We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricing Structure”

Katsouris Delicatessen
Ranked #214 of 365 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricing Structure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decided to buy some black puddings from here as they were priced up at "£4.40kg (eqv. 90p each)". The other stalls were charging £4.99kg.

Bought 8 units, but they were not weighed and was simply charged £7.20 (8 x 90p).

When I got home, I weighed the puddings and they weighed 1461gms.

This weight at £4.40 per kilo should have cost £6.42.
I had paid the equivalent of £4.93 per kg.

It is only because I live 60 miles away, that I didn't go back to vent my anger.

Have eaten here before and have never been disappointed, even on busy days, very polite staff and food excellent, but this incidences like this REALLY annoy me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unsilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    23
    18
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Utter chaos ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited for breakfast there at 8.30 am 3 of us ordered 3 breakfast sandwiches and 3 latte no one seemed to know what to do took 15 min to get the coffees which were not that nice as very bitter sandwiches were fine the chap behind me asked what was take so long when the person in charge went bananas at him calling the customer moody and did he get out bed wrong side was awful the chap then ask money back and left .... Stay clear on busy days as they can't cope

Helpful?
Thank ebeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Worth a visit but may be on a week day rather than a busy Saturday. Lots of variety, excellent food and coffee and cakes, lovely! Meze well worth a try, can get one to share. Something needs to be done about the organisation, staff work very hard but don't seem to get anywhere, organised chaos which makes me feel a little stress when trying to get served and all the staff are shouting over each other! I would reiterate at this point that it is worth a visit though, but choose your time carefully, great food and good portions. Restaurant and shop in Manchester also very good, seems to be a bit more organised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fawlty Toweres”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great wether your eating in our using the deli . The thing with this place is it's organised caos! Give yourself plenty of time as service can be erattic especially on market days . However once served its quiet good to sit down with great food and coffee then watch the caos unfold whilst listening to the owner barking at his staff .

In all fairness the food is great I have lunch here three days a week and always enjoy it , if it's your first visit try it on a non market day .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bury-c&r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chaos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been several times. Good food at great price. Never a long wait and pleasant staff. Until now. The deli has been extended but the systems don't seem able to cope. Saturday 14th september was market day and I waited 10 minutes to have my order taken and a further 25 minutes before I had to collar a member of staff to chase my order. This duly arrived a couple of minutes later, luke warm and not as nice (quality) as usual. The food had been sitting, forgotten until I sent the girl to find it. At the moment it is chaos and the owner really needs to get his act together. Katsouris has a reputation for good food, good price and good service. This will be lost if he doesn't sort out service. It's ok to expand but you will loose business if you don't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsouris Delicatessen also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Katsouris Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing