We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Metro Fish Bar

Metro Fish Bar
Ranked #115 of 373 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hi

Driven past this all the time and finally popped in, I was actually listening to "I'm a working man from Lancashire and I want a chippy tea"

Certainly didn't disappoint! Huge portions!

Fish was a little bit greasy but I was satisfied...

I would recommended this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    61
    22
    35
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class fish and chips”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped off here on our way home with my wife and father in law after a days driving in the Peak District. My father in law had been a few tines before and had recommended we try it.
It is cafeteria style, rather than a restaurant, but was quite busy for a Sunday tea time so it is obviously popular. The service was very efficient and our fish and chips were piping hot when they arrived, which is always a good thing. The fish was of a really good quality and the chips were real proper chips and not soggy. I had the "giant" size, which at £10.95, was not the cheapest but it certainly lived up to its giant description, it really was a good size so represented great value for money. This place is well worth the visit if you are in the area and like good fish and chips. The interior is a bit basic but the food and the service more than make up for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Meal again!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having visited the Metro Fish Bar a few more times and might i add it is now a regular visit there i have found the food to be of an excellent quality with fantastic service from the Staff.
Sadly i have learned one of the staff members has left the establishment but the new addition is just as bubbly and serves with extremly good service!
I highly recomend the Fish Bar to everyone and for the service and reasonably priced food you can not go wrong! So! what are you waiting for! Give it a try and you will find yourselves going back again as i do. ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gourmet fish and chips at Metro in Bury!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great fish and chips here. Batter is light and crispy, chips delicious on their own! mushy peas and curry sauce plentiful and tasty. Friendly staff, good clean modern restaurant. Half portions are available which is a plus if you are light eater. If you love great fish and chops this is the place! I seek this place out every time I visit Bury.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What's wrong?”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Food is good as ever, but the two ladies waiting on must have had a personality bypass. Almost hostile attitude. One of our party did not get his food until writer went to the desk to ask where it was, also the mushy peas.

If the service slips to the extent to the extent of the previous owners, there will be no future for this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Digglegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Metro Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing