We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed a very pleasant lunchtime meal by the river here - basic dishes cooked well. Menu mainly consists of sandwiches, jacket potatoes and food such as scampi and chips, chilli, lasagne etc, with a choice of about 4 desserts e.g. apple crumble and custard. Whilst the menu's not very extensive it's more than adequate. We were pleasantly surprised at the prices and it offers good value for money. Tables outside overlooking the river for sunny days. Service friendly and efficient. Would return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahO504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Welcoming and helpful staff. Service was very prompt. Hotel is very clean and tidy, comfy bed and lovely fluffy towels. Food is very good, both the evening meal and the lovely cooked breakfast. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 365MrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Swan after a drive around that saw us in Upton on Severn, we decided to stay the night on the 'spur of the moment'. We're very glad we did!! It's a fab hotel, the room was lovely and clean, shower gel provided, soft clean towels and a comfy bed!! Breakfast is cooked fresh to order and arrives nice and hot and is so filling we haven't bothered with lunch!!! If we ever find ourselves in the area again we will stay again, I think a lot of the bigger hotels could learn a lot from the couple that run the Swan!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hot evening, by the waterside, under a shade, with good pub food, what more could you need, except a decent pint of cold beerand that is here too. It is all at the Swan, and very reasonable prices as well. Welcoming and helpful staff and prompt service. A great riverside pub. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

realising we had no kids for the night, decided after dinner on fri night to have a night away in a hotel by a river - 20 mins later we were on our way to The Swan! Met by Ralph and later met his wife, Sue. Room was very clean and comfortable and had a lovely view down the river. Despite windows being open all night due to one of the hottest night's of the year, there was no noise whatsoever from outside. Service was excellent and breakfast was great. We'll be back. Thank you. Trevor and Liz

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been here a few times recently as it's a great place to visit in good weather! Thankfully the Swan is not a gastropub.Our experience has been different to some of the reviews here.We have enjoyed good service with basic food which is served hot and fresh and offers excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A pity about the food! The chilli was quite unpleasant...gristly and fatty meat, rice acceptable, salad garnish warm and wilting. Without any doubt, the cod fillet was the thinnest we have ever seen, and was surrounded by soft, soggy batter. Chips were acceptable, and a good sized portion. In the establshment's favour, the waitress did express concern when she saw I had eaten very little chilli, and asked us whether we wished to alert the chef. We chose not to...perhaps we should have done. We shall not eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton upon Severn
5.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
5.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
5.6 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quaint English town of Upton upon Severn, The Swan Hotel with its stunning riverside setting warmly welcomes you to take a break in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. The 17th Century building offers a tranquil retreat from 21st Century living, with cosy en-suite rooms that combine character and charm with modern day functionality. The Swan Hotel prides itself on it traditional pub cuisine and selection of cask conditioned ales. Centrally located in the Heart of England, The Swan Hotel is an ideal base for both business and pleasure with easy access to the motorway network and the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Tewkesbury all within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing