We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice business stopover in Upper deck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Manchester Bury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice business stopover in Upper deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for a 1 night stay in Upper deck. The rooms are modern with a comfortable bed. With plenty of pillows. Sky movies is a nice touch and I enjoyed watching Argo before bed. It's just a shame the Starbucks coffee is just instant. A nice bean to cup machine would be a nicer touch.

Reception clerks were friendly and the hotel had a nice buzz - mainly due to the gym and attached pub.

The Italian restaurant was lovely for a romantic meal - I was alone, but still felt very welcome. Lovely food with some of the best authentic garlic bread I have tasted.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upper deck in my opinion is worth it for a cosy film in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam1eMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the UpperDeck room as well as the meal in Vinny & Vitos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    475
    341
    138
    97
See reviews for
275
573
51
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 nights in Upper Deck room whilst visiting family. Nice clean rooms but'Starbucks in room' is just a worthless marketing scam - just branded instant coffee !

Why never again ? NOISE. On the first night we had 2 children left 'home alone' in the room above us. Until midnight they spent the time jumping off the bed and running up and down the room and slamming the drawers shut. The inter floor sound deadening is pretty much non existent. Then the drunken revellers moved out onto the terrace which is immediately below the Upper Deck rooms and proceeded to have lengthy and very loud episodes of shouting and laughing until 12:30.

Following morning we confirmed that the room above us was not vacating so were moved to another room, also away from the front terrace, so we were expecting a better night. WRONG - party night. The whole hotel reverberates with music, idiots running down the corridors banging very loudly on doors just topped off the worst stay in a hotel ever.

We will never stay here again and if you are expecting to get any sleep I would strongly suggest you book elsewhere.

A very disappointing experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am so sorry it appears you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. If you would care to discuss this further please feel free to call me on 0871 222 4576.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bury hotels

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed Saturday night. A very comfortable stay. Breakfast was good & lots of choice. We enjoyed using the excellent leisure facilities. Cant say if it was good value because stay was given to as a gift.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13brian61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your gift of a stay at the hotel and managed to take advantage of all the ammenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a Friday night. The reception staff were really efficient. The room we stayed on was a little bit tired and the towels looked like they should have been thrown out a few years ago. However, the breakfast was great and to be honest we got such a good deal on the room I cannot complain. Great leisure facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay as well as the ammenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome by the friendly receptionist, who quickly explained everything we needed to know and asked if we had any requests etc, check in was very speedy - no problems at all. We had booked an upper deck room and were allocated room 304, room was spacious and clean and furnishing modern and comfortable, the only thing I didn't like was the shower - hard to work out how to turn it on ( maybe I'm just too used to pressing a button) and when I did get it working I found I couldn't get a decent temperature - other than this there were no complaints with the room. Did hear a bit of noise from other guests in the corridors at night but it's nowhere near as bad as I had expected from reading other reviews. The victory pub was great, really good atmosphere, food great and drinks a bit pricey but probably in line with manchester city centre prices. Did pay for b&b but unfortunately didn't get to try breakfast as they queue was ridiculously long and I really didn't have the time to wait - was a bit annoying, however, on the whole this was a good experience and I would return in the future.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, and that it exceeded the expectations from your previous time here. Having said that, I am so sorry you missed breakfast due to the queue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just spent the weekend with friends here . Cannot fault it, The food was very good at breakfast and self service, Lots of facilities , swimming pool , sauna, steam room , Jacuzzi, gym.
Rooms very nice, clean and spacious . Located close to Bury centre. Definatly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to mention your recent stay at the hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at the hotel and took advantage of all of the facilities that we offer!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I went to Manchester on a historical journey to my birthplace with my 8yo as left in the 60s and not been on holiday in Longsight since 1983. As my daughter likes swimming, I chose Village Urban in Bury with a resort as i felt the need to reflect, relax after my discoveries. The hotel has great bus link to the Manchester City Centre (bus 163 - 1 hour journey) and Bury - access Tram & other buses. I requested a quiet side of the hotel after the reviews said some places were noisy and I was not disappointed although it took us long to trace on arrival - a phone call to reception resolved this. Man. City played Norwich but it was not too bad. Could see the river from bedrom window. Breakfast was fabulous (now paying the price for an expanded waist line), thanks to Isabella for the lovely chocolate drinks and staff asking us during breakfast if we were alright. Patricia gave a personal touch by introducing herself at breakfast on Day 2 and letting us know her role (front desk). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay...Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam Room. Staff were prompt and courteous. The housekeeper reminded us to close our door as left slightly ajar. Would have been useful if staff informed us we had access to the gym facilities and classes but oh well, this did not spoil it for me, will return home again if time permits. Been flogging the resort to friends in London. Perhaps a kids club will help families apart from the swimming.

If interested in using buses, try to buy the weekly bus pass for £ 13.00 - check covers all bus companies (stagecoach and first western??? i think). Try the Travel shop at Bury...transport can be cheaper if researched ahead of time.

Met great people in the resort and on our first day in Manchester - with a gentleman taking me all the way to North Manchester Hospital (formerly Crumpsall), still excited about my various discoveries.

Shop Assistants and Some Bus Drivers outside the resort are not very patient with visitors or shall I say tourists.

Will do this again though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor with the river view are quieter in my view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiejoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Hotel Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to mention your stay at the hotel! Sounds like you had a rather interesting visit!

The team and I are passionate about delivering exceptional standards and I am so pleased you appreciated this throughout the service you received.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
15.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
3.0 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
19.7 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Cheadle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Bury

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Address: Rochdale Road | Waterfold Business Park, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Hotel Manchester Bury has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing