We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding in it's class.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding in it's class.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stay regularly at Holiday Inn Express residences across the country and this one possibly more than most considering it's convenient location. It is not a 5 star hotel, but does not claim to be. It is comfortable, clean and has everything you need for an overnight stay.

The staff are always very helpful and generally extremely friendly. The drinks are not cheap, but are on a par with other hotels. Unlike many chain hotels they are well presented and taste good (i.e. the draught beer is well maintained).

What is outstanding is the chef's food. There is a standard menu, which is available at various different hotels of this brand across the country, (slightly over priced at all of them) and the chefs here make a better job of it than most, though they are inevitably limited by the quality of the food that is bought in for that menu.

I would strongly advise going for the daily specials, which are listed on a white piece of A4 paper. It is a limited range, but is a well thought out menu and very well priced for the quality. Even when the food is simple and homely (e.g. beef stew & bead, or chilli and rice) it has always been exceptional in my experience. I often stay in Holiday Inn and occasionally Crowne Plaza, but rarely is the food quite as good as it is here.

I personally would like to see the standard menu disposed of so the chef could have a bit more of a free hand to increase the range. However, I acknowledge the need to have the traditional favourites for less adventurous diners.

The bar staff will keep an eye on you while you are at your table and will offer restaurant style service bringing extra drinks, while you are eating if required. However, be aware that this is not really the norm in Holiday Inn Express and is that staff going above and beyond what is expected of them considering how many or on in the evening, so while the service is generally of restaurant standard it would be unfair to expect it all the time.

The breakfast is neither here nor there really, but I don't imagine that is anything to do with the chefs. The range is better than a lot of Holiday Inn Express and it is a self serve buffet included in the price of the room. Convenient and a perfectly acceptable start to the day.

In the interest of balance I will find a couple of negatives:

The phone signal is awful, there is some outside, but it is almost non-existent inside the hotel on either 3 or Vodafone. You can hardly blame the hotel for that though.

The staff are very friendly, which is great, though last time I was there the three people around me were each asked if their meal was ok 3 times. Nice that they are keen, but just asking once is fine.

If you stay expecting Claridges then you will be disappointed, but this is easily on a par with most Holiday Inn in terms of comfort and the quality of what they do offer. It is very good for the price and they work very well within the restrictions of the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The only reason it is rated 4 is to acknowledge that it is a "budget hotel", though it does punch above it's weight. There is plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oflynn_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    228
    75
    20
    23
See reviews for
177
168
24
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Staying at this express holiday inn for one night after looking at the reviews. On arrival easy free parking. Reception spotless and good helpful staff., room was spacious and clean with all the mod cons you could think of.
No dust I could see. Well done , we would stay here again. And I will recommend it.

Don't let your standards drop please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The main reason we chose this hotel, apart from the deal we were able to get, was the location - it was excellent for going to Birmingham, Stratford-on-Avon, Worcester, Evesham, Warwick etc. The only one thing about the hotel I was disappointed by were the cooked breakfast items. They were well enough cooked, but we were there Thursday to Monday, and on the Saturday and Sunday mornings, for some reason, there was only one meat option, i.e. sausage. So just sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. Nothing else. There were the other things you would expect to find like cereal, croissants, tinned fruit, hot drinks and fruit juice, but we have stayed in several Travelodges in the past and they have all had a wider range of cooked items. Also it would have been nice, perhaps, to have had fried egg rather than scrambled now and then. Those who just came for the weekend will have felt cheated. Apart from that, it was a nice stay. Oh and thanks very much for the staff for going out of their way to provide us with a cot for our baby. It was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr0keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very friendly welcome on arrival from Dinesh. The room was clean and everything was available. Good location and free parking. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum but the food was great. Our children were made welcome and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Again we stayed in Redditch can't fault the hotel for price. The only problem this visit the people in the adjoining room to 325 had their T.V. on till 02:35 hours. In the end not having any sleep we phoned the reception and they came up and got it sorted.
They said they had fell asleep with it on? They must have been on medication?

Room Tip: Book on line for a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very clean rooms with good facilities. The staff were very helpful and parking is on site.

The location is great, couple of minutes from the train station and the town centre. Very good choice for business travellers with good facilities.

Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redditch hotels
0.8 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 8 in Redditch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch West (A448) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
Address: Apartment 2 Ryland House Hewell Road | Enfield, Redditch B97 6AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#6 Family Hotel in Redditch
#6 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Holiday Inn Express Redditch town centre hotel offering 100 luxurious air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms, Lounge/Bar and GR Restaurant offering complimentary Buffet Breakfast with a selection of your Hot favourites and serving freshly prepared evening meals daily. Situated near the M42 Jct2/Jct3 and within easy reach of Birmingham’s NEC, NIA, ICC and the surrounding area. Complimentary parking for all guests and delegates, high speed Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redditch Hotel Redditch
Holiday Inn Redditch
Redditch Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing