We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and lovely old hotel with plenty of character”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and lovely old hotel with plenty of character”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed here as we were attending the Sunshine Festival in Upton upon Severn and my husband has now decided that he is too old for camping. We had a lovely room with a riverside view and we could not find any fault with anything. The breakfast was lovely and we appreciated the fact that we could eat between 9 and 10 o'clock which gave us some time to recover from the night before! We also liked the fact that we did not have to leave the room until 11 o'clock in the morning. We did not have any problem with parking as we unloaded whilst in the unloading bay but then we were able to park our car on the camp site as we had combined camping and festival tickets so that we could see our camping friends. If you book this type of ticket early enough you can save a load of money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48LindaCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
82
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

first time we have stayed here. very friendly staff and owners, had a lovely bar snack in the evening, lovely outside seating area. room was lovely and very dog friendly, good value for money, will stay again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Really fab place to get a drink or snack (over festivals in particular) it's beautiful out in the sun and creates a lovely atmosphere. The drinks are ever so slightly more expensive than other local pubs but the bar snacks are very reasonable. A bowl of chips from here is I think £2.20 and its a huge portion! One would definitely do 2 hungry children or 2 peckish adults. Overall a great pub. Especially in season!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edwardpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

we were a party of four, arrived by narrow boat and moored up at the hotel mooring, we were made very welcome by the bar staff and had a very good moderately priced lunch and enjoyed a good selection of beers . we would come here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived at about 7.30pm on a Sunday evening we were expecting to eat at the hotel but were told that they do not serve food on a Sunday evening which was a bit disappointing. I asked the girl behind the bar where we could park and was told that there is'nt any and then a local piped up you just have to suck it and see, the landlord finally moved his car so we could park. Other than that nice Hotel good spot very pretty. No shower in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower as the room we had did'nt have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Lovely clean room, comfy bed, well cooked breakfast, however, no warm welcome from the hosts. This hotel does not have a car park, and we were advised on arrival that there was on-street parking, there wasn't. However, parked in a car park 3 streets away, paid, and had to carry case and clothes on hangers through the street.
The response was ' we never said there was a car park' they did not say there wasn't either. We felt the owners could have handled the situation better, have a cup of tea, etc. Instead they were very defensive, close to hostile, which meant the hardly spoke to us at all. Not professional, however the felt, there are differences in people, and all should be treated the same, I would have thought. I will accept we were not happy on our arrival. My husband had an op on his leg last week, so this compounded our difficulty and disappointment. Think the problem was that two girls on reception could have told us to pull up and unload outside the hotel. This is the first poor review I have put on Trip Advisor, and it saddens me.

Room Tip: River view really good in room 3, two windows and sash cords so can be fully opened to view the Seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen392013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
I am sorry to hear you felt my husband and I were 'close to hostile' towards you. However, had you given us the chance to speak before being verbally aggressive towards us then the situation, I know, would never have arisen. You had the opportunity to unload your luggage in the Loading Bay situated outside the main front entrance and there were parking spaces available at the time you checked in.
Our hotel is situated in a superb riverside location and unfortunately the price we have to pay for this beauty is no private parking. We do try to accommodate our guests as best we can and will move our own vehicle if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
532 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have visited The Swan on and off over the last 40 years. It has always been a pretty pub by the river and reliable for a drink and a bite to eat in pleasant surroundings. My latest visit was a bit disappointing.

This pub used to be flooded regularly. When I visited this time a wall had been built and flood prevention measures were in place. These obstructed the previously good view of the river. Of course these measures are important and I would probably not be mentioning it if the menu had been more inspiring. Scampi and chips and pie and chips were the order of the day. I had a pear and cheese salad which was fine but a little tired and looked more promising on the menu than the actual dish when it appeared.

Upton on Severn is a lovely place to visit. Strangers to the area would do well to go the the tourist information centre at The Pepperpot which sticks out a mile and is easily found by the river right in the centre of Upton.

There is nothing wrong with The Swan but there are other venues available that are equally inviting.

We visited on a hot summer day and went there to find a cool breeze. With hindsight we could have sat by the river in Worcester at The Quay and may or may not have had a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
0.1 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton upon Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Inn
The Star Inn
#2 of 5 in Upton upon Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quaint English town of Upton upon Severn, The Swan Hotel with its stunning riverside setting warmly welcomes you to take a break in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. The 17th Century building offers a tranquil retreat from 21st Century living, with cosy en-suite rooms that combine character and charm with modern day functionality. The Swan Hotel prides itself on it traditional pub cuisine and selection of cask conditioned ales. Centrally located in the Heart of England, The Swan Hotel is an ideal base for both business and pleasure with easy access to the motorway network and the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Tewkesbury all within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing