We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing but lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing but lovely staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed on basis of trip advisor reviews, 2 night stay for NEC. lovely room, although the bathroom needs updating to match the refurbished room standard.. Shower control fell off, broken toilet roll holder.. Lovely quiet stay 1st night then on 2nd could not sleep as room above bar area and rowdy group of guests kept us up a good few hours. There was dog hair on the carpet, so had not been cleaned properly prior to our stay.
Restaurant staff lovely, nothing too much trouble.. Excellent meal Monday evening, much better than the Sunday. Good value room rate.
When we checked out we mentioned the noisy room and were told 'oh yes that's because it's above the bar... No apology offered... Mentioned dog hair, again no apology but we were made to feel awkward as it was a guide dog who had left the hair apparently.. Mentioned broken shower and again no apology, just told that maintenance would be informed.
Such a shame as the staff were so accommodating other than when you went to check out.. No apologising at all, service recovery sadly lacking...
So much can be recovered with a few sorry's and a smile...

Naturally will not be returning which is a shame as we need a hotel like this for staff twice a year every year for the foreseeable future..

Room Tip: Do not accept Room above the bar !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallsFinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear CornwallsFinest,

Thank you for your feedback following your 2 night stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. I am pleased to hear you found your guest room lovely and it is wonderful to hear how excellent your evening meals were with us throughout your stay and to hear how accommodating you found our staff.

I would like to apologise for any housekeeping issue you experienced during your stay. We do not allow dogs here at the hotel, with the exception of Guide Dogs. Furthermore I apologise for any noise you experienced from other guests during your stay with us. Ensuring our guests have a peaceful and comfortable stay is of the up most importance to us.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Abbey Hotel again, if there is anything further I can help you with then please do not hesitate to contact me on john.hindson@theabbeyhotel.co.uk

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    630
    244
    73
    22
See reviews for
550
485
25
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked the Henley in Arden Suite for a joint 50th/21st birthday party and had a fantastic night - everything went according to plan and a good time was had by all. Kay the party organiser was very efficent and accomodating in helping us to arrange the food, disco, photographer, decorations and entertainment. The staff on the night were very helpful and ensured everything ran smoothly and to time. The magician "Magic Bob" did a great job entertaining guests as they arrived and whilst they were waiting for the buffet. I had several people commenting on how nice the food was too. The disco organised by the hotel was also very good and the dancefloor was full all night. The room layout worked very well and our 100 guests had plenty of room to spread out.

Those of us staying over were also very impressed with our rooms for space, cleanliness and comfort. The 11am checkout next day was a bit early though for some us didnt get to bed until very late!

It really was a night to remember so thanks very much for all your help in organising it and I would definitely recommend the hotel as a party venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Jayne W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your joint birthday party celebration at The Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are delighted to hear on the impression that has been created by our staff here - of being efficient, accommodating and helpful. I will be glad to pass on your appreciation to our team who I believe have played a great part in making your party so enjoyable, I will also be giving specific mention to our Events Coordinator Kay, who I know will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We really can’t thank you enough for your comments and from everyone here at the Abbey Hotel a very Happy Birthday.

Kindest regard,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I attended a birthday celebration at this venue a few weeks ago.
The hotel is well situated for the motorway: It is modern and clean with good facilities.
The room was large and comfortable with a good bathroom and all the facilities one would hope for.
We did not use the spa, and so I am unable to comment on this aspect of the hotel.
I don't know if we had a preferential rate as we were attending a function, but it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagliaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear pagliaccio,

Many thanks for your “Good stop-over” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We really appreciate this feedback and it is wonderful to hear that as well as enjoying our facilities you found us to be very reasonably priced, I look forward to passing all of your comments on to our team here.

We hope to welcome you back again to the Abbey Hotel soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had such an amazing day at the hotel, the wedding planners, Pam and Kay, were so helpful in the run up to our day. The actual day was amazing, all the staff hosting our wedding did everything prompltly and we didnt have to worry about a thing. There was alway someone one hand if we needed anything, even up to telling my bridesmaids and me when to walk down the isle. This all made us feel at ease and lessened any nerves that may have been floating about.

The rooms and wedding packages the hotel offer are very reasonable and fantastic.

The food and gereral service provided at The Abbey Hotel was amazing and they made our day feel very special.

would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Teri

Many thanks for your recent comments following your wedding reception at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa. We are all absolutely delighted that you had such an amazing day.

Thank you also for your comments about our Wedding Coordinator - Kay and Sales Manager – Pam, I look forward to passing these comments on to them, whom I know will be delighted.

We wish you every happiness in your married life and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we stayed here for a Friday night special deal and paid for the room upgrade. The hotel staff were great and our executive room overlooking the golf course was really lovely. However our two course meal included in the deal wasn't great. The portions were small and rather tasteless. I wouldn't recommend an evening meal here. Breakfast the next morning was delicious though and the spa facilities where great! So whilst I would recommend the hotel I wouldn't recommend the restaurant food!

Room Tip: upgrade to a bigger room as the standard one we did glimpse looked tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linperrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear linperrie,

Thank you for this feedback following your recent break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

I am pleased to hear you found the service from our team here to be great and that your executive room during your stay was lovely. However, please do accept my apologies with regards to your evening meal. We have exceptional standards in our restaurant so I am so sorry you were disappointed. I have passed your comments onto our Head Chef. We take all feedback seriously and view it as a way to continually improve our products and service Furthermore it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed are Spa facilities and regarded your breakfast experience as delicious.

Once again thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night break at The Abbey and have to say we couldn't fault it. From the excellent service by the staff to the food in the restaurant and our room... Lisa in the restaurant is a credit to the hotel, couldn't do enough for any guest, very personable and made everyone feel special.. We enjoyed a massage which was great.. Just what I needed.. went to the gym, pool jacuzzi, steam... Could have spent the day in there.. We will definitely be returning.. Thanks again.. Emma & Gareth

Room Tip: We found an excellent DBB rate on the Internet... look around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Emma H,

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback following your 2 night break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. It is wonderful to hear of the excellent service you received and we are so pleased you had the opportunity to experience our restaurant and Spa. I will ensure that the whole team are made aware of your lovely comments, with particular mention being given to Lisa our Restaurant Manager.

We are all looking forward to your return visit.

Kindest regards, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed for one night to break up a long drive.
Arriving late evening the receptionist was welcoming, asked me how many devices I would need wi-fi vouchers for and declined the usual tiresome credit card imprint.
My superior room was a good size. huge bed (probably 2m square) with a decent sized desk to work at. There were lots of easily accessible electricity outlets, a separate shelf for the tea / coffee stuff and plenty of storage space.
Room service was prompt and the food was good.
Inevitably some minor quibbles - the main room lights could not be controlled from the bed, the shower cubicle a little small - but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear 1DNG,

Thank you for this feedback following your recent break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

It was our pleasure welcoming you for your one night stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
18.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,025 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,099 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Redditch North (A441) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Hither Green Lane, Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned 4* Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire. The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring 100 contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! Whatever the occasion we look forward to welcoming you to our award winning, family owned 4* Hotel in Redditch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing