We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

The East Lancashire Railway
Ranked #1 of 2 Transportation in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in Bury, just 30 minutes from Manchester City Centre, is the award-winning East Lancashire Railway. A heritage railway that runs steam and diesel train services through the beautiful Pennine Lancashire scenery. There are plenty of things to see and do and stations are well equipped for group visits with cafes, pubs, gift shops and a dedicated Transport Museum, housing vintage vehicles, transport memorabilia and interactive exhibits. Guided tours and talks are also available. The railway also has some fantastic events scheduled throughout the year from guided Rail Ale Trail tours of some of the excellent local drinking spots to the nostalgia of their award winning 1940's weekend. Looking for something a little different? Why not indulge in a luxury steam train hauled dining experience on board Orient Express style carriages, learn to drive a train or get snap happy with a Photography Course?
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I had Sunday lunch on the train as a birthday treat for him. We have had lunch on several steam trains in the past and this was definitely one of the best. The food was excellent, the staff very smartly dressed and very polite and helpful. The carriages were immaculate and very clean with beautiful white linen. There was a glass of sparkling wine on the table and children got a glass of orange. The alcoholic drinks were reasonably priced and of good quality and served with finesse. The journey was approx 2.5 hours and went through the Irwell valley. The station is well kept and very clean and the station staff were very helpful. All in all a very pleasant afternoon and would certainly do it again.

Thank D1788SJpaulined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at The East Lancashire Railway, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Pauline, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves in providing a quality service to our customers and take great care in making sure the smallest of detail is of the highest quality. A reflection on your review that makes us proud to offer the service we do. Thank you and hopefully see you in the not to distant future. Keep your eye out for our new 2014 brochure or alternatively contact the office on 0161 764 7790 and ask to be mailed a copy as soon as it is out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying scotsman"
in 106 reviews
"steam engine"
in 59 reviews
"murder mystery"
in 34 reviews
"east lancashire railway"
in 112 reviews
"thomas the tank engine"
in 36 reviews
"bury station"
in 65 reviews
"trackside bar"
in 31 reviews
"santa express"
in 44 reviews
"transport museum"
in 104 reviews
"city of wells"
in 24 reviews
"footplate experience"
in 20 reviews
"return journey"
in 22 reviews
"brass band"
in 38 reviews
"diesel train"
in 20 reviews
"dining experience"
in 34 reviews
"santa train"
in 20 reviews
"bolton street"
in 25 reviews
Filter

1,491 - 1,495 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Took my elderly parents in law on this steam train as a bday present yesterday and was so pleasantly surprised with it. I had bought a voucher for it and didnt expect a huge amount but the pullman carriages are really nice, the seats are large with plenty of room and spacious. You had a glass of a bellini like drink on arrival at the table and the quality of the food was really good. To be honest, i cant really fault it other than for the first course you drive to the next station, park up and put the engine on the front and then move into the other direction. The first bit of the journey is nothing to look at as you are passing caravan parks and car lots but after that the scenery becomes really pretty and they give you greqt value for money by taking you on a nice long ride.

the staff could not have been more friendly and efficient and even the staff on the platforms were fantastic helping my elderly mother in law with a ramp to get on and off. lovely day and will definately do it again as great value for money.

Thank Lotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at The East Lancashire Railway, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words Lotster. Your feedback and comments are valuable to us so we can continue to improve our service we offer. I am glad your day out exceeded your expectations and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Keep your eye out on our website as our exciting new 2014 brochure will be out very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The smell of steam filled the air as we arrived at Bury station. The 'Duchess of Sutherland' was visiting and was quite a sight to see.We spent the day going backwards and forwards along the beautiful Irwell Valley from Rawtenstall to Heywood.
There are toilet facilities available and the station buffet at Bury is particularly welcoming, as is the Trackside Pub which is small but perfectly formed and serves a decent pint.
The admission price today was a bit steep (£26 for an adult) but it did allow unlimited rides. It is a pity that concessions means OAPs and not teenagers over 15 still in full time education, as many places now do special rates for that age band.
We didn't get the opportunity to visit the Transport Museum in Bury on this occasion or to see the old buses which were there.
Parking was available next to the station (£3 all day) however this filled very quickly. There is other on street pay at the meter parking and a couple of other car parks within walking distance.
The ELR is certainly a great place to visit especially if you have train enthusiasts in your group. When there are special events you will often find that they have arranged for visiting locos not normally there. Our son always enjoys himself when he visits and finds the staff to be an informative, helpful bunch. He often gets the opportunity to cab the engines and looks forward to the day he can do a driver experience.

Thank WiganAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Brilliant afternoon, Had time to wander round the platforms before boarding train. lots of photo opportunities. platforms laid out 40/50's style. lovely train ride up the Irwell valley to Rawtenstall whilst lovely cream tea served (unlimited tea or coffee)

1  Thank rugbyleaguefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently dined on the ELR diesel diner which proved an excellent experience. The food was great, staff lovely and the atmosphere fun.

Thank BRDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELR-Dining-Manager, Manager at The East Lancashire Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks Dave for your response. Five more diesel diners booked in for 2014. Keep your eye on our website, on sale soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East Lancashire Railway also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The East Lancashire Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing