We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family of 2 adults and 3 children.

The room: This was on the ground floor and was very spacious with 1 king size bed, 1 double pull out and a single. The room was clean but quite dated. My major gripe is that the big patio windows open up on to the main golfing walkway so you are woken at 6.30am by the sound of people walking past and golf buggy's so I would advise you to get a room on a higher floor.

Breakfast: The selection was more than adequate and tasted fresh.

Spa: We used the pool with the kids, it was clean but some of the more mature residents make you feel as though you should not be there with children even if they are well behaved.

I didn't have spa treatments as I had left 2 messages for the therapist to call me back prior to my visit as I wanted to book a full days spa with my daughter. I never got the call so took my business elsewhere instead!!!

Overall the hotel was ok but really needs a bit of a spruce up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubieloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Loubieloulondon,

Thank you so much for your review following your family break stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

Thank you very much for your comments about your spacious family room and our breakfast selection. We are sorry if you would have preferred not to have a ground floor room, but yes absolutely if we know in advance we always try our best to cater to guests’ floor request.

I’m pleased you got to experience our Health Club, we do have dedicated children and adult only hours in our swimming pool, so other swimmers are aware of the hours children will be in the pool area.

I would really like to apologise that you were unable to book any spa treatments for your stay and that you had to leave 2 messages for no one to call you back. This really is a rare occurance as we have a strict policy of prompt return calls to all telephone messages. I will be looking into this matter immediately and all I can do apologise.

We all really do hope overall you had a good stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Abbey again.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited the Abbey Hotel courtesy of a travelzoo deal and it was excellent. We had an excellent room (clean and quiet), an excellent evening meal with a bottle of wine (all part of the deal) and a very good breakfast. Our journey up to the hotel was through the black and white trail (wouldn't do it again) and our journey home was via the Malvern hills (our second visit to the area and we will certainly return again). Well done Abbey Hotel. You've got it right.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Koasters,

Thank you for giving feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are thrilled that you had a very excellent stay with us and I’m glad you did a detour to the Malvern Hills on your journey back home, they are beautiful.

We hope to welcome you back again soon when you are next in the area.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We met here as three couples for a two night stay including two rounds of golf for the gents. We booked through travelzoo and got what seemed an amazingly good rate, so were delighted when we arrived and found our rooms were excellent, well equipped and clean, and the whole hotel, though busy, very pleasant. A nice golf course with some challenging holes tired us out on both days, though we did make a trip (20 mins away) to the interesting National Trust property at Coughton Court.The price included a three course evening meal, plenty of choice and good food together with an excellent breakfast. Best of all were the staff, uniformly professional, helpful and friendly...we all agreed that we'd return to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: One of our group required a disabled access room which was well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear AlanShofield,

Thank you for your “Spot on” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are thrilled you had such a great stay and thank you for your wonderful comments about your excellent room, challenging golf course and the excellent breakfast. I’m also pleased you got to visit Coughton Court, it really is a beautiful National Trust building and well worth a visit.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Thirteen of us stayed here for a meeting on the 3rd/4th September on business. Having being the first off-site meeting I'd attended I didn't know what to expect. However from the start the staff were very friendly and willing to help. They stuck to the agenda we agreed on throughout the day and were happy to settle any enquiries we had throughout the day with much efficiency. We could not complain with any of the meals we had, from the executive lunch, to the 3-course dinner and breakfast in the morning not one person had a bad thing to say. In addition the rooms themselves were very impressive, nice big comfy beds with pleasant views (helped by the sunny weather).

Overall we were all very impressed with the Abbey Hotel and would certainly consider visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Luke N,

Many thanks for your review following your conference at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

Your comments about our friendly staff, food and our impressive bedrooms are so appreciated. And I look forward to passing on your feedback to our team. Also I’m glad the sun was out for you too.

Thank you so much again and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another conference in the future.

Kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner booked this hotel including a golf lesson as a surprise for my 25th Birthday, and to be perfectly honest I wasn't expecting much.
We drove down from West Yorkshire on Thursday and arrived at the hotel around 12:30pm just in time for my first golf lesson! The lesson itself was fantastic, and the golf profession Drew was great fun and an excellent teacher. Whether you're a seasoned pro or a new beginner, i'd definitely recommend a few lessons with this guy!
After golf we went up to our suite, which was absolutely gorgeous. My partner had let the hotel know in advance that it was my birthday so they took it upon themselves to arrange a birthday banner and rose petals for no extra charge which was a lovely little surprise for both me and her.
Once we'd settled in our room we decided to grab our swimwear and go explore the spa... which did not fail to impress! The staff at the spa gave us a pound coin (which we returned!) for the locker as well as two fresh clean towels. The changing rooms all come equip with open and private changing rooms, safe lockers, showers and hair dryers.
The pool is quite romantic with changing underwater lighting. There is also a steam room, Jacuzzi, and sauna, as well as a drinking fountain with paper cups and seating area. It was so chilled and relaxing that we ended up staying for a good few hours.
We were absolutely exhausted after our drive down so instead of going out for a meal in the evening we decided to order room service and have a cosy night in. I had steak and chips with a side of garlic bread and my partner had a burger with chips. The food came in no time and was delivered on a silver platter. Beautiful.
In the morning there was no great rush to check out, and no cleaners banging on our door... But because we'd had such an amazing night and were totally impressed with all of the facilities and the welcoming staff, we booked ANOTHER night and left a day later than originally planned.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's absolutely beautiful. The golf course, food and spa are AMAZING and the staff are very kind, friendly, and welcoming.
We're looking to go back again for a cheeky weekend break as soon as possible.
Thank you Abbey Hotel for making my birthday one to remember!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous, we stayed in a suite and then a standard double. There isn't a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear vixal05,

Thank you so much for your “Amazing, Romantic, Gorgeous! Best Birthday Ever!” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are all absolutely thrilled to read your comments from your fantastic golf lesson with Drew, to your birthday surprise in your room, the chilled and relaxing spa and the friendly and welcoming staff, just WOW, thank you. And even more of a compliment that you ended up booking an extra night.

Thank you so much again and from the whole Abbey team, Happy Birthday. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon for another “cheeky weekend break”.

Kindest regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We celebrated our wedding at the Abbey Hotel on 22nd June 2013 and can honestly say that it was the best day of our lives. Many of our guests have also commented that it was the best wedding that they had been to, and how much they thoroughly enjoyed the whole day.

The food was excellent, both in quality and quantity, the accommodation and facilities were first class and the grounds were beautiful. We stayed in the ‘Studley’ Suite which was amazing with a fabulous view from the balcony.

From our first visit, back in 2012 when we chose the venue, the service was always superb. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful and Kay Lilley, our wedding co-ordinator, was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble for her and everything was well organised and of the highest standard. We used several of the people she recommended for other services such as photographer, hair and make-up, venue dressing, chair covers, sashes etc. and were highly delighted with the results.

Our dedicated operations manager on the day of our wedding, ‘Locky’ was absolutely fantastic. We could not have wished for anyone better, he made our day, everything was perfect, he guided us gently, but firmly, through every step of the way. Most of our guests commented on how professional he was, ensuring that nothing was left to chance and even now, two months after the wedding, they are still talking about him. Every wedding should have a ‘Locky’.

We had more than 50 guests staying over night and the friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere made the whole weekend a thoroughly enjoyable experience for everyone. Well done to all concerned at the ‘Abbey’. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Abbey Hotel as one of the best wedding venues to any prospective couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on the second floor over looking the Fairway, with a balcony if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnG197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear JOhnG197,

WOW thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review following your wedding reception at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are delighted that your wedding day was the best day of your lives, this really does mean the world to us to hear. I look forward to passing your wonderful comments onto all our team and have already expressed your thanks onto Kay and Locky who are both absolutely thrilled.

We wish you every happiness in your married life and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Once again thank you so much.

With kind regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fifteen of our family stayed here for three nights, aged between 1 and 74! The hotel is in large grounds hosting a golf course, driving range, indoor pool and spa.

Reception staff very friendly and helpful, our room very large and spotlessly clean, had noted in a previous review that no fridges were supplied, so emailed the day before and asked for one in one of the five rooms are family had between them. Fridge was not great but all the same no qualms as they had put a fridge in.

The pool has times when the children can go in, these times aren't limited at all, and it was lovely to see lots of children in the pool having a great time, in the pool area was p,entry of space to sit and relax they're was also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.

They have a really nice lounge bar with outside seating as well, the weather was good so we sat out most evenings - they also have another bar located by the golf, this again was very relaxed with outside seating and a good menu including specials.

We ate in the Bramleys restaurant, the house menu had plenty of choice Los there was a a la carte menu, the children's menu was good and they did small or big portions, so suited toddlers as well. The service was good and the staff irked very hard.

All in all would definitely return in a ideal location to visit Birmingham, The Cotswolds, Stratford-upon- Avon etc. hotel kiddie- friendly which you need in this country as when you go abroad everywhere is! An if the weather not good plenty to do in the hotel and in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Overlooking golf course is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cestrian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear cestrian2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your Birthday celebration weekend at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We truly hope you had a fantastic birthday.

To hear how much you enjoyed your time, remarking on our “friendly and helpful reception staff” and that our Bramblings Restaurant offered a great choice for your whole party really is great to here.

Furthermore I’m glad you had a relaxing time on Tawnys Terrace, this really is a great spot to have a drink and bite to eat while enjoying the Golf Course Views.

Once again thank you for your booking and choosing to celebrate your birthday here at the Abbey. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 7 in Redditch
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadow Farm
Meadow Farm
#7 of 7 in Redditch
386 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Hither Green Lane Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range: $82 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing