We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job for a mid week treat.”

China Rose Restaurant
Ranked #85 of 387 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just the job for a mid week treat.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really nice welcoming experience. Friendly service, good pace of courses not too quick and not too slow. Excellent specials menu washed down with a palatable merlot. As a mid week treat it was just the ticket, though quiet and therefore lacking the buzz of a weekend it was nevertheless an enjoyable evening. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food friendly staff”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Man Yuen on a Wednesday evening and chose from the '3 courses for £11.50' menu. The food was tasty (best chicken & sweetcorn soup we've ever had), fresh and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.
Don't be put off by the location (above a convenience shop), Man Yuen is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leeluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Chinese this side of Bury”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been to the Man Yuen restaurant numerous times and always had an excellent meal. The food is always of a high standard, although the staff attitudes vary which stops this restaurant getting an excellent all round. well worth a try, prices around average, decor good and pleasant feel to the place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice...but expensive!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went to the Man Yuen a couple of months ago and here's what I recall...

Nice Food
Great Service
Lovely Place
Annoying Music
...but expensive!
Definitely recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having been to nearly every Chinese in Manchester this has to be the best and whats more we can walk to it, nothing is too much trouble and the choice is excellent, ask about specials not on the menu and you wont be disappointed, we have celebrated many birthdays and fathers days there, I even took my friend from Hong Kong who was suitably impressed, give it a try

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Rose Restaurant also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to China Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing