We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good.”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #141 of 377 Restaurants in Bury
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not very good.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

4 People went 19-10-13, Cold and chipped plate's very bland food main course come at different times, 2 of our table had pizza's burnt on the outside and raw and cold in the middle! My starter was baby squid cold with a hot sauce over it, not nice! My fillet steak was very nice, the side plate of veg cold. My wife's starter was king prawns, plate cold and chipped, main course my wife had the risotto for the main course and asked for no mushrooms but found fragments of mushrooms and tasted of mushrooms. Sat at a 4 table near the window staff going outside for a cig coming straight back in not washing there hands then carrying on serving, and leaning over you stinking of fags. Won't be going back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 63jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    20
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bideford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“family get together”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent a memorable evening, food was excellent, great choices, friendly attentive staff, just sorry we missed the Michael Buble tribute night! the night before

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenniw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I really can't understand the routinely highmarks this place gets. I've been to this restaurant on four occasions and have never had close to a memorable meal. They just serve the bog standard Italian fayrethat is so outdated. I could and should be so much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hi Life Card”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked a table for 7, confirmed I had two Hi-life Cards, accepted and agreed by restaurant. Came to pay the bill of nearly £250, and would only give me a discount on 1 Hi-Life card. Contacted Hi-Life, who kindly refunded my three courses the restaurant should have done. My first and possibly last Trip Advisor review. Beware!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m_oneill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Friendly, excellent and relaxing :)”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Saturday. Restaurant was almost full.luckily we booked. Greeted by friendly manager. All staff were lovely.clean,bright and relaxing atmosphere. Staff happy and joking with each other. Made us feel welcome. Food gorgeous and reasonable prices. Garlic mushrooms were nicest I have ever had. We were both pleased with our choices ... Good sized portions and full of flavour. Already talking about returning. Plenty of parking in car park and off road.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moaningmadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

 
Whitefield, Bury
Whitefield, Bury
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing