We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WEEKEND AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WEEKEND AWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for a weekend last year , the room was well appointed and well laid out. staff friendly, breakfast and dinner excellent. good pool and spa facilities. stayed in the excutive room, had a tour ofd the other rooms glad we went for the excutive one as the other rooms over looking the gold cvourse was smaller and had slopping roof.

Room Tip: choose the executive room 300 and above as other room are smaller and some have slopping roof so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEYDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SEYDOT

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

It was great to read that you enjoyed our health club, executive rooms and food. Our team are also thrilled by your praise of the service you received during your stay so thank you.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in the near future

Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    630
    244
    73
    22
See reviews for
550
485
25
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here over Easter and had a good deal for a basic family room which was large and spacious and clean but in need of renovation as the information and other things in the room were very out of date. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the kids ate for free over Easter. However, we were extremely frustrated that the room keys kept not working for the entire weekend which was a real pain. The hotel was full on the Friday night and we couldnt get into the restaurant which was very frustrating when it looked empty at 6pm when it opened! With two children we would have been left before 7-30pm as we were on the following two nights! The spa facilities were also very very busy. We went to Cadbury World and West Midland Safari Park and this hotel is well located for both attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Emma R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community.

We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay but we are sorry that some elements of your stay did not meet with your expectations.

We believe that our rooms offer a high level of customer comfort and our ongoing refurbishment program ensures that we are constantly improving our product for the benefit of future guests.

It is true that on the weekend of your stay with had problems with our key cards, this was outside of our control and the problem has now been fixed.

Please also accept our apologises that you could not get a table in our restaurant on the Friday night and assure you that we will review our booking procedures.

I can assure you that we will take on board your comments to help shape our future operation and once again thank you for your review.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again at some point in the future.

Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Came here in a golf break. Two rounds and dinner inclusive good value for money. Course is not in the beat condition at the moment but some good holes once they are refurbished. Rooms are all good standard and food is excellent. All in all good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TareksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear TareksLondon

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us here at The Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa. We are delighted that on the hole you had an enjoyable stay

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the condition of the course after such a cold Winter and early Spring but I can assure you with the recent warmer weather it is now looking in excellent condition.

Once again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Abbey Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for the money, good facilities such as pool, gym an golf course. There is a more upper class restaurant which serves good quality food at reasonable prices but there is also a more casual pub style bar serving more traditional British fare.

The rooms are good and big with a little more character than a standard purpose built hotel.

Staff are always happy to help with a smile. Having tried a selection of hotels in the area, the abbey is one I keep going back to

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Barney 380

Thank you for staying with us at The Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your opinions with the Trip Advisor community.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Abbey Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Actually there wasn't anything wrong with this place - it's just that it's 4 stars gave me higher expectations. We had a superior room - which is just like a Premier Inn. For the extra money I was hoping for something a bit more special. I guess the extra is to cover the spa etc and as we didn't have time for that we should have stayed somewhere that didn't charge/have them. We requested a quiet room - and we got one. Breakfast was okay but they should think about redecorating the restaurant - it's a bit dark and depressing for first thing in the morning. The carpets in the corridors are a bit worse for wear and the pictures on the walls look just like a job lot. However the staff were excellent. It was really busy but check-in and check out we're very slick and professional. All in all - fine - but for the facilities I used a £20-£30 less a night tariff would have been more appropriate.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and got one. However it over-looked the car park so if we'd been stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieWoWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear DebbieWoWos,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

Thank you for your kind comments about our excellent staff, we too are very proud of our hard working team so it is great to get such praise.

I would like to apologise if your expectations were not met when staying with us. We do strive hard to always exceed our customer expectations so it is very disappointing to us when this is not achieved. We are constantly investing in our product and I am happy to confirm in the next two weeks all our corridors will be completely redecorated with new carpets which we are delighted about. We really do value our customer feedback and are constantly looking at ways in which we can improve our customer experience.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. If you would like to personally speak to me further please do not hesitate to contact me on john.hindson@theabbeyhotel.co.uk

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a modern looking hotel with good leisure facilities. Rooms vary in size and luxury, the more expensive suites are very large and have good views over the golf course. Meals are well prepared and served and reasonable value, but note this is not a budget hotel. Parking is plentiful and appears safe. The golf course is well laid out with some interesting holes. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Dean B,

Thank you for your review following your stay here with us at The Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are all thrilled by your overall recommendation, and are delighted that you had a good stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent the weekend on a golf and spa break, brilliant golf course in good condition even if the weather was not behaving as it should. Evening meal was in on the deal and I was very happy with what was offered and served.

Breakfast was of a very high standard with good quality produce.

If you want a break away with friends then this hotel is a very good choice, wife enjoyed the spa and I enjoyed the golf course. One of our party on the golf course commented that it was the best course he had played for over 5 years.

Special mentioned to Sam on reception who could not do enough to help, many thanks for making our weekend away a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rseller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear rseller3,

Thank you so much for your golf and spa break review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased you all had a brilliant weekend away with us and enjoyed our golf and spa facilities. Also to hear your friend refer to our course as one of the best courses he has played for over 5 years really is wonderful to hear.

I look forward to passing you comments onto our team, giving particular mention to our Front of House Manager Sam, who I know will be thrilled.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
18.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Hither Green Lane, Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned 4* Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire. The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring 100 contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! Whatever the occasion we look forward to welcoming you to our award winning, family owned 4* Hotel in Redditch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing