We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year break”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“new year break”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we found this hotel by lookng on the internet and decided to book for New years break, we arrived on 30th December 2012 and were greeted most warmly by reception staff.we had booked a standard room which was fine if a little small, comfortable twin beds, nice bathroom apart from shower leaking onto floor, but jsut mopped up after shower. tv a little small for the room. we did ry to upgrade to superior room but the hotel was fully booked, we asked to be shown superior and executive room which was quickly arranged and we would certainly upgrade next time. The staff is the diamond in this hotel, everyone was always pleasant and helpful, excellence all round. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I did not use swimming and sauna but my husband did and thought they were very good. Food was excellent and good variety. New Years eve in Bramblings restaurant was fine, was expecting hot and cold buffet but was actually serve yourself carvery, but it was very nice if a little chaotic. We went to the Abbey for a relaxing break and this is exactly what we had, will certainly go again.

Room Tip: standard rooms are a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellitasiseeit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear tellitasiseeit666,

Many thanks in taking the time to write this review following your New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased we delivered in giving you a relaxing New Years Eve break and we are THRILLED to hear to hear your kind comments about our excellent food and very good leisure facilities.

I look forward to passing your “the staff is the diamond in this hotel” comment onto the team here, I know this will mean the world to them. We do pride ourselves on the high standards of customer service offered from our team, so I am so pleased to hear this was received.

We really look forward to your next stay and yes if you would like to upgrade your room next time, a superior room is currently only an additional £10.00 per room/per night extra to upgrade.

Once again thank you so much and from everyone here we wish you a very HAPPY NEW YEAR.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    653
    255
    76
    22
See reviews for
573
498
25
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel.
The food was very good and the customer service was excellent in both the restaurant and reception. Although the standard room was a little to small we would definitely return and recommend to friends.

J.C. Stubbs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear moshNottinghamshire,

Many thanks for your recent review following your New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and to hear your kind comments regarding our food and customer service.

We really do appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for New Years Eve - Masquerade Ball AGAIN. We weren't disappointed the package was excellent value. Executive room, 6 course meal and disco.. Food was of a good quality and staff were very helpful. The DJ again made the evening.

The rooms were up on the top floor some distance from reception, sadly the lift wasn't working so it was a long trek to the Ball, for breakfast and reception. The rooms were large and modern and over looked the car park, it would have been nice to over look the golf course.

Breakfast (Brunch) was of a very good standard and although it was very busy staff were very helpful.

I have to comment again on the hotel staff, from the events team when booking to the team in the hotel over new year, they are really very helpful and very quick to try to help you carry your bags or help with anything, good quality customer serve.

I would highly recommend this hotel and the new years eve events..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Kyla64,

Many thanks for your review following your repeat New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

It was wonderful to welcome you back again for New Year and I am so pleased you had a fantastic night, that the food was a good quality and that you felt the package gave excellent value for money.

However, please do accept my apologies regarding a lift failure. Unfortunately due to circumstances beyond our control one of our lifts was not working due to a technical fault, this has now been repaired and is in working order. Whilst this fault was being repaired the offer of carrying luggage was offered to guests staying in this area, so I am really pleased this service was offered to you and I will be sure to pass your thanks on to the team here..

Once again we are very pleased you enjoyed your break away with us and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again for next New Years Eve.

A very Happy New Year to you all.

Kindest regards.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took advantage of Abbey Hotel's Twixmas deal at the end of December for a get-together with friends. In all, we were a group of six adults and six young children, who were admittedly noisy at times. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, especially with the children and all efforts were made to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible and the children kept happy. In particular the staff at the leisure centre bar were excellent. The rooms were good, swimming facilties highly enjoyable and all in all a very good value for money break. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear natasha w,

Thank you for your review and kind words about your Twixmas break stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

Your comments about our friendly team, good bedrooms and highly enjoyable leisure facilities, really are appreciated and we are so pleased you enjoyed your break with us between Christmas and the New Year.

I look forward to passing your comments onto the team here, giving particular mention to our leisure team. We do pride ourselves on the high standards of customer service offered from our staff, so I am so pleased to hear this was received.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kindest regards.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Christmas day lunch at the Abbey was truly delighful. The warm reception by the professional and friendly staff was lovely. Service could not be faulted. The food was top class and most enjoyable. There was so much food we just couldn't manage all of it. It was piping hot and everything was included that you would expect for a Xmas lunch, everything and much more, from the bucks fizz on arrival down to the mince pie with lashings of clotted cream. The meal was more than value for money and we would definitely book again. Father Christmas was a nice touch for the children also. A very enjoyable Christmas lunch. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Julie W,

Thank you for taking the time in updating your comments in regards to your Christmas Day Lunch experience at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

I am delighted to read that you found our Christmas day lunch truly delightful and that you have such great and positive feedback about our food and service and felt it delivered excellent value for money. We really do appreciate this feedback, it means the world to us.

Once again many thanks and may I wish you and your family a very Happy New Year.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Interesting to see the mixed reviews of the Masquerade Ball. First time stopped here and found the overall experience most pleasant.
Arrived early afternoon and sampled lunch in the Sports Bar followed by a quick visit to the leisure facilities.
The steam room was out of action (but no sign to tell us!). an attendant informed us that it would not be repaired until the new year but the sauna and jacuzzi made up for it.
The rooms were a little small and in need of a little TLC but we did have a lovely view over the golf course
Really enjoyed the 6 course meal in the evening although have to agree with a previous contributor that the initial reception ws a bit hit and miss in terms of receiving the canapes.
Cannot fault the food and the service which both were excellent and the DJ kept the floor full all night with a good mix for al age groups and also played requests.
Great breakfast to deal with the hangover and overall a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get one with a golf course view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larson200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Larson200,

Thank you very much for your “New Years Eve Enjoyment” review on trip advisor following your New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

I am very pleased overall you had a most pleasant experience whilst celebrating the New Year with us and we do appreciate your kind comments regarding the excellent food, service, disco and morning breakfast (hope this did help with the hangover).

Please do accept our apologies regarding the steam room, unfortunately due to circumstances outside our control there was a fault with our steam room, however, this has not been rectified and is now all in good working areas. Pleased to hear though you did enjoy the sauna and spa bath.

I would like to wish you a very Happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We decided to celebrate New Year with friends. We've done most things on NYE but never a formal dinner type event.

Arrived at 3pm, friendly check in, indeed reception good on all occasions. Dumped stuff and headed for pool. Quite busy as I am sure a fair few of the other revellers had decided the same. Spa I thought was little tired. Dimly lit. Pool tiles wet, needing sweeping (not porus?). Jacuzzi on auto timer not manual. Steam room did not seem to generate any meaningful head of steam. Pool itself was fine, good temperature. Didn't try the gym. Changing rooms adequate though missing mod cons such as a spin dryer.

Room was ok, though also a bit dated. Small TV. Small beds if you are tall. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Shower was exceptionally powerful and strong. Our friends had upgraded and their rooms overlooking the golf course were much more attractive with large TVs and laminate flooring. However overall everything was ok for the price.

But the main event itself was worth the effort. Buck's Fizz and canapés reception followed by an excellent 6 course meal. Hot dishes nice and hot and tasty, palate cleansers just right, quality lamb ribs, and a wonderful chocolate desert to see us into coffees. Then a really well balanced disco for the audience. And a Happy New Year!

Next morning there was a relaxed approach to kicking us out, which allowed for recovery in time to experience one of the nicest breakfasts I have had for a long time. Despite feeling a little grey, I just had to sample everything! Well attended and quality hot food.

All in all I would say the Abbey represents very good value for money, and worth checking out the evening food for a function.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room they are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealGoneKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear RealGoneKid,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review following your New Years Eve break at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

I am delighted you really enjoyed our New Years Eve Ball and have passed your comments regarding the food at this event and also your “nicest breakfast” experience to our Head Chef.

I also do appreciate your feedback regarding our other areas in the hotel and do take these comments on board. Please do accept our apolologies regarding the steam room, unfortunately due to circumstances outside our control there was a fault with our steam room, however, this has not been rectified and is now all in good working areas. And we will certainly consider points your have raised such as spin dryers in the changing rooms, when we look to make plans in the future.

Once again we are very pleased overall that you enjoyed your break away with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

A very happy 2013 to you all.

Kindest regards.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redditch
1.9 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Rectory House
Old Rectory House
#5 of 8 in Redditch
207 reviews
18.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
5.8 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Hither Green Lane, Dagnell End Road, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Business Hotel in Redditch
#4 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the family owned 4* Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa in Redditch, Worcestershire. The Abbey Hotel is situated on a lovely 175 acre estate that once belonged to the now ruined local Abbey. The Hotel itself is just a short distance from the Birmingham NEC, Birmingham International Airport and the City Centre making it ideal for pleasure or business travel. Featuring 100 contemporary ensuite Rooms, Meeting & Conference facilities, banqueting rooms for private Occasions and gorgeous Wedding Venue grounds. You can indulge in either of our dining experiences; fine dining in Bramblings Restaurant or delicious pub classics in Tawnys Bar and Terrace overlooking the 18th fairway. Alternatively play a round of golf on the Abbey championship 18 hole Golf Course or practice your swing on the 2 storey, 28 bay floodlit Golf Driving Range. Situated in a rural Redditch location, yet minutes from the M42 motorway makes The Abbey Hotel a great base to explore the area of Worcestershire and to visit many Local Attractions including Cadbury World, West Midlands Safari Park, Warwick Castle plus much more! Whatever the occasion we look forward to welcoming you to our award winning, family owned 4* Hotel in Redditch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Redditch, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing