We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent night's sleep at back of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are prepared to take the magical mystery tour to the annex at the back of the hotel you will find some very quiet rooms overlooking the river at the back. The rooms are basic but beds very comfortable. The highlight of the stay was the italian restaurant - great food at a very reasonable price and extremely pleasant, attentive staff who go out of their way to explain the extensive menu and make you feel very welcome indeed. I'd give it five stars but the bathroom was a bit tired, fancied a bath but the silicon sealant around the bath could do some some anti mould treatment and the fabric on the seat for the desk was shabby/stained and lastly no radio stations on the tv. But I'll definitely return for the food and the beds and the excellent team that work there.

Room Tip: 174 is very quiet indeed but be warned it is a good walk from reception and you need to take a lift...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandJulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,937)
There are newer reviews for Village Hotel Manchester Bury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,706 - 1,712 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights b&b and evening meal both nights (eating from the 2 for £29.00 menu
First thing it is accessible to wheelchairs (big plus when you are pushing someone in one) with lots of disabled parking spaces.
Although we did not book an accessible room, the bathroom had enough room and grips for a disabled person.
The bed was comfortable and we had two pillows each (yipee!)
We ate in Vinny and Vinos the first evening and the food was good although it took an eternity to get our three courses (2 hours plus)
The second night we ate in the bar and again the food was good this time with express service.
Breakfast was o.k could have done with a few more cereals to choose from.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout

Another plus is that is very easy find being right on the Motorway exit.

Only gripe was wine was quite pricey £12.00 plus for a half caraffe was a bit steep.

However really enjoyed the break and have added it to my list of places to use for a short break or stopover

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I am a gym member here and regularly stop over for theme nights such as Take That tribute bands etc. I also always try to fit in a swim/gym or both before or after work dependent on my shifts. This is an extremely busy hotel with a couple of good restaurants including the bar for lighter meals. The staff are exemplary and the rooms are good value. The only bugbear I have is the amount of time allocated to kids swimming lessons because there isn't a separate pool and the instructors like to occupy up to 2/3 of the pool area which is really annoying. They should get rid of the sun loungers and build a kids pool then everyone would be happy because alot of regulars are in agreeance. Apart from that, definitely worth a stay. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coops77Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

we stayed at hotel for 2 nights and our daughter son in law and granddaughter joined us for 1.we paid for dbb 1st night was set menu with a choice of four starters main and desserts.2nd night was carvery was not told it had to be booked so the only time was 8pm alittle late for our granddaughter ,they tried to charge us until we pointed out we were all half board.when my daughter returned home on checking £7 99 had been taken off the card which she had made the booking on even though she was also on dbb ,when she rang she was told it was for the childs carvery my granddaughter is 4 we had to feed her before we went in because it been to late for her they have now given her a refund.we paid for upper deck rm tea coffee filled up but no biscuits 2nd day and when we went back to our rm it was open with towel at the door and nobody in sight,we rang down and was told they were sorry but it was a good 15 mins before anyone came and yes she was very very sorry and later someone brought us £25 00 gift voucher to spend in the hotel so it paid for drinks that night.breakfast was disappointing no menu to say you could order poached,or boiled eggs plates were stacked and were cold so by the time u got back to the table it was cold.then we saw thick dust on the lattes of wood when I pointed this out to the restaurant manager danny he said they get cleaned every other day and could show me the cleaning rota, when I said maybe would be better everyday he said it was the toaster and why bother about the dust clearly if needed it and should be done twice a day, if front of house is like this pray tell what is the back of house like!!!! the spa it would be helpful it they had a price list in your rm we did go for a swim but found the shower grills covered with hair and in need of a good clean. ive stayed at devere hotels in the past but 1st time in a village hotel and will be the last

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days over Easter with a meal included on the first night.

We decided to try the new Italian restaurant vinny and vino.

What can I see apart from extremely poor if any director or senior manager of VILLAGE is reading this please think again or go bsvk to yhe drawing board.

Our starters took an eternity and when they arrived were wrong.

We left our starters and explained to staff in the bar.

A young man called Matt Ransom then used all his customer service skills and turned the whole experience into a positive one.

We sldo spoken to the hotel Manageress who was very sympathetic and listened to our experience and took on board our constructive criticism about the vino and vinny restaurant.

As for our food in the bar it was absolutely perfect so much that our friends that live in Bury were going there the following week to try.

This is the third time we have stayed at the village Bury and find the staff to be friendly and rooms to be comfortable.

We cannot wait for our next visit in June and will be spreading the word of this hidden gem of Bury.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcjwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband is from the UK, just outside of Bury, and when we would visit we would always stay with his Dad. Well, his Dad decided to move over to the states near us and right about the same time they built this hotel. We have been staying there ever since, at least for 10 years now, probably more. We've seen the hotel change and grow and it really is like a home away from home for us and our two boys, now 15 and 13. We have always had great service, great food and we even had my husband's daughter's wedding there in 2008. That went very well as we expected it would. We always get bed and breakfast and enjoy the full breakfast buffet every morning (although after 10+ years I have to be honest, some changes to the breakfast buffet, for me, the fussy American, would be very welcome). The pool and the leisure center is unsurpassed. I've also had the opportunity to use the spa a couple of times and that is also very nice with great service and offerings. We've had friends and family join us for the wedding and they've stayed here with us other times as well and everyone loves it here. You can enjoy Bury Market just down the road and the beautiful new Rock Shopping Center with shops galore and it's an easy drive by car or taxi or train in to Downtown Manchester with all sorts of wonderful shopping, restaurants and bars. Not sure when we'll be back but it won't be long.

Room Tip: We like a room not far from the lobby so it's a short trip down to the pub and a short trip back...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmoldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here last August for one night. Deal included stay, 3 course meal, and breakfast. We do not live far from Bury so hotel easy to find from motorway. Plenty of parking available.
Arrived Friday afternoon and check in was ok and we went to our room. Not much info given about spa, restaurant etc is was a bit like find it out yourself.
The room was small but alright for a one night stay. However we were stuck at the back of the hotel and had a view of a brick wall!!! The lighting in the room was very dim not good for doing make up or your hair.
We did use the pool which we enjoyed along with the jacuzzi but we didnt have any spa treatments which are available at a charge.
We booked our evening meal time and this was very nice you chose from a set menu. Wine was not included and was a little pricey.
There is a lovely pub just across the carpark which we visited for a drink at lunchtime when we found it quite busy. However when we popped in at night it was so quiet it was closing early.
While there lots of guests were staying for a wedding and other functions which was ok untill you wanted to sleep. It was very noisey during the night by other guests coming back to their rooms very late and some running up and down the corriders banging doors. This spoilt it for us as it was a one night stay for a special birthday for me and I had a party the next day.
Breakfast was a let down as you had to wait standing untill a table was free and yet when after about 15mins we went in lots were free but uncleared.Also a football team were getting breakfast and eating elsewhere so you had to wait ages for food etc as they couldnt cope with the demand.
Would I go again maybe on a deal but I would ask for a better view and a quiter room.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossomEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
2.2 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
500 reviews
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,720 reviews
11.6 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Bury

Address: Rochdale Road | Waterfold Business Park, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range: $58 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Hotel Manchester Bury has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing