We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadow Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meadow Farm
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Colchester, Essex United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

In the middle of the countryside, beautiful converted medieval farmhouse, although the Family Rooms are in a new block. Loved staying here. Shares the site with a Family Pub which was very reasonably priced.
This Travelodge does not have a cafe and the Pub only served breakfast at weekends, so go prepared!
Close to Birmingham & Stratford and aboud 5 miles to Cadburyworld. Ideal for families with Kids

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    116
    42
    13
    17
See reviews for
87
116
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Probably the best Travelodge I've been to. There are two separate buildings - the old farm and the new purpose-built lodge. I was in the new bit and it still smelled new and was in very good all-round condition. Room was spotlessly clean and everything worked (not always the case with Travelodges).

No cafe/bar - you have to go to the adjacent Meadow Farm restaurant and pub which is popular with the local residents. Nothing spectacular (5-star it isn't) but perfectly acceptable. I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment and I don't know what the 'old' rooms are like, but overall for £19 this was a very good deal indeed.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarstonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Used this as an overnight stop as we got a cheap rate for the room. Usual Travelodge room - good size, spotlessly clean & as already mentioned looks like newly converted farm buildings so a bit different from the normal purpose built Travelodge.
Pub/restaurant next door was excellent value with 2 for 1 offer on main meals, ok some of it may be microwaved but it tasted good & at 2 main meals for less than a tenner I don't expect it to be cooked by Gordon Ramsay !
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & pub next door
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Roversfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

I have stayed in many Travel lodge hotels for cheap overnight stays and I have to stay this is the best Travelodge I have stayed in.

In the past they have been abit dark and even damp - showing signs of wear etc - however this hotel is fantastic and everything is of a high standard.

It seems to be very new, opened last year maybe, and therefore everything is extremely clean and there is no sign of wear at all.

We stayed in a family room (2 adults/2 children). The room was quite spacious. The sofa bed and pull out bed were literally as new and the kids said they were very comfy. The room had a flat screen tv, kettle, tea/coffee/milks etc. There was also a wardrobe / storage area, all immaculately clean / as new.

Carpets / bathroom / shower curtain were all like new - plenty of clean towels/bedding etc.

I requested a room on the 2nd floor (dont like to be on the ground) and we were at the end of a corridor and didn’t hear any door banging at all (as per previous reports). Also the room we had was the last room, so we had 2 windows which was nice and made the room very nice and bright.

We didnt bother with breakfast at the nearby pub, but there is a garage within walking distance where we purchased drinks/snacks.

We stayed here as we were visiting Stratford / Warwick and wanted a cheap night away. The location is great for visiting this area and you cant beat the price, particularly when travelling with 2 children. The high standard was more than we expected from a Travel lodge. The buildings are a series of converted barns and therefore it gave the place abit more character.

Would definetely recommend this hotel for a cheap overnight stay (or 2) and I hope Travelodge can upgrade all there hotels to this kind of standard.

  • Liked — Modern / clean room facilities - flat screen tv.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

This is a great hotel for the price. Very clean, nicely updated, safe parking. It is a renovated farm house and is in a nice quiet location. New shower, faucets, and flat panel TV. The only negative is there is not a phone in the room.

We had a few pints and a great pub breakfast at the pub next door. They only serve breakfast on the weekends.

I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean low price
  • Disliked — No phone in the room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tisha_27
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

Stopped here for one night due to attending a wedding reception at the hotel next door. At £39 it was an absolute bargain. The room was spacious, clean and had a very nice flat screen tv! The view was beautiful, looking onto a field. The staff were helpful when we checked in and out. The only downside was that we had to make the single bed up ourself (due to having a family room), and the bedding was supposed to be in the room, but it wasnt so we had to go down and request it.

  • Liked — The flat screen TV!
  • Disliked — Making up the single bed ourselves!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisha_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

We used this hotel as an overnight stop off to break up a journey -(and the £29 offer helped - believe it is usually £51!!). The room was very clean and modern with everything you need - just be aware that they do not provide toiletries which is fair enough but could be a problem if you did not bring your own. The parking is also free.

It appears to be a converted series of barns which gives a lovely feel to the place unlike usual Travelodges which are clean and functional but usually just plain modern buildings.

Redditch is on your doorstep (1-2 miles) if you want the town - but the hotel is next to a restaurant/bar which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (currently 2 for 1 offer) making it very convenient.

We would definitely use this one again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
3.9 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Farm

Property: Meadow Farm
Address: Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BJ, England (Formerly Meadow Inns)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Redditch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Meadow Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Redditch
Travel Lodge Redditch
Redditch Travel Lodge
Redditch Travelodge
Meadow Farm Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing