We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel but..............................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we have stayed at the bury premier inn 2/3 times in the past 6 months, and very nice it is too. the staff are fantastic either on the front desk, bar or resaturant. im not too sure about the price of breakfast though, i know its " Eat as much as you want" but most people wont go for seconds except a certain type!, as for my partner she only has cornflakes, orange juice and a cup of tea so maybe a little too exspensive. However The biggest problem by far is the fact Nobody can find it, im from bury and the amount of times i have been stopped on knowsley street and been asked where it is, there aint much of a sign on that street that you can see, the multi car park people look for is from ground level Down not Up so they seem to miss the hotel and look for the multi story carpark as in a block going skywards then miss the little sign on the side. You cant see any sign from knowsley street as the hotel is too far back from the road and the only other sign is at the top of the building on the end of the hotel facing the by-pass and you cant see that as its between 2 other buildings and set back from the road so you miss it driving to the trafic lights then you end up driving round the town hall for 20mins ( as my partner did as well ) untill you ask somebody or get out an have a walk round looking for the place.................... both me and my partner did mention this at the time, i mean will bury council not let them put a propper sign incase it spoils the looks of the area??. apart from that the place is nice..... shame about the signage.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi neil s, Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback. I’m delighted to hear that the team provided you with fantastic service. We are currently working on signage in the area as we are aware of the ongoing issue with our location, being set back from the main road does make Premier Inn Bury a bit of a hidden gem.
Our breakfast, as you mentioned, is an all you can eat buffet. If like myself you prefer a continental option in the mornings we have this available at a reasonable £5.25.
Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights so i was able to really see how the place worked.

The hotel itself is very nice with a modern contemporary design it certainly stands out.
The location is pretty central to Bury, you can walk to the town in 10 mins and has an underground car park.

The rooms are very nice, big spacious and clean, you certainly get what you pay for.

Breakfast is very good, everything you need although i did find it odd you are not given a small jug for some milk, instead you have to use a huge container to try and pour some milk into a cup of tea/coffee. When i asked the waitress she simply said they don't have a small jug even though when you ask for a tea in the evening you are given one!

Unfortunately what lets the hotel down is the service. I wouldn't recommend staying for dinner. The food is microwaved. My colleague had the ribs which he couldn't eat as they were overcooked and chewy. A colleague of mine stayed there a few weeks prior and had the ribs and fell ill all night, so i would be very cautious when ordering this again. The waiter & waitress on the night didn't really care and no apology was given. For the remaining three nights we ate in Bury which has some lovely restaurants, i would recommend a Thai restaurant called Pums near the cinema which is cheap and one of the best Thai restaurants i have eaten in.

Also as the week went on there was a really bad smell of rotting rubbish by the elevator that lingered for days.

All in all this hotel has the potential to be really really nice, the staff just need to pay more attention to the details that make a hotel stand out. At the current rate it is slowly going downhill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

stayed here twice now ,very helpful and friendly staff, just out of earshot of town centre but not too far from anything, two minutes from the tram into Manchester and very close to famous Bury market......mmmmmm black puddings don't have a problem going back to this hotel, car park is handy and safe

Room Tip: not had a problem with any rooms ive stayed in
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billywhiz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Billywhizz47, Thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned we are a stones throw from Bury market which has many delights, although it’s the world famous Bury black pudding that draws the crowds in.
Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Been staying in Premier Inns for the past 20 years and this is one of the best !! fantastic position for public transport into Manchester and elsewhere, right next to public car park with discount for PI customers,very funky hotel architecture, love it !!! great staff, always good bedrooms and comfortable public rooms. Would return. Would recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fizzengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Hi Fizzengland, thank you for taking the time to leave your delightful feedback. I'm delighted to hear that throughout the hotel we appear to be meeting your expectations, if not exceeding them. As you mentioned Premier Inn Bury is quite an unusual building although defiantly a sight to see.

Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Always use premier inn wherever possible and have never been disapointed . the Bury one is the best we have stayed in . Lovley resturant and bar area. comfortable area where you can sit and have a Costa .Easy self check in. Rooms as you would expect very comfortable.The staff were all pleasent and very helpfull.The metro link runs alongside the hotel but you dont hear it .Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi Susan H, Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious Costa Express area. I’m pleased that we will be welcoming you back…. Hopefully soon.
Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our 1st experience of staying at a Premier Inn and have to say that it was faultless!
From the minute that I booked online, the hotel was in constant touch to confirm that everything was in order and that we knew exactly how to reach their car park. The day before check in I received a courtesy phone call too!

The hotel was spotless and I had 2 of the best night’s sleep away from home. Cannot fault this hotel or its staff at all.

I will certainly use this hotel chain in the future and will visit the Bury hotel the next time we are in Manchester.

Room Tip: The Tram station is right at the hotel. The double glazing is superb though. Our room was facing a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaznyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi ShaznyC, Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback. I’m delighted that you received your courtesy call. We do always stay in touch to ensure that your reservation is handled as smoothly as possible. I’m happy that you had a good night’s sleep which, as you probably know, we guarantee. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this is one of the best premier inns I have ever stayed in. You genuinely feel like you are in a private hotel rather than a big chain. Hotel and restaurant was lovely and staff Especially Janet who went over and above what she needed to do and we did have a complicated room requests ie two with connecting doors. Janet handled it seamless even when we didnt think it wasn't complicated and even Even when her colleague didn't really seem to get it..... stay was first class and would ensure that if I stayed anyway close I would go back. Janet needs a commendation.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi Tracy372, Thank you for leaving your feedback. I have passed this straight onto Janet who I’m sure will be very happy to read it. I’m glad to hear that Premier Inn Bury met your expectations.
Many thanks
Sarah Mcintosh
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bury hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.4 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
500 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel

Address: 5 Knowsley Place | Knowsley Street, Bury BL9 0SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bury
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bury Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. All rooms are on En-suite with tea & Coffee making facilities, with family rooms and Disabled Access rooms also available. Breakfast is All You Can Eat for just £7.99, and kids eat free when an adult purchases the breakfast. Bury Premier Inn is situated in the town centre right at the side of the main Metrolink which offers fantastic access to Manchester City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel Bury
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing