We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Metro Fish Bar

Metro Fish Bar
Ranked #115 of 373 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Two of us went early on a recent Saturday evening. Cheerful greeting by the young waitress. We ordered two Metro Minis one with their excellent chips, the other with a generous fresh salad. Nothing to fault, a good honest meal at a moderate price. Keep up the standard!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Digglegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    61
    22
    35
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited the metro on Saturday with my partner, on arrival we was greeted by a very welcoming member of staff. We went straight to the mains and ordered two of the metro fish, chips and peas, which I must add by the way was fantastic, the portion size was perfect and the chips were to die for! Will definitely be revisiting the metro in the near future! Well done metro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annnneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Take it away...!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

There are some mixed reviews of this place I noticed from the sublime to the ridiculous so... after wondering where to eat out after 6pm around Bury we opted to call at this place for the first time... the car park has been designed by Stevie Wonder and it's a free-for-all trying to manoeuvre in and out BUT... the food... we can only be honest and say the chips were perfectly cooked and hot, the sausages are delicious and the spicy curry and the gravy are spot-on, the (Polish?) guy who served us was really polite and had a big smile, we were going to eat in but having looked at the menu we noticed that a lot of the food you can take away for £3-£4 would cost you double if you sat in so we opted for a take away... we would like to try eating in here one night and try the specials on the board which sound really good, sea bass springs to mind. All in all this is a posh café/diner which harks back to the 50's in some way owing to the decoration. We had a great nosh-up thanks guys.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There are better fish & chip shops!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Metro has changed hands quite a few times within the last number of years. This has resulted in a decline in the standard of food. Where once this was a cracking little fish and chip shop - it is no longer. The fish is greasy, the chips soggy and the service needs a great deal of work. On a recent visit- we ate in. Despite ordering curry sauce to be served in a side bowl (to dip chips in) the main course was awash with sauce- totally ruined! The waiter was less than helpful. The glasses were also not clean and the tables looked as if they could do with a good scrub. It was also very over priced for poor quality food.This is a great pity as it's location is good with easy parking. We would look elsewhere now.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Rubbish take-away”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place may be good to sit in and eat but picked fish and chips up on the way home yesterday and they were terrible....tasted like they had been cooked hours before and had been kept warm....wont be going there again in a hurry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderwoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Metro Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing