I could now be in a 15 year Travel Lodge. The room echoed this with lazy colors and more then adequate ware and tare. The bathroom had a pungent musky smell to it, with grouting missing from the floor tiles. Fortunately it was to be one night stay, any longer I would ofF checked out and found a more modern, cleaner hotel.
I have to say the staff were extremely helpful and friendly before i carry on.
The restaurant was terrible! I had a Fillet Steak Medium. It came out tough, over cooked and with a pepper sauce that started to develop a skin like substance on top. If this was Weatherspoon prices I would of grin and bared it. However when paying £20,00 for a main dish, this unacceptable. No wonder the restaurant was empty.
This potentially could be a very good hotel, however it seems to be leaning on the theory that beauty is only skin deep.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WharfGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed here with my partner for his birthday,staff were lovely when we arrived, room was really nice, overall they stay was nice. The problem started when we left the hotel. I know it was my fault that I left a Brand NEW dress in the wardrobe but I honestly thought that if I rang the hotel they would be able to find it and I would then go and pick it up. Not a chance! after countless phone calls to the hotel, I am still no nearer to getting my dress back.The cleaner has said there was nothing left in the room so they cant do anything. It has now been passed to the police to handle, I realise this may seem petty but it is still theft and there must be more than 1 person that forgets something.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dressforgetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

On arrival the hotel reception staff could not have been nicer they explained about breakfast. They then explained about the leisure club and pool times as I had a child with me. Within a couple of minutes I was going up to the room. The room was what you would expect from a hotel chain but there was a large flat screen TV which was lovely to watch whilst lying in bed. The bed was very comfortable with the best pillows I have ever had in a hotel, this resulted in a great nights sleep. My only concern was the bathroom, as I have a disability I requested a room to suit me and was allocated a room that was suitable for wheelchairs. Indeed it was there was plenty of space and the bathroom was huge with grabrails around the WC and the sink was accessible for a wheelchair, but there was a high step to get into the shower and there was no seat inside, I found this a little odd as if I had have been in a wheelchair I proberbly would not be able to get in let alone stand to shower, as it was I struggled to access it and getting out was really bad as there was no grabrail on the outside. Breakfast the next morning was totally stress free. We arrived about 9.10am and it was fairly quiet. We were shown to out table and was given a good explaination of what was on offer and where to find it. Food was very nice and there was plenty of it, and there were helpful staff on hand if you needed anything. The leisure club was very nice but on the morning we went the heating was not working so the changing rooms, showers and pool hall were all quite cold. The pool was ok but not to the usual temperature, this did not bother us to much and by the time we came out the showers had started to get a little warmer. Check out was very easy and again the reception staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — The beds and the pillows
  • Disliked — Access to the shower
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wander41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Incredibly helpful staff changed booking at short notice to accomodate my daughter coming from France to join my son and I at a wedding in nearby Bolton. She got caught up in French train strike and reception staff were able to help her check her return travel arrangements on line.
They found a catholic church for my son to attend, found a sewing kit when my dress unravelled an hour before we had to leave, helped us book a taxi and when the driver had never heard of the wedding venue looked it up on the internet so we has the postcode for the drivers sat nav.
The room was clean and big enough even with a large teenager on the sofa bed, the pool was an unexpected delight and the food in the Verve restaurant good (although the service was very slow).
Would recommend highly

  • Liked — Helpful staff lovely leisure facilities
  • Disliked — Reception area is very dark
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
195 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Bury

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Address: Rochdale Road | Waterfold Business Park, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Hotel Manchester Bury has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing