We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dull”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Welcome was polite and very chirpy, rooms are adequate. Some rooms have had a semi-refurb others are very dated. I was travelling with some colleagues and all our rooms seemed to be very different. Everyone complained about the pillows and how thin they were. The bar area is dull. No atmosphere, no background music, resembled a library rather than a bar. Colleagues ate in the restaurant on one evening and said that was the same, they were the only people eating in there. Bar ran out of wine (!).... Overall just quite a dull and drab place to stay.
We ate out locally at the White Heart in Hartlebury, a mile or so up the road, food was fab and noticed other hotel guests were eating there too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that you found the hotel to be dull. As the hotel was origionally a private house and has since been extended some of the rooms vary in shape and size but are all decorated in a similar style.
We have music playing in all public areas but this plays into the meeting rooms so when we have conferences unfortunately we have to turn it off.
Whilst it is possible we had run out of a particular wine due to demand but not run out of wine in general just to keep things in perspective.
Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    287
    145
    52
    51
See reviews for
189
337
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff here are very welcoming and attentive and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. The food, both at dinner and breakfast, was varied and well prepared. However they did run out of natural yoghurt very quickly for breakfast and the portions for one dinner main course were pretty small.That aside the rest of the food was excellent. A pity it was just a little far up the hill from the town to have a wander there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I realise it's a steep hill but there is a beautiful area of common land opposite with a lovely walk and of course a pub at the end. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fantastic Hotel. Amazing restaurant and very clean throughout. Bed was comfortable and room lovely and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful and the leisure facilities were well equipped. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I'm so pleased you enjoyed everything and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went on a Travelzoo offer and was pleasantly surprised. Staff very efficient and friendly, room was lovely and clean, probably the biggest double bed I have ever slept in and very comfy mattress. Very quiet location, noise from inside and out not a problem. Excellent and well equipped gym and although did not use the pool it looked fine.
Evening meal was lovely, I would not bother with the desserts though; most are brought in frozen, breakfast not so, a bit hit and miss, with service and food.
Hotel within easy walking distance of Stourport On Seven lovely canal walk.
Yes hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there but hotel does have a bit a character about it.
My recommendations for Travelzoo offers I would be happy to pay say £99.00, (don’t sell yourself cheap), and maybe introduce a few more items on the evening menu, it would still be good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments which have been shared with the team. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the desserts and I can tell you we have changed the entire menu since your stay and I hope you will enjoy the new dishes on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had an amazing one night travelzoo deal at this Hotel. The rooms were very good. The food was very well presented and good choice. The small pool etc. was good with steam room and sauna.
An old Manor House with modern two story extention of bedrooms.

Room Tip: upper level floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We came here for October 1/2 term (and found great value for money) and chose to return in February with another family deal (less cheap, but still attractive).

I reckon this is a hotel that survives on weddings/coach parties/conferences and a few families who have spotted that bargains are to be had.

I think we'd describe ourselves as "low maintenance" guests. We know the cleaning staff would dearly love us to checkout at dawn, so we let them know what we are up to if we bump into them (or put a sign up).

So we park for free, get BT wifi for free (with a bit of effort) and get access to the Leisure Club (couple of tennis courts, gym and swimming pool - children can swim until 7pm - towels were handed out free to hotel guests). Swimming after breakfast we often found we had the pool to ourselves for most of the time.

Most of the rooms are in a 2 storey 80's extension. These are big enough to either contain a double bed plus single bed (family room) or a double bed plus sofa. 1/2 the rooms overlook the carpark, the remainder overlook parkland/tennis courts. The radiators have a temperature control valve and the windows have a guard to stop them opening more than about 20cm. the mattresses have toppers on so they were comfortable enough. The TV is tuned to Freeview (including a few radio stations). There are several sockets for charging phones etc.
We didn't notice any noise at night (but we deliberately avoided a weekend stay).

For both stays, we had a DBB option booked through Menzies. This entitled us to 3 courses (choice of about 6 items each course - a few required us to pay a supplement). The food was fine (not particularly memorable, but they need it to appeal to a broad clientele). Children have the choice of ordering from the kids menu or having smaller portions of the main. Perhaps my only criticism is that the portion sizes were massive for small children.
Our visits coincided with coach parties, so we made a point of choosing to eat early. Service did appear to get rather slow once the kitchen got busy.
Breakfasts were £11.95. There was a good mix of options here (pastries, buffet English, cured meat/cheeses) including kippers, smoked haddock etc (though they were out of kippers).

We found the staff very cheerful and friendly. We were forever having to get our keycards reformatted (they blamed our phones) so we met quite a few of them.

All in all, we had great stays (but we were paying £49/night and £59/night in the school hols).
We've still plenty of nearby places to explore so I am sure we'll return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you don't want to overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueduncBATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments further to your recent visit. I am glad you had a good stay and will return although I have taken your constructive critisism and used it as a training tool for future improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We decided to stay here as we were taking our daughter to west midlands safari park for her birthday and looking at the ratings thought it would have been a lovely hotel to stay in however, we were greeted with a rather rude receptionist who was clearly flustered with other customers to give us the friendly welcome we were expecting. We then went to our room to find our daughter's bed had not been made up and had to chase twice for this to be done. We went to the pool which was freezing and then got a knock at the door the next morning from room service at 9am asking if they could clean our room, our check out time was 11am. I have never commented on here before but I felt the need after a somewhat disappointing hotel stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I cannot apologise enough regarding the receptionist on duty this is inexcusable and I am so sorry you didn't get a warm welcome. We have been experiencing some issues with children's bed requests not coming through on the booking form so again I apologise if this was the case.
Our swimming pool is kept at a minimum temperature of 30 degrees and I'm not sure this could be considered cold and we have had no issues with temperature.
I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport on Severn
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
459 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport on Severn DY13 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport on Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport on Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport On Severn, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing