We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Leckenby's

Leckenby's
Ranked #11 of 369 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an English Tearoom situated in the heart of Burys Millgate Shopping Centre. We provide a full waitress service and we serve anything from light snacks to a three course meal and we specialise in Afternoon Tea. We serve a wide selection of loose leaf tea and freshly ground coffees as well as a range of alcoholic beverages including Champagne and Prosecco. We have a children's menu as well as several Gluten Free options on our main menu.p
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“great place, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am a regular customer with my friends at Leckenby,s the place is spotless and the staff are friendly and also helpful. I would recommend anybody to eat there as they are one of few places in bury which also offer a gluten free menu. The management are most helpful and always ready to listen to customers comments. The food is fresh and delicious

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    65
    20
    5
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service from management!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having had a chocolate eclair where the cream was so off it tasted like cheese, we were told they would take off the price of the eclair only. As we had shared 2 puddings we felt the pudding experience had been ruined by the eclair so felt just taking off the price of something inedible was no it much of a gesture so asked if they would be prepared to remove the price of the other pudding. At this point the manager starting shouting at us, telling us we had no right to ask as we had eaten a good portion of the other pudding, telling us she was not a charity etc. Whether she was prepared to offer further discount or not I would not have expected to be shouted at and spoken to so rudely for asking, especially when we had been fed food unfit for consumption. It was such a shame because the young staff were fantastic and much of the meal was good. The final insult was that we were given no bill against which to check, just told what we must pay - so perhaps were not even given the discount she had agreed to. If you go here, Good Luck - if everything goes well you will be fine, but do not expect good treatment if you have any problems and come across the wrath of management!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IngaBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfilidoro, Manager at Leckenby's, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, it gave me a chance to look into the matter, please find below my response, which is based on questioning every member of staff present on the day of your visit as to exactly what happened.
I will now explain the course of events. You placed your order and within that order you ordered child's soup. When the soup arrived one of the ladies in your party summoned over a waitress and said,very abruptly, that we had sent out the wrong soup. Our young waitress was quite upset about the manner in which she was spoken to but very politely offered to change it. The lady who complained then said ' oh it doesn't matter now'. why complain about something to then say oh it doesn't matter? As desserts you ordered a chocolate eclair and a chocolate orange torte, you then halved each cake so that the children could share both cakes. Both halves of the choc orange torte were eaten with only half an inch left, presumably because it is a very rich cake one half of the eclair was eaten and one half left by the other child. The mother of the child the proceeded to eat the other half of the eclair and as she came to the end, scooped out about an inch of cream and ate the rest of the eclair. The only thing left on the plate was an inch of cream. She then summoned the waitress and said ' the cream in the eclair was going off'. We took the remains into the kitchen and tested it. The cream was just on the edge of turning but had not gone off because we have our deliveries fresh every day and eclairs only last a day. Bearing in mind, we have a five star rating for our food hygiene, which includes correct labelling and storage. When you came to the till the waitress who served you informed you that we were not charging you for the eclair and she explained to you ,that should you have said something at the time, instead of them eating the eclair we would have rectified the situation immediately. This is a matter of good practice that we always follow. However you became very aggressive with the waitress and demanded that she should knock off the charge for the other dessert, which incidentally, you found satisfactory, as a gesture of goodwill! Your behaviour then became very threatening and abusive so the owner came to take over. You also insinuate that we are dishonest by not giving you a receipt, had you have asked, we would have gladly given you one. We run an honest reputable business, as most people know anyway and are not in the habit of swindling people! Again I ask you, if something is'unfit for human consumption', why consume it? I would also like to point out that the other customers who were present were appalled at how abusive you were to my staff. We will never tolerate abusive, aggressive behaviour nor should we have to .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tearoom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Another lovely meal as always guarenteed, visited with my two sisters one in a wheelchair which was able to be tucked away whilst we ate or could have stayed in wheelchair. Lovely atmosphere, staff and whole presentation of very high standard, taken telephone number so I can book for next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzeta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, Overall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I love the overall experience you receive at Leckenbys. The environment is clean and friendly with a unique decor. The waitresses can't do enough for you, always polite, friendly and efficient. The food is delicious, never anything over or under cooked. Everything is fresh and beautifully presented. My favourite thing is the side salads; fresh fruit mixed with crisp salad... gorgeous. The desserts are second to none and the lovely drinks really do make you feel like you`ve had a real treat. Full marks for Leckenbys and the lovely staff who work there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDavenp0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“De-lish!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a lovely little tearoom, how come we didn't know this little gem was here?

We visited at lunchtime today and found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very efficient.
Mums wheelchair was neatly tucked away whilst we enjoyed our food.
The menu has a good selection and (take this tip) buy the Slatterys cakes to take away (we were too full to eat them there and then)...
We will be returning very soon, so go see for yourself!
Thank you to all staff :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leckenby's also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Whitefield, Bury
Ramsbottom, Bury
 

Been to Leckenby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing