We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Alfreton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just getting better”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've just returned from our second weekend break here, the 1st one being in September 2013.

On our previous visit we were happy with the overall experience although it seemed the hotel was going through a bit of a transitional period, but had no problems and had looked forward to returning.

This time round we saw considerable improvements especially with the staff in the dining/ breakfast area. Everyone we came across there were very polite, confident and helpful & all worked together really we'll as a team. Service was excellent & the food was so close to matching that.

Must also mention reception staff were also superb, not just at check in/out but also just when you were passing or asking for any information & housekeeping also need a big up as they also did an excellent job.

All in all we think really good things are happening at Stourport Manor & we very much look forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your great comments, we all definately look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    287
    145
    52
    51
See reviews for
189
338
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from a three night New Year break at Stourport Manor. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Afternoon tea and fizz upon arrival and cases taken to our rooms. Bedrooms comfortable and quiet, food excellent and the staff incredibly efficient, attentive and caring. New Year's Eve was a very special event with a champagne and canapé reception to start followed by a superb 5 course dinner held in a room which was beautifully decorated for the occasion. The hotel manageress (Angie?) was always on hand to deal with any problems. Who cares about the bad weather? It mattered not.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWNWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I'm so please you enjoyed spending New Year with us, the atmosphere was great and I think we all enjoyed it as much as you and Angie was thrilled to get a mention on your post. You are right, it's a shame the weather was so bad but hopefully means a good summer to follow? Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Room was excellent. Staff extremely helpful could do with a little bit more training but this was more than compensated for by their genuine interest in looking after guests. Dinner very good (vegetarian choice unexpectedly good)and best of all great coffee. Highly recommend this hotel particularly as a base for trips out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

huge room. V good staff. Great walk on the moor outside the front entrance.

Poor dinner - avoid the meal deal - DBB. The quality of food was poor & food over cooked.

Highly recommended hotel & thank u for great service & a smart room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcoFarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, so sorry you didn't enjoy the food, next time you stay please see one of the management team to discuss any special requests you have and I'm sure the chef will accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was a depressing November day and I had recently returned from sunny Tunisia. Then the e-mail arrived from the Menzies's Hotels. I came across this small group two or three years ago and ~ I have been impressed as a 'value for money' destination. OK, it wasn't going to be in the sun, but a few days away in the UK after Xmas for a song was too much too resist. I chose this hotel as we used to live in the town. It is 4* and has a pool and from £35 a night for a room was a bargain. I chose between Xmas and the New Year. I added breakfast and dinner for £25 per person. A common denominator in the Menzies group is friendly staff and this hotel was not an exception. The room was on the small side, but with all mod coms and comfortable; the pool could do with a face lift, but is perfectly acceptable, there was adequate parking and as I already knew, plenty of interest in the area. The buffet breakfast was A1, although on the second day, the plates for the full English breakfast could have been warmer. While dinner was OK, I have had better there, but I put this down to the time of year. Whereas the waiting staff were totally acceptable, some members were a little below par (again I put this down to the time of year) and with some training the minor errors (I mean they were of no consequence, but, I expect better from a 4 star hotel) would have been eradicated. However, all-in-all a good stay. However, there is a good pub a few minutes away and next time I shall be investigating that for at least one evening.

Room Tip: The hotel is popular for weddings. I have stayed in the past on a Saturday night and sleep was distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPA38210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay, whilst we are all for promoting the local community, don't go to the pub too often, we serve great bar meals and our drinks prices compare well with the local area. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A group of us went to the party night on Friday 13th December which we usually do and normally have a fantastic evening. This time we were squashed into the room which had far too many people in it. As for the food the waiters came round with the turkey/beef then we had to wait for 10 mins for the vegetables and another 5 for the gravy but the time we had our meals they were cold and the portions were tiny. Then followed a fight - ok you can't hold the hotel responsible for this however the DJ was calling for security - they didn't have any. They had crammed so many tables in the dance floor was very small and could only fit about 40 people on however there were hundreds of people in the room. Later on there were 2 more fights one in the bar and one outside when the riot police had to come. All in all it was a very disappointing evening and not a scratch on what we normally have there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review further to attending the Christmas Party last Friday, please accept my apologies for any disappointment with the food and service, portion size I believe to be subjective as we have not had any negative comments in this respect. I am sorry if the food was not hot enough, this is sent straight from the kitchen without delay.

I feel so bad for the guests who came to have a genuinely good time which was ruined by grown adults who have no idea how to behave in civilised society, how proud their family and friends must be!!!

One of our own staff was assaulted by a man who certainly should know better and I'm sad for the people who had their night ruined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport on Severn
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport on Severn DY13 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport on Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport on Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport On Severn, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing