We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cadbury World Delight”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Thank you all very much!
We stayed for one night on Wednesday having visited Cadbury's World, the hotel took care of all bookings so no need to queue.
We had a standard room which was perfect for the price, i struggled with the shower over the bath but thats what you expect at 6'6" - nice touch putting a little bag of Haribo out on our daughters bed!
The swimming pool was great, changing rooms clean and staff very helpful.
Food was fantastic in the restaurant and children welcomed.
We will definitely be back.
Thanks.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Rory M,

Thank you so much for your review following your family break stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are thrilled you had such a great stay and thank you for your wonderful comments. I’m so glad you got the opportunity to visit Cadbury World, such a great local attraction.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,655 - 1,661 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great value stay at the Abbey, the £99 Friday deal is a fantastic offer and well worth keeping. upon arrival we found a very warm welcome and were quickly given our room, which was clean and well presented, with a lovely bathroom (separate bath and shower) comfy bed and big TV. nice extras with tea and coffee in room. The £99 deal included dinner which was great especially the pudding and breakfast again perfect with a fantastic array of breakfast to suit anyone.
Overall a very good stay, and hope to see prices stay competitive, would return.

Room Tip: Phone the Abbey direct for the best deals/offers and room availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Blay90,

Thank you for this excellent feedback following your Friday overnight break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

It was our absolute pleasure in welcoming you and we are so very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and what great value you found your break to be.

We look forward to your return visit back to the Abbey soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

On arrival on exterior very 1st thoughts I wasn't very excited booked for a romantic weekend away parked up and entered reception were we was greeted by a very friendly and helpful front of house who signed us in and told us were to go on entering the room were there was a nice touch of petals in a shape of a hart on the bed and a box of chocolates and a bottle of champaign, the room was ok as a 4 star some wear a tear carpets wall lights scuffs on wall ect but very clean fresh and comfy bathroom/wet room very large but due to this being a disability friendly bathroom but also clean with a super shower that woke you up nicely in the morning so all in all accommodation ok I'd give a 9 out of 10. Little bit disappointed with trying to book the lady in for a spa treat but being fully booked all day but the hotel was extremely busy on this weekend so I would advice to phone in advance to book for the spa we had a light lunch in the downstairs lounge as upstairs was busy also greeted by a lovely friendly staff member again had a lovely light lunch all freshly prepared this bringing us onto are main meal of the night we dined about 7 ish were the bar to the entrance was packed and very noisy but this due to some sort of night on and being ax trembly busy but we sat down and enjoyed a lovely 3 course meal from start to finish the desserts are amazing I had one called old school and my partner had the waffles both lovely desserts the staff amazing once again there's a pattern forming here with the staff, next morning breakfast is a buffet style on continental and full English this absolutely mouth watering best breakfast I have had for a very very long time so the good in this place is spot on could not fault the food at all 10 out of 10 there. To some it all up for a romantic weekend away I probably would not recommend but this is my opinion for a weekend brake I'd recommend, the spa was extremely busy which was a big let down for us as we wasn't told this wen we booked as this was the main reason we were going but we had a nice time, cleanliness of rooms spotless slightly worn in parts in the room but nothing major, food amazing and credit to the staff on all we met this is the bank bone of the business these guys worked hard very happy and pleasant to all and us couldn't of helped us more very professional staff. All in all if I was to rate our experience out of 10 I'd give it a 8 and a half no reflection to the staff who were spot on could not fault them and value for money was ok with comfy beds great food amazing staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pjcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Pjcoles,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your romantic break stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We really appreciate all your comments and detailed feedback about your stay. Firstly we’re thrilled with your remarks about our “amazing food”. I can see on your picture you experienced the ‘old school dessert’ one of my favourites incorporating jaffa cake, jammy dodger, sherry trifle & bubble gum ice cream, delicious!! And to hear you refer to our breakfast as “absolutely mouth watering best breakfast I have had for a very very long time” truly is so much appreciated.

We are very sorry you were unable to book spa treatments during your stay. We do get very popular for spa treatments, especially at the weekends so we do encourage and recommend guests always pre-book spa treatments prior to arrival to avoid any disappointment.

I really would like to thank you for your review and also for your wonderful comments about our staff here. We really do have a very hard working team so for me to be able to share your feedback really is wonderful and a great source of motivation for them. Thank you!!

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the Abbey.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a golf weekend here recently, i cannot heap enough praise on the hotel staff, the service is first rate and they are all so very helpful,The food is outstanding. The rooms were excellent.The golf course was in good condition and a good challange for any golfer.My only moan was the 5 hours it took to get around the course, at some holes there were three groups on a tee, one teeing off and two waiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carpenter, Mr M... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear leighandmick,

Thank you so much for your “Another great stay at the Abbey” review following your golf weekend at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Wow! “first rate service, outstanding food, excellent room...” what compliments, thank you so much! We are delighted with your feedback this really does mean the world to us to hear and I look forward to passing your wonderful comments onto all our team.

I would like to apologise for any slowness in play whilst playing the course, we do have marshals who endeavour to ensure swiftness of play in order to not hold up any other players, so we are sorry it did take this long to play and obviously will see how we can ensure this does not happen again.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back again for a further golf break in the future.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

once again a great short break , overall standards and service seemed a little better than last time , great staff - very good customer service and the personal touches from the front of house staff were greatly appreciated - car park may be a little on small size but we had no issues finding a space , got married here 11 yrs ago been back a few times ,would highly recomend and i am sure will be staying again in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear prkennedy,

Thank you so much for returning back to the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and taking the time to give your feedback. It is wonderful you also got married here 11 years ago, we hope your stay brought back some happy memories.

We are delighted that you felt our standards and services have improved, we are constantly looking at ways we can improve and enhance our guest experience, so it is fantastic you have recognised this.

We are sorry if you had any difficulty in parking, we have 170 car parking spaces and also have additional overflow car park areas as required.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we are already looking forward to you returning again to visit us.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

From the beginning let me make it clear I booked this on laterooms and was lucky enough to get an executive room for a tad over a £100 a night incl breakfast.
That said check in was good, room (vale suite) was excellent and the breakfast whilst extensive was ok.
Good parking, pool, golf course, gym ( none of which I used, aside from the parking) were all there if required.
As ever, at the right price this place rocks

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColiniNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear ColiniNorfolkUK

Thank you so much for your review, following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are delighted that you could not fault your stopover at the Abbey and we really appreciate your time in giving this feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Abbey soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited for 2 nights on a package booked via Travelzoo. Incredible value! It is a modern hotel with no character, as such, and is not "upmarket" but is very well presented. The bedroom had everything one would expect including free wi-fi. Good location for Stratford. The staff were very efficient and friendly. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and there was a good choice. The food was delicious and well presented, especially the desserts! Breakfast was also good. There is a nice swimming pool. I couldn't fault this hotel and would be happy to return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank pulboroughperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Pullboroughperson,

Thank you so much for your “Great Value Stay” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are all so thrilled to read your comments of “very efficient and friendly” staff and “delicious” food, yes the desserts are amazing. To hear you could not fault us as a hotel and would be happy to return really is the ultimate compliment. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the whole team.

Thank you so much again and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
380 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,298 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing