We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A gem of a hotel"”
Review of White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“"A gem of a hotel"”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Our family group of six people ranged in age from eighteen to seventy nine including my mother who has mobility difficulties and uses a walking stick/walker and my son who uses a wheelchair. We chose the hotel because it offered two courtyard cottages, one which offered ideal ground floor double-bedded accommodation for my Mum and the other which had wonderful ground floor twin-bedded disabled access and disabled toilet/shower room for my son. These two cottages had adjoining internal doors which were unlocked by staff upon our arrival so that we could socialise etc. A further two of my sons (ages 18 & 23) had a twin-bedded room in the main part of the hotel. The hotel is centrally positioned within the charming town of Upton-Upon-Severn and is very convenient for the river, marina and Pepperpot Tower etc. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly, polite member of staff who showed us to our rooms and then arranged convenient parking for our large wheelchair accessible vehicle. The rooms were clean, comfortable & well furnished. We had a very pleasant evening meal served by an attentive waitress. The following morning after a good night's sleep we were cheerily greeted by the hotel owner Chris, who enquired about our night and then served us with a wonderful breakfast in the oak-beamed Pepperpot Brasserie Restaurant. Anyone interested in history will enjoy the story of this hotel and marvel at how this gem has stood with such dignity and elegance through the centuries. I can't fault the attention we received and the addition of such clever courtyard cottages was a real bonus for our complicated family. We would definitely visit again. Thank you to all the staff for making our visit so successful and pleasant. Keep up the good work.

(The Toomey Family from Swansea)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonToomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    43
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
49
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sudbury, suffolk, uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Don't be put off by the seemingly tatty and tired look of this hotel on entry although it could do with a lick of paint. The bar , which serves excellent beers especially real ales is packed with friendly locals, and is very comfortable. The food is superb, the chef is excellent. Our evening meal was one meals I have ever had and the breakfast the next day was excellent too. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed . The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the whole stay was excellent and cost just £158.00for 2 on a Saturday night with drink included . The town itself although lovely, did have a noticeable Saturday night minor 'yob problem' though , but if you accept that this is just the way things are now, it should not detract.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

very helpful pleasant staff. everything i asked for was provided - morning paper, call etc. comfortable, clean room and bathroom with everything needed. Hard to pin down what made this such an utterly delightful place to stay, just seemed to be everything put together. Evening meal great, breakfast a bit disappointing, fresh fruit or fresh juices would have been good. I was very tired and slept like a log. Would definitely recommend this and would go back anytime. Parking a bit difficult but used the car park of the next door place, and that seemed to be ok.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucybodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The White Lion hotel is situated right in the centre of the picturesque town of Upton Upon Severn. It has an eyecatching exterior complete with huge pillars and stone lion above the door. The entrance and bar area are very cosy and the decor in the restaurant/breakfast room was really stylish too.

My room was clean, well kept and of an adequate size, but the decor was heavily patterned and rather dated. A large wall mounted widescreen TV made up for that though :O) By comparison, the bathroom had been recently refurbished with attractive modern wall tiles, flooring and mirror but the metal framed windows were still in place. The only disappointment with the room was that my window catch was broken and the window wouldn't close completely. This was particularly annoying as my room was located at the back of the hotel near to the kitchen and my sleep was disturbed by the noise from the freezer's compressor that switched on about every 30 minutes throughout the night.

Breakfast was definitely worth writing home about! The food and service were nothing short of exceptional. A special mention also has to be made for the staff were very friendly and helpful.

In summary, this is a very nice hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - I'd just ask for a room away from the kitchen.

  • Liked — The food and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — The broken window catch and the unfortunate noise from the hotel compressor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Booked and paid over the holel website and received confirmation immediately. Our room was on the first floor and was very comfortable, flat screen television with several channels available, Shower, bath and hand held shower and toiletries and soft towels provided. A meal in the brasserie in the evening was superb, a selection of dishes that take the menu out of the ordinary run of the mill found in so many eateries and pubs these days. Beautifully served, it was a meal to be savoured and remembered. The only down spot was I fell down the stair on the landing, I would think the few steps there should be marked in these days of health and safety! But that certainly didn't mar our enjoyment of our night there.

  • Liked — room and meal
  • Disliked — One Step!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dragonara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Only a 1 night stay thank goodness. Check in staff very abrupt. We were given a disabled room in the annex, next to smoking area. Room and bathroom very dark (light bulbs minimum wattage) and dismal. Bathroom dirty. Couldn't work shower and the abrupt man at reception was obviously put out when asked to explain - treated us like fools. Had made table reservation for 6 people and when informed same man that we might be 15 minutes late (due to not being able to work shower!), more tutting and told that this would not be agreeable to the hotel - don't know why, as restaurant was far from full. Food ok, nothing special. Very depressing experience overall.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and rude service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We highly recommend this hotel, the rooms are very comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very helpful.We can't wait to go back for another stay.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rogglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,138 reviews
6.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Hotel

Property: White Lion Hotel
Address: 21 High Street, Upton upon Severn WR8 0HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lion Hotel, Upton Upon Severn, Worcestershire. Dating from 1510 the hotel offers award winning cuisine, bed and breakfast and comfortable accommodation in the heart of this lovely riverside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Hotel Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing