We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - The best Sunday lunch in Bury by far”
Review of The Lord Raglan

The Lord Raglan
Ranked #167 of 377 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow - The best Sunday lunch in Bury by far”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Absolutely fabulous. Brilliant quality food, excellent selection of real ales (it brews its own), great foreign specialty fruit beer on tap, and in a genuinely traditional building.

We had the lamp shoulders, and were very impressed with the quality and also the quantity. The red cabbage was braised in apple (we had to ask), and the veg were cooked perfectly. The lamb shoulder is by far the best in the area by a very comfortable margin.

There is very little if anything to fault with the place, I just wish we lived next door to it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank trystand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    28
    11
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Five of us went Sunday Lunchtime, there was a good choice of meals available.We all chose different meals and all were excelent.One of our party had the mixed grill and Ican honestly say I've never seen such a large plate of food, he did it justice though ate every bit, had no room for desert though. It was a good day out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VivienG340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real ale and Good food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This pub serves real ale from its own brewery and choice of menu is excellent
You reach the pub/restaurant by a long cobbled road passing through lovely countryside with great views from the road as you walk along accross to holcombe Hill and Peel Tower
The walk is well worth the effort as the food is really good
Try the Steaks they are cooked to perfection and the Salmon is great
Every so often there is a beer festival with other small breweries

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have visited this place quite a few times and find the atmosphere really good. As good in summer as it is in winter with a big roaring fire in the grate!! Excellent food with great choice. Take your camera as the views from here are breathtaking!! You will not be dissapointed. We never are!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank calliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“May have a good ale range but don't bother with food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We tried this place out on recommendation of friends as my husband loves real ales.
Bit of a disappointing experience really. The barman (assuming he's the landlord) has no interest in customer service whatsoever. My husband wanted some advice on what to try but didn't get it and only got served half a pint - the rest was head!
It's a bizarre place - the setting is great (once you've negotiated the cobbles in your car, be prepared for a bumpy ride) and has the potential to be great but the inside is a bit 70s and really dark. The beer garden out back is a bit rubbish and no effort has been put in.
We ordered food - next to zero choice for vegetarians I'm afraid. I had to go with the ubiquitos vegetable lasgne which was pretty dire when it arrived and I could only eat about half of it. My husbands burger and chips was ok but nothing special. I wouldn't ever eat here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Raglan also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Lord Raglan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing