We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times”
Review of Automatic Cafe

Automatic Cafe
Ranked #18 of 377 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great times”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here, black pudding salad, with in house chips, it really hit the spot, :) my wife had a chicken salad, a lovely glass of vine, and a very nice German beer for me, very well set out restaurant, will be back soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Digger1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    155
    57
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nice meal, not too expensive, bistro style in the centre fofBury. Very busy even though it was early evening on a Wednesday,which made it a little cramped, but overall OK I would go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cazatome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The menu has a great selection of really tasty food. Great choice for veggies too. Staff are very helpful and eager to please but not over the top. The only problem is once you've had your first course it's difficult to attract anyone's attention to clear your table so you can order a dessert or another drink, you generally have to shout really loud to catch the attention of a passing waiter.

The place is very nicely done out too and they do a good deal on afternoon teas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always the Best Place in Town to Eat and Drink”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I go to @utomatic at least 2 x per week and love it for its ambiance, very helpful and friendly staff who always make you feel welcome, and for the fantastic food they do. The place is quite trendy looking but it attracts all ages from younger couples and groups, as well as older people. There is a cocktail bar up front, and also a real-ale and whisky bar in a connecting room. Their food is really good quality, far better than you would expect in such an establishment which has so many covers, although I would like it if they did more specials to vary the menu, while still keeping all of my favourites. It would also be great if you could substitute fries for salad etc. without having to pay for a separate dish (as used to be the case) as when on a diet, I do struggle! The Goat's Cheese Salad is my favourite dish, and my husband swears by the Black Pudding Salad (which comes complete with poached egg). Very Mediterranean themed place, but also some upmarket versions of traditional food. I would always recommend this place and want to run a place just like it !!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mazzer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury in Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What can I say ! Well its just a wonderful place to eat ! The food is always great. The service, second to none, first class ! and it has a wonderful atmosphere. Exactly the place to go for a special occasion or even a coffee.........you will get the same excellent service every time. A must to visit ! Well done to all the staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Automatic Cafe also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Automatic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing