We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend the pear juice”
Review of Clive's Fruit Farm

Clive's Fruit Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family run fruit farm nestled between the Malvern Hills and the River Severn just outside the picturesque town of Upton-upon-Severn. Mr Clive started the fruit growing business in 1917, his son Felix introduced PYO after returning from WW2 and the current owner Charlie took the reins in the 1990s. Since Charlie took over the farm has planted different fruit, extended the farm shop, introudced a juicing plant as well as turning an old pig pen into a children's nursery (run by his wife Jane). We have a farm shop, butchery, café, children's play area, feed the animals, PYO (June-Nov) as well as markets at various points in the year
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend the pear juice”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were served fresh juice from Clive's during our stay at Gilbert's End farm. The pear juice is amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    7
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“clives”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

this well worth a look at a good farm shop and place to have cup tea and slice of cake.
good parking and good play area for kids

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN55560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fly's Fly's Everywhere”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were passing and decided to go and get some diced lamb for dinner. We went into the shop, and to the butchery, but found the Butcher sitting out the back smoking and his chopping block and knives covered with fly's, didn't seem to have an incectorcuter, which is a must as just outside there is an array of animals, pig's, chicken's, peahen.

This isn't our first visit, but it has not improved, which is such a shame

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive's Fruit F, General Manager at Clive's Fruit Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Dawn
I am sorry you found too many flies at our establishment. As I am sure you are aware we have had a hot summer so flies have been an issue for everyone. We do have an insectocuter (located to the right of the display fridge) which is permanently on. We are unable to use fly spray as this may contaminate the meat.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good fruit, not so good service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited Clive's Fruit Farm today. Enjoyed picking fruit in the orchard; apples, pears, plums etc and we came away with lots of great examples of local fruits. However, we had to wait about 45 minutes for our food, which, wasn't ideal when you have small kids. Staff in the cafe were a little bit stressed it seemed and this was communicated back to me when I was told by one caterer 'I'm doing the best I can' after asking politely how much longer our food would be.

Would visit again but would be to pick fruit only.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dtr_1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive's Fruit F, General Manager at Clive's Fruit Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the fruit which you picked. I am sorry for the huge delay you had waiting for your food. The coffee shop is an area of the business in which we are hoping to invest/change for next season as we realise that in terms of space vs cusomer volume, we are at something of a saturation point. 45mins is far too long to wait so i do apologise (especially with children) and the member of staff in question should have handled the situation better

We hope to see you again for the apples and pears
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect adventure”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very pleasant place. Friendly welcoming staff. Lots to do for the children. Fresh fruits to handpick. Clean surroundings. Natural beauty. What more can one ask for? Highly recommend. I'm a local so I'm lucky. Worth travelling miles for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Food72king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clive's Fruit Farm also viewed

Honeybourne, Worcestershire
Great Witley, Malvern Hills
 
Upton upon Severn, Malvern Hills
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
 

Been to Clive's Fruit Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing