We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok - but the evening meal/service was abysmal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It was ok - but the evening meal/service was abysmal.”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

On the whole, it was an ok stay. We were looking for a quiet evening away from the kids.
Check-in was great. Natasha was friendly and efficient. She even quickly sorted out a room change when we got to our original room, which was a bit smelly/stuffy and had a wasp flying round it.
The second room was fine - but ventilation, or lack thereof was a major issue. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom, which means all sorts of things...
We used the leisure facilities that evening before dinner and were very disappointed that the hot tub was not working. No apology whatsoever from the staff.
The MAJOR failing of this hotel was the restaurant. Never in my life have I been served by not one, but three completely incompetent staff. To be fair, one female member of staff did seem to have a clue, but her 2 colleagues overshadowed her.
Where to start? Not 2 minutes after we sat down we were asked if we were ready to order and had not even been given the wine list at that point. After ordering we were offered 2 other tables' food and drinks - despite there not being more than 10 tables at any time whilst we were there. When our food arrived, it was fine, but my husband's pork had been cooked to the same degree as his medium-rare steak and had to be sent back. When the gammon arrived it also came with a comment from the chef that it had been cooked more, but it was the colour of the food. Cheek! Other issues included bringing flat sparkling water and the male waiter replying, "I don't know what you mean." when I asked him if he could bring us some sauces for our food. He was British, as were his colleagues, so there could not have been a language barrier.
On the whole, the ridiculous service we received at dinner meant we left no tip (and we always tip 15 - 20% for good service) and ran out of there a bit miffed that our one meal away from the kids was filled with incompetence, rudeness and food that could have made us ill. Whoever trained the staff in question either needs a new job or needs to retrain them ASAP. We'd had better service in a tiny cafe with twice as many guests only earlier that day.
We slept just fine and had a much better experience in the restaurant for breakfast, with much more attentive and and competent staff.
Check-out was, again, very efficient and friendly, with Natasha behind the desk again.
The hotel isn't so bad that I'd actively discourage someone from staying there, but I most certainly wouldn't recommend it. The rooms were lacking in comfort, despite being in a newer wing to the main hotel and the whole experience just didn't say 4-star as it supposes to be - and the restaurant just ruined the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that a number of aspects of your stay with us fell well short of both your and our expectations. We aim to achieve a high degree of consistency in the quality of our service, standards and hospitality and obviously we failed!

It's sad that we can't "turn back the clock" and have another go, so the next best thing is to learn from the comments you made. I have talked the whole experience through with key members of staff. We all accept that, from time to time, things go wrong but in this instance, there should have been a much sharper reaction to the difficulties you were experiencing. Some of what you said was a simple misjudgement of the situation and misunderstanding of the requests being made but politeness and swift action cost nothing to administer on our part.

I do hope that you will return to Stourport Manor. I know personally that "times away from the kids" are few and far between, which made it even more important that all went according to plan. I am sorry it didn't.

Hope to see you again

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    287
    145
    52
    51
See reviews for
189
338
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have been using the hotel now for around 2years for meetings.. The staff are all friendly and extremely accommodating, and we have tested them on many occasions with simple things such as last minute food changes up to the bizarre of can we fill a paddling pool for an icebreaker game all these requests have been carried out without question.
Everything about this hotel screams easy.. From the very polite efficient but laid back and friendly reception staff to the hotel management nothing is too much trouble.
If you ever have to book a meeting or conference give the hotel a call for good prices but fantastic service.
Naomi and Jason you are stars nothing is too much trouble.
I think in the days where everyone is quick to complain good service is often overlooked .. I have never come across such a friendly professional staff team and the general manager should be extremely proud of his team.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your review - it reads better than the hotel brochure!!

I am delighted that you continue to be pleased with the professional, efficient and hospitable service provided by the team and you are right that I am very proud of all of them. It's the staff that are the heart and soul of this hotel and give it the excellent character it deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you to Stourport Manor for many years to come.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is located in its own spacious and well kept gardens on a quiet country lane. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the whole pace is in good order. The room was clean, comfortable and had all the things which you would expect to find in a modern hotel i.e internet, flat screen tv, toiletries etc. The bathroom was clean and a reasonable size. The hotel has a very nice a comfortable lounge area with an adjoining bar and bar meals or sandwiches are available in both areas at a reasonable cost. The restaurant is not too expensive but serves "contemporary food" which means the presentation is nice but the quantity is small. However the food was very tasty and the service excellent although the place was very quiet. There are two pubs within 10/15 minutes walking distance which serve food so there is an alternative to the hotel restaurant for those who like a bigger, cheaper or more simple meal. The staff of the hotel were really nice, very proffessional and very helpful
A big plus is the free use of the leisure facility which comprises swimming pool, suana, steam room and gym and the location which is very close to all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the back away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your review, which I think was most informative to fellow guests. I have always believed that getting the facilities right is one thing but more important is achieving the standards of service and friendliness of hospitality. Thankfully you review indicates that this was the case (although I wouldn't pretend to suggest that it always goes right!)

We hope to see you again soon. There's a lot to explore in rural Worcestershire and Herefordshire and, of course, Birmingham city centre is just 45 minutes' drive from here.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

A lovely hotel. comfortable, well mintained, clean rooms. heat ing is old so banged and crashed when heating up early in morning but not a problem. Staff were excellent especially reception girls. Breakfast was brilliant so was meals from lounge menu which our elderly parents had delivered to room. Our only complaint is that we were very disappointed with evening meal. only four tables occupied in restaurant. not wanting starters, we waited 40 mins for our main course only to find 3 slices of dried duck and 6 green beans. We were offered a roll but forgot the butter. didn't have the wine we ordered. and the trio cho pud was 3 lumps of choc and a square of choc mouse. Every table received an apology for something wrong. Unacepteble considering price. Hence for the other two nights we found a pub down the road that did a brill carvery for £3.99 and a big bowl of crumble.

Room Tip: lounge menu is better, ample food, cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review and "definitely visit again" is what we want all of our guests to say!

Although we shouldn't just dwell on the negative, it is by addressing this that we'll meet all of our guests' expectations. We have reviewed your comments therefore about dinner and, whilst there are differences with other guests' comments, I understand your thoughts. You'll understand too that we will not compete with the £6.99 carvery in the local pub (or for that matter the £3.99 carvery), because this comes down to the quality of the raw ingredients and the fact that everything is prepared on site here. We're very particular about choosing top end meats, fish and vegetables. That said, if our chefs aren't preparing our high quality ingredients well enough, that's a poor show. As I've commented to others, we constantly review our food menus and will certainly take on board the comments you've made.

It would be great to see you again here soon and thank you, once again, for your constructive review about Stourport Manor.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just returned from a weekend break with our 12 year old daughter . We were very impressed with the service and facilities at the Menzies. The bedroom was small it had a double and an extra bed and the decor was modern and clean. We booked a package that included one nights dinner in the restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of the food and choice on the menu. The restaurant was busy and although very short staffed the head waiter was very attentive. The leisure facilities are a bonus it's a really good gym and nice pool . Steam room is a very dated but all in all a good leisure club.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for writing a review and for such good comments about the hotel and the team here. I've had a look through the handovers and rotas and you are right, we didn't anticipate the high number of guests choosing to dine in our restaurant on the evening you visited. It can sometimes be difficult to predict but I was pleased you were nonetheless left with a good impression.

Food is such a subjective matter and we constantly review menu items but maintaining quality and standards are our key target at all times.

We hope you'll come back again soon and enjoy another visit to Stourport Manor.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We arrived very late the evening, 10pm, and left early again, 9am, so we could not really appreciate all the hotel has to offer.

The staff was very friendly, professional and sharp, the room was very spacious and looked great. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed it.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the bed was not one of the most comfortable we have slept in on our UK trip.

Overall a good hotel, but I wish we could have experienced more it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abri_Coetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for posting a review, particularly as it was a "whistlestop tour". I was glad that you were left with a very good impression of our standards and service.

With regard to beds, I have been monitoring this and conducted a full audit of the hotel. As this is such a fundamental part of our business, I'm now in negotiations with various suppliers to address this problem, so that on your next visit every aspect will be positive.

In the meantime we do look forward to welcoming you back to Stourport Manor and hopefully you can visit for a few days and discover the wonderful local area. Perhaps keep an eye on our website for special offers.

Best wishes

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights from April 26th to the 28th. We only booked the night before we arrived and it was quick and painless and very family friendly (I'd tried 2 other hotels in other locations; one didn't have a family room and the other wanted to charge extra for a cot, but couldn't tell me what the charge would be!)
Firstly I'd like to say that throughout the stay the staff were very friendly and at meal times they were very accommodating of my daughter (as other reviewers have stated, the Irish lady at breakfast was very helpful). The leisure facilities are good and once again the staff are very friendly. Also, a cot with bedding was provided and set up in the room for my daughter.
However, upon arrival the window in our first room (room 8) was not secure and could have been opened from outside (not ideal when in a ground floor room), so I spoke to reception and we were moved to another room (room 14). However, the base of the bed in the next room was broken and we had to move again, this time to a first floor room.
Although we were immediately provided with an alternative family room on both occasions and apologies were made by the person on reception, unfortunately no offer was made to help us to move. As you can imagine, moving bags and a baby twice, plus carrying a cot upstairs is not an easy experience. Also,it would have been a nice gesture if the hotel had a policy of offering a free drink etc to guests inconvenienced by having to move rooms.
If it wasn't for this poor start to the holiday the 3 stars would be 4. However, the remainder of our stay was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStourportManor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thanks for your review and you're absolutely right, we should have been much sharper when it came to you having to move rooms. In the light of this, we've discussed our procedures and, although we hope that guests having to move rooms happens on very few occasions, our Duty Manager will always be involved. In this way, we could have ensure that everything was selected correctly and I agree that a rewarding drink would have been the solution.

I was glad that otherwise you enjoyed your visit and I do hope that will come back again soon - maybe we could arrange a rather belated bottle of wine with dinner then?!

Once again, thanks for taking the time to post a review

Patrick Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourport on Severn
3.0 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
2.9 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
460 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kidderminster
Travelodge Kidderminster
#1 of 5 in Kidderminster
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor

Property: Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Address: 35 Hartlebury Road, Stourport on Severn DY13 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Stourport on Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stourport on Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with such a lot to offer the business, leisure and wedding guest. There is a lot of history attached to our Victorian stately home in the heart of Worcestershire. Set within 23 acres of wonderful grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor is located 10 minutes from the M5 motorway and has plenty of on-site parking. Along with 72 comfortable bedrooms including family bedrooms, the hotel has lots of great facilities including a brasserie, a bar and lounge now showing BT Sport, a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gym, tennis courts, squash courts and foot golf. The hotel is a stylish wedding venue with capacity for 220 guests, which also has nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 350 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Stourport Manor Hotel Stourport On Severn
Menzies Stourport Manor On Severn
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor Stourport On Severn, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing