We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change name”
Review of Lygon Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lygon Arms
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located on B4090 at junction with Feckenham High St. My wife and I have eaten there mid-week as a couple, and also with a party of 19 for my wife's birthday, Sunday lunchtime. Good food, friendly service, reasonable prices. Good range of real ales.
Worcestershire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Change name”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Note this establishment has been closed for several months but has now reopened as 'The Forest' - new review submiited under that name

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter-J-Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London/Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Lygon reopened under new management in autumn following a closure earlier in the year. Had dinner on a Saturday night. It was a fairly quiet evening and we opted to sit in the conservatory which had been nicely decorated for Christmas. All the staff were really friendly and chatty. There is a standard menu plus daily specials. To start we had home-made soup, prawn cocktail and mushrooms. Mains: beer battered fish, salmon and prawn fishcakes (from the specials) and cajun chicken. Everything was freshly cooked, piping hot and served on hot plates. Portions were generous so much so that we shared 2 desserts - white roulade and raspberry tart. Prices were very reasonable. We plan to return for Sunday lunch in the New Year.

Large car park and outside seating area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
“Wonderful vegetarian options”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent food with plenty of yummy vegetarian options. Very comfortable, clean and welcoming. Great value for money. We will be going back again and again.....highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New management after a long time closed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had lunch here today and it was excellent - good value and nicely priced. I had a jacket potato with coronation chicken, there was so much chicken that I thought it must have been a whole breast - all for £4.50.
My husband had a bacon and egg sandwich, in which the bacon was crispy, with browned meat juices and a perfectly fried egg. "The best he's had in a long time", he reports!
The salad garnish was crispy and fresh too. A portion of chips was added for just £1. We paid just over £11 in total, including drinks! We walked out full to bursting! We'll definitely eat there again!
Also, the place was spotlessly clean! Well done to the new management!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorcsReluctant_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“New owners, village location, best Sunday lunch in ages!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch and were very pleasantly surprised - under new ownership since start of October, this pub has been freshly painted, cleaned and now boast a great pub menu with quality ingredients at a great price.
We were greeted warmly by the owners wife and the other staff member behind the bar and given a choice of sitting in the bar or the lounge area. We chose the lounge and had a look through the traditional bar menu but decided to settle on the traditional Sunday Lunch (beef or pork) at a bargain price of £6.95.
My husband had the pork, which came with a yorkshire pudding (much to his delight), stuffing, generous helping of meat, roasted potatoes, boiled potato and 4 different types of fresh veg.
I had the beef which came with the same accompaniments (less the stuffing). Both were served with very tasty homemade gravy.
We eat out reguarly on a Sunday and have struggled to find places serving this quality of food (especially at this price).
This pub is a local style pub (not a gastropub like so many village pubs seem to have become) and is a welcoming and refreshing change. There is also a large conservatory extension to the lounge bar - you can choose to dine here, however it's also available for private functions and has its own doors leading onto a patio area outside. Ample parking provided to the rear.
We highly recommend this and are already looking forward to our return journey with more of our family and friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lygon Arms also viewed

Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing