We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Dallas, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband is from the UK, just outside of Bury, and when we would visit we would always stay with his Dad. Well, his Dad decided to move over to the states near us and right about the same time they built this hotel. We have been staying there ever since, at least for 10 years now, probably more. We've seen the hotel change and grow and it really is like a home away from home for us and our two boys, now 15 and 13. We have always had great service, great food and we even had my husband's daughter's wedding there in 2008. That went very well as we expected it would. We always get bed and breakfast and enjoy the full breakfast buffet every morning (although after 10+ years I have to be honest, some changes to the breakfast buffet, for me, the fussy American, would be very welcome). The pool and the leisure center is unsurpassed. I've also had the opportunity to use the spa a couple of times and that is also very nice with great service and offerings. We've had friends and family join us for the wedding and they've stayed here with us other times as well and everyone loves it here. You can enjoy Bury Market just down the road and the beautiful new Rock Shopping Center with shops galore and it's an easy drive by car or taxi or train in to Downtown Manchester with all sorts of wonderful shopping, restaurants and bars. Not sure when we'll be back but it won't be long.

Room Tip: We like a room not far from the lobby so it's a short trip down to the pub and a short trip back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmoldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    500
    354
    141
    101
See reviews for
299
601
54
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here last August for one night. Deal included stay, 3 course meal, and breakfast. We do not live far from Bury so hotel easy to find from motorway. Plenty of parking available.
Arrived Friday afternoon and check in was ok and we went to our room. Not much info given about spa, restaurant etc is was a bit like find it out yourself.
The room was small but alright for a one night stay. However we were stuck at the back of the hotel and had a view of a brick wall!!! The lighting in the room was very dim not good for doing make up or your hair.
We did use the pool which we enjoyed along with the jacuzzi but we didnt have any spa treatments which are available at a charge.
We booked our evening meal time and this was very nice you chose from a set menu. Wine was not included and was a little pricey.
There is a lovely pub just across the carpark which we visited for a drink at lunchtime when we found it quite busy. However when we popped in at night it was so quiet it was closing early.
While there lots of guests were staying for a wedding and other functions which was ok untill you wanted to sleep. It was very noisey during the night by other guests coming back to their rooms very late and some running up and down the corriders banging doors. This spoilt it for us as it was a one night stay for a special birthday for me and I had a party the next day.
Breakfast was a let down as you had to wait standing untill a table was free and yet when after about 15mins we went in lots were free but uncleared.Also a football team were getting breakfast and eating elsewhere so you had to wait ages for food etc as they couldnt cope with the demand.
Would I go again maybe on a deal but I would ask for a better view and a quiter room.

Room Tip: Front of hotel overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked a night here which included dinner and breakfast for £68 so very good value, it s busy place with conferencing and leisure facilities, there is also a pub next door and its straight off the M66 at the bury turn off. The room was clean and had all facilities needed, check in was efficient although not particularly friendly. Dinner was average, considering it was a speciality Italian restaurant the pasta was very poor. You can be in bury town centre in 5 minutes and most places in the north west in an hour so good location. The noise from the m66 was quite loud once it got to baout 5am in the morning

Room Tip: As far away from motorway as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Dined here on a sunday evening for my Grandmothers 81st birthday, we had booked our table for twenty people and when we arrived the place itself was lovely we only had to wait around ten minutes to be seated but when we did the table was only set for fifteen people and the balloons that we had booked prior to be on the table were nowhere to be seen!
We spoke to a member of staff who said they were unable to seat us all together as the table wasnt big enough so four people would have to sit on a seperate table which we did only to be asked five minutes later to move as the table was reserved for other customers, we were asked to move to the bar where we were given four drinks and a glass of champagne for my Grandmother who unfourtunatly doesnt drink.
When we were eventually seated all toghether whenever one person had to get up to get food so did the rest of the table which became rather annoying after a while, in the end some people were climbing under the table.When the last few members of our party got up to eat all the food had been cleared away and when asked if they had anything left they were told they had some beef and turkey left in the kitchen but probably no vegetables left, by this point our table was stacked so high with plates we could hardly see each other and all the staff were just clearing all the tables around us and we felt like we were just not wanted. Its a shame to spoil such a lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed as part of a hen package , check in busy but efficient , rooms comfortable , spa really good v relaxing and friendly . Had very good back massage and we were welcome to spend time in the relaxation space . Lobby very relaxing to sit and chat in . Attended the ABBA party night v well run, nice meal , comfortable spacious lounge areas with bar. Great if busy breakfast next morning and a visit to the pool/ hot tub rounded off a lovely stay. Would recommend for groups of friends or just a couple of people wanting a bit of chill out time .Some really good spa packages advertised throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale, lancs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight as it was cheaper than getting the taxi home after work christmas do. Service great, room comfortable, breakfast great, with very flexible timing.

Would definitely use this hotel again - plan to try the spa facilities next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at The Village hotel recently with a group as part of a hen weekend. It was very good value for money and the package included bed and breakfast, a three course meal as part of the ABBA tribute night.

The hotel is quite big and the communal areas are lovely, Starbucks as you walk in, an open fireplace and seating area by reception, a huge pool, a bar area and separate restaurant. The only thing to let it down is the bedroom.

We were given room 231 and the bedroom itself was fine but the bathroom was very dated which was unusual as the bedroom itself had been refurbished. The tiles were old, the shower was dated and the towel rail had long wires coming out of it, (quite dangerous if you trip yourself up coming out of the shower). Also an air con system is desperately needed and the TV channel reception is poor and the choice of channels are limited.

I would probably stay here again if we were celebrating another occasion but I’d probably look for a room upgrade. Also some of the staff could have been a little more professional (we were completely ignored at breakfast whilst waiting to be seated).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom
11.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Manchester Bury

Property: Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Address: Rochdale Road | Waterfold Business Park, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Hotel Manchester Bury has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing