We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average HI Express, Poor Service let's it down further”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average HI Express, Poor Service let's it down further”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is not a special hotel at all. Is fairly new, with glisty glamorous reception, however the rooms are not the most modern style HI Express. They are however the usual incredibly cramped affair. The breakfast is the usual poor quality HI Express - sausages that have a very cheap processed taste, scrambled egg that is clearly microwaved, tastes rubbery with black bits inside. The coffee is terrible tasting due to the type of milk in the machine. Hint get black out of the machine, then put fresh milk in, stay clear of latte or capucino they are vial!!

Location is not very nice right by a grotty old railway station and a grotty old shopping centre, not a desirable safe looking area at all.

However by biggest gripe, I booked the hotel on line 4 hours before checking in, and the third bed for little boy had not been prepared, it was just a sofa. Called down to reception told not a problem, be straight up. 20 minutes later still nobody appeared, so called again, informed they were busy in the restaurant, and would be another 10 minutes. Now I am not usually one to moan but my little boy needed to go to bed, this didnt seem to make any difference, 30 minutes later we went down to reception and only then somebody appeared, who after struggling with the sheets for ages, gave up saying well its not a bad attempt for a bloke!!! So why was he sent to do the job then??? I went back to reception a few minutes later to order some drinks to take back to the room and the receptionist did apologise for the inconvenience, but that was it - Could the 5er on drinks not at least been a gesture of goodwill, just goes to show that money is more important than service. Have these people not heard of the lifetime value of a customer, well I shall not go back. Makes Premier Inn look even better, which is shame with their prices going up, but I wonder why!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms by the road quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek-Sam-Joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Derek-Sam-Joshua,

Thank you for your feedback. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the level of staff service received and room accommodations which are less than satisfactory. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, we appreciate the feedback as this is crucial for us to improve the services that we offer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    229
    75
    20
    23
See reviews for
180
169
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is new, relatively cheap, clean and close to the town centre. Its close to the station. Dont expect a full English breakfast and you wont be dissapointed but otherwise ok. There is plenty of parking available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday night, firstly there was a problem with our booking that they did rectify quickly, the room was adequate and comfortable the shower was a plus really powerful,the most disappointing part of our stay was breakfast in the morning, firstly it was chaotic with not enough seats or tables for all of the residents, there wasn t a great deal of choice regarding a hot breakfast there was overdone scrambled egg, cold beans and poor quality sausage, you had to make your own toast and the bread was frozen. The hotel itself was fine, however the breakfast was absolutely terrible and quite stressful trying to get somewhere to sit and queue for your breakfast. Sadly we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, regarding your recent stay. I am happy you like our comfortable accommodations. However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the food served and if you found the breakfast service less than satisfactory. Our goal is to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your comments are highly important. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome to any opportunity to improve our hotel.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here during the Easter weekend. Hotel stay package was inclusive of safari tickets hence great value for money.
I stayed at many holiday inn express but this was arguably the best.
The hotel was pristine, you will notice the cleanliness immediately. The staff was very welcoming and checkin did not take long.
We required a baby cot which was conveniently placed in the room before we arrived and was very clean.
The room was spotless clean as was the bathroom. I must say it was very comforting.
All the appliances worked perfectly and the necessary information leaflets were in place.
We had a comfortable night and there wasn't any unwanted sounds.
The dining area was tastefully decorated and the continental breakfast was great. The best part for me were the freshly baked croissants. In all the other HI Expresses that i have been, they never serve freshly baked croissants so i enjoyed a couple as did my family :-)
We were promptly informed,at checkin, about the buffet breakfast "rush hours" so we tried to avoid that time.
We were received by a smiling Dinesh (I think) and another very nice lady who arranged for the cot.....special thanx to both of you.
Some people might think that location is not the best but given all the other advantages, i am more than happy with this hotel.
Well done guys. I'm looking forward to finding an excuse to stay there again.....my children love hotel stays and they absolutely enjoyed this stay.
I think, if more choices are provided in terms of tv channels i.e. paid movie channels then that would be great.

Room Tip: Hotel staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel and being fairly new, it is clean , well decorated and the rooms to the normal Holiday Inn standard. The beds were very comfortable and gave a good nights sleep. It is however surprising to hear the charges for wifi, which these days is normally free, here they wanted £4 for one hour .

We arrived on a busy night and it was clear that the hotel did not have sufficient seating space in the bar area; 5 small groups of 2-4 people and it was full, this is a shame because there is little else in the immediate area. Also evidence that the hotel was full was the note in the lift suggesting people avoided a specific time for breakfast. Despite this, the demand caused long queues whilst the hotel attempted to supply sausages, eggs etc in sufficient quantitities to meet demand.

If you expect a hearty breakfast then this hotel will disappoint. The sausages are tasteless and the powdered eggs equally bland, not helped type fact that they had not been stirred whilst being cooked so had the consistency and taste of sugar free moose. However, lets be honest, most of us have cereal or toast for breakfast at home ( and this is supplied), so really it is just a disappointment if you expect a full English.

I will stay there again and can recommend to all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DriftwoodNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times now, always on business. Never had an issue, staff always polite, food always good, always clean. One possible improvement is to give free wifi to priority card holders live other HIE do across the Country.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We only stayed for one night, A Saturday.
Perfect hotel, Great location for Birmingham attractions, Very clean and family friendly.
Could not fault and would book again if in area and would try Holiday Inn Express at other locations if they could all match this one

Room Tip: No preference as good facility's to get too any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timzee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
0.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#3 of 8 in Redditch
1,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#6 of 8 in Redditch
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
206 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,184 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
Address: Apartment 2 Ryland House Hewell Road | Enfield, Redditch B97 6AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#6 Family Hotel in Redditch
#6 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Holiday Inn Express Redditch town centre hotel offering 100 luxurious air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms, Lounge/Bar and GR Restaurant offering complimentary Buffet Breakfast with a selection of your Hot favourites and serving freshly prepared evening meals daily. Situated near the M42 Jct2/Jct3 and within easy reach of Birmingham’s NEC, NIA, ICC and the surrounding area. Complimentary parking for all guests and delegates, high speed Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redditch Hotel Redditch
Holiday Inn Redditch
Redditch Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing